We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Udaipur, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good vibe”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Centrally located.
Good vibe. Nice Stuff. Rooms clean. Nice environment...
Hostel on the 6th floor.
There is bar/kitchen there which stays open till around 12. However, there are a couple of convenience store down the road.
It has a few private/single rooms which I heard they are good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms (i think those have more than 8 beds) that are out in the terrace. They have only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George_Pagkratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    148
    75
    7
    9
See reviews for
19
63
108
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed here as part of a trip around China. I am a girl and my friend is a boy so we booked (through hostelworld) to stay in a MIXED 4 bed dorm. When we arrived the receptionist told me that they had presumed because I was a girl a female dorm would be fine. After a bit of a kerfuffle involving consulting the other guests in the female dorm, it was sorted but I was a bit disappointed by this blunder. It made our stay more stressful than it should have been - perhaps email the hostel directly if you are in the same situation.

On the finding and location front it was really good. You could easily walk to the hostel from the subway station and from the hostel to the Bund and other transport links. Unfortunately the lifts in the building are more than a little confusing - make sure you know which floor you want before you go. The room was very clean and comfortable but it did not have a window, which wasn't a big issue as there was aircon, it just made the room a bit cell like. The bathroom and shower was also very clean. The common area has a very friendly atmosphere but be warned the drinks are super expensive by China standards - 20 kuai for a small glass of orange juice!

The staff were fine, not particularly friendly, but seemed to know their stuff and spoke good English. If you want somewhere to stay that is clean, in a good location at a reasonable price this will fit the bill.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a window this is probably not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I booked this hostel in advance, as I knew that July was busy season. Finding the hostel from the subway was super easy, just followed the website directions. We reserved a "deluxe" room with a loft bed and a patio overlooking the river, it was clean, hot shower and great air conditioning. The staff were always helpful with directions, subway instructions or general questions. Overall, a convenient, clean hostel with good value for an expensive city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouvergirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Finding the hostel was easy and it was fantastically located around all the main attractions, such as the Bund. We had a private triple room and the bathroom was the most spacious one we have been to in China. The beds and room was clean but what unnerved me was the room was windowless. The lifts getting to and from the hostel were a nuisance as they took forever. The staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here whilst travelling in China in summer 2012.

I hadn't booked a room and the hostel was full. Luckily the staff were kind enough to try hard to squeeze me in - and thankfully they managed to fit me in a twin room, which was great. I then moved to a dorm room when it came available.

Both rooms were nice - the twin was nicer, as you would expect, but also more expensive. The communal facilities were great - pool table, washing machines. You get a good view from the roof terrace, which is also a nice place to chill, play pool and meet other travellers. The location is excellent - very close to the centre of Shanghai and to the metro station.

All in all, a good backpackers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great location just off Nanjing Road. Short walk to the Bund. The hostel is up on the 6th floor (i think) of a high rise. Nice views. My room was fine. not the cleanest hostel in the world. But for the price and location it served it's purpose.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Good place to meet other travellers and have a beer with!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geilstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had heard great reviews about this hostel so we thought we were in for a good find. The hostel itself is on the six floor of an office block which is no problem to find. The reception staff were friendly and willing to help. Sadly it all went down hill when we entered the room. We had obviously interrupted cockroaches on holiday as when we went to open the curtains a few of them scuttled into the corner. I am no stranger to finding bugs while travelling but I have to say it made us feel uneasy. The room itself felt unclean. The bed was just a mattress on the floor but was actually quite comfortable.
We didn't spend a lot of time in the room as we did as much sightseeing as we could. Probably because we didn't want to sit with the cockroaches! The location of the hostel is brilliant and it is near a major shopping area and within easy reach of the bund.
Would we stay here again? No! But maybe we just had an unfortunate experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,936 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
#87 of 5,069 in Shanghai
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Property: Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Address: F6, No.350 Shanxi South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With absolute central location, Blue Mountain BUND Youth Hostel is definitely your BEST choice for exploring Shanghai. 5 minutes' walk from East Nanjing Rd and metro station, and 15 minutes' from the Bund, what more can you ask for?Our hostel provides cozy rooms, customized beds and friendly staff. We offer free Internet access, free movies, pool game, books, and table football. It is always full of fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing