We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal International Hotel
Ranked #100 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Guangzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Airport Hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

A 10-15 mins drive from Shanghai Pudong Int'l Airport.. Surprisingly a very luxury hotel and you can start feel it from the moment you step out from the elevator and especially the room. Simply big and luxurious.

Early breakfast and airport transfer was also great.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ErickGiovano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    123
    43
    7
    8
See reviews for
26
52
44
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Good Hotel Facilities, Fine restaurant, Close to airport have free airport transport
Hotel room is luxury with complete hotel facilities, people can enjoy japanese, chinese, western reastaurant, also can have enjoyable tea cafetaria

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoseph_hsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Due to incredible the incompetence of Air China. I ended up at night in a city I hadn't planned on being in. Shanghai. I needed to catch a flight back to the US the next morning, so I need a place near the Pudong airport.

I read a lot of reviews and decided on the Royal International. I got a great rate and caught a taxi there.

It was pouring rain, dark, and the taxi driver had trouble finding it. But once he did, my travel woes were over - it was an oasis.

It was late at night and I was checked in quickly. The staff was awesome.

The room was spectacular. The bed like a cloud. The bathroom had a window in it, but it could frost with the click of a switch. The technology in the room was really amazing. I could not believe I was paying so little for the room.

Obviously if you are visiting central Shanghai, this place is not very convenient. But for an airport layover it was great. I wish I could have stayed another couple of nights to just chill out an relax.

The included breakfast was also great. A lot of variety. Good stuff.

I caught the complementary shuttle back to Pudong airport in a nice SUV. While I was waiting I had a great chat with the hotel manager. I know he does a great job because the facility and service are perfect.

It may get more crowded and more expensive when they build Disney out there. But in the meantime, if you find yourself in need of a good layover airport hotel, choose this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kamiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in a residential area with practically no services. Nearest shopping is 15 minutes away. This hotel is good for a Pudong transit but I wouldn't use it for anything else.

Frindly service , a Japanese restaurant and a good gym, too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank amam66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel is top notch with very comfortable rooms. As other reviewers stated it is not close to the air port but took a cab from PVG to the hotel for 48 RMB as I did not have the patience to wait for the shuttle bus as it is not as regular as other nearby hotels. However the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport was fantastic. I had a Thai massage for 1 hr that cost $92 USD which was nothing special. In my opinion, the spa was overpriced for what you received. As I booked through Expedia, breakfast was not included in the rate and was 128 RMB. A little pricey considering it's only breakfast food. I had the dinner buffet which was 168 RMB and found it to be good and a better value then the breakfast buffet. Overall, the staff were wonderful and I felt well taken care of during my stay at this property.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 11th floor which were non smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2travel605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel was arranged through the airline as an overnight transit hotel and overall it was a reasonable choice.

The hotel is relatively new although quite a distance from pudong airport in the town of Chuansha. It's just over 20 min by free shuttle van/bus. We arrived late in the evening and the drive to the hotel was slightly worrying as the van drove past one deserted construction site after another before reaching the hotel itself.

Other than its isolated location the hotel was otherwise good. The standard room was spacious and relatively new. There was a huge bed and an equally cavernous bathroom. Breakfast was reasonably good although the staff insisted on only providing one breakfast coupon even though the room was a twin share and booking was for two (??!).

We felt this was a reasonable choice for a transit hotel. It's not particularly close to the airport although there is a free shuttle. It is certainly nowhere near Shanghai proper and probably not a great base for exploring Shanghai. We didn't have the time to explore the hotel as we simply spent the night and it is possible that the hotel had much more to offer had we stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Close to the airport, free shuttle bus, staff were helpful, lovely bathroom, couldn't fault the room, apart from no English speaking TV channels, but it was fun watching the Chinese ones! Only thing I would say is don't bother to go for a walk, because there is nothing else in the local area to do. Nice hotel and unbelievably good value for money, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pope182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Pudong International Airport
The QUBE Pudong
The QUBE Pudong
#102 of 5,105 in Shanghai
414 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
#118 of 5,105 in Shanghai
872 reviews
Royal Garden Hotel Shanghai
#183 of 5,105 in Shanghai
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Encore Shanghai Pudong
#226 of 5,105 in Shanghai
10 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Joyful Star Hotel Pudong Airport Chenyang Hotel
Novotel Shanghai Clover Hotel
#121 of 5,105 in Shanghai
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal International Hotel

Property: Royal International Hotel
Address: No.998 Xiuchuan Road, Pudong District, Shanghai, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Pudong International Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing