We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid transit hotel despite location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal International Hotel
Ranked #101 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Solid transit hotel despite location”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel was arranged through the airline as an overnight transit hotel and overall it was a reasonable choice.

The hotel is relatively new although quite a distance from pudong airport in the town of Chuansha. It's just over 20 min by free shuttle van/bus. We arrived late in the evening and the drive to the hotel was slightly worrying as the van drove past one deserted construction site after another before reaching the hotel itself.

Other than its isolated location the hotel was otherwise good. The standard room was spacious and relatively new. There was a huge bed and an equally cavernous bathroom. Breakfast was reasonably good although the staff insisted on only providing one breakfast coupon even though the room was a twin share and booking was for two (??!).

We felt this was a reasonable choice for a transit hotel. It's not particularly close to the airport although there is a free shuttle. It is certainly nowhere near Shanghai proper and probably not a great base for exploring Shanghai. We didn't have the time to explore the hotel as we simply spent the night and it is possible that the hotel had much more to offer had we stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    121
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
25
52
43
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Close to the airport, free shuttle bus, staff were helpful, lovely bathroom, couldn't fault the room, apart from no English speaking TV channels, but it was fun watching the Chinese ones! Only thing I would say is don't bother to go for a walk, because there is nothing else in the local area to do. Nice hotel and unbelievably good value for money, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pope182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times on our work visits to Shanghai & I can't fault it. The rooms are very comfortable indeed. The breakfasts are tasty & the Japanese restaurant offers superb sushi. If you fancy a laugh on an evening you should try the KTV, we had the most hilarious night singing & didn't have far to stumble back to bed. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Really surprised at the quality of this hotel. Booked on Expedia and value very good indeed. Not so close to the airport but the shuttle takes only 20-25 minutes and is free.

Extremely well equipped and comfortable room.

Room Tip: When taking a taxi to the hotel from Pu Dong the driver lost the plot totally and took about 80 minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I just stayed at this property on the evening of March 29th prior to my flight back to the States out of Pudong on the 30th. I had looked at previous Trip Advisor reviews on the hotel but still was a bit apprehensive about staying there. The hotel more than met my expectations and was an excellent value. I would not recommend it though for getting out and about the immediate area. However they did tell me that the property will be 5 to 10 minutes away from the new Disney project being built in the Shanghai region. If so, that could have an effect on room rates once Disney opens.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WmNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just left the hotel to go to Pudong airport, 15 minutes by taxi (rush hour) although there is a hotel shuttle bus service. Stayed in 4 other 5 star hotels while in Shanghai and this was one of the best after The Marriot.

The service was the best I have ever received.
Food in the main restaurant was excellent.
Room was excellent, had a superior double with a great view of the front.

Everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel & very classy and comfortable.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Not central to Shanghai though I think about 35 minutes drive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Royal International Hotel Shanghai is little far from the airport. They doesn't have regular airport shuttle bus schedule, the hotel web. can't leave the message. You have to call them. I stayed there for my flight transfer. I made a reservation for my arrival flight. My flight arrival Shanghai Pudong airport about 4:30pm.They can't coming to pick up around 5:20pm, because the driver needed to have dinner at that time. My reservation airport pick up was 6:20pm. After I got through the customs, It was about 5:30pm. I waited for the bus by the bus stop inside then I went outside standing in the cool waited for the shuttle bus form 6:15pm-6:35pm. I saw the other hotel shuttle bus in and out twice already. I didn't see the Royal International Hotel's bus once. Finally I took the taxi, spend 20mins 50yuan got to the hotel. Very disappointed for their airport shuttle bus service. When I got to the hotel room, They called me and told me that they did went to the bus stop that time and didn't see me. What the LIE !!!! Because this,the hotel up great my room to executive room. The room was very nice, comfy, clean. Front desk was very good. Check in and check out was fast. I think I will try another airport hotel if I go the Shanghai pudong airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Pudong International Airport
The QUBE Pudong
The QUBE Pudong
#100 of 5,059 in Shanghai
410 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
#120 of 5,059 in Shanghai
848 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Joyful Star Hotel Pudong Airport Chenyang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pudong International Airport
Shanghai Southern Airlines Pearl Hotel
Pudong International Airport
Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai Pudong Airport Branch
Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai P...
#2,457 of 5,059 in Shanghai
221 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#76 of 5,059 in Shanghai
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal International Hotel

Property: Royal International Hotel
Address: No.998 Xiuchuan Road, Pudong District, Shanghai, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Pudong International Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing