We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Ranked #79 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed April 13, 2013

After traveling more than 18 hours to get to Shanghai, this was a welcome retreat and exceeded our expectations. Was however on the expensive side and also had to pay additional for internet...but the pool area definitely made up for it. Also conveniently located to subway system.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou hotel. It’s our pleasure to provide you with a pleasant stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 829 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Good location, good room setting. Would expect a less smoke breakfast environment. My room is at 35F, so the view is really good both in daytime and night. Taking a shower or immersing in a bath with the the view is really fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Televivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou hotel. It’s our pleasure to provide you with a pleasant stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

its amazing that there's one hotel that got everything! the location was great and the rooms are cleanand huge. the staff was amazing.. Raymond Xu, their manager was excellent! he is indeed a gem in the organization. and sheraton should take good care of him. from the time we checked in, till check out.. we were really taken cared of. this is definitely the hotel on top of my list in shanghai!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou hotel. It’s our pleasure to provide you with a pleasant stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for a week and enjoyed all aspects except the fact that smoke kept plaguing our toilet. The non abidance to no smoking rules are common in Shanghai. The metro is a few steps away and taxis were always on standby outside the hotel. There is a supermarket to the left of the hotel. You can reach busy Sichuan Road by walking down a narrow street filled with small eateries. Be careful when crossing streets as traffic is chaotic. Turning left on Sichuan Road there is a mall with Zara, Subway, Watson chemist, Bread Talk bakery, a nice ramen place and a dessert chain called Honeymoon Dessert. There are four complimentary bottles of 350ml water in room daily. It would be useful to have a spa menu in each room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou hotel. We will bring your valuable feedback to the concerned department head immediately and get back to you soon. Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you.
Should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact our guest service manager at gsm.hongkou@sheraton.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were extremely pleased with the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou. We used the executive level club lounge upgrade and started and ended our day of sightseeing with the excellent breakfast and happy hour food and wine. It was very reasonable to take a taxi to what we wanted to see but we also used subway lines 4 and 10 which were just across the street. The staff spoke English and were friendly and helpful. I recommend the hotel highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayakgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear kayakgma,

Thank you so much for the feedback and I am happy to see that you had a wonderful stay.

Please do contact me if you ever plan to visit us again so that I could personally take care of your room allocation.

You just dont only stay here, you belong!

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Relations Manager &
Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We received an upgraded room and were thrilled to get a very nice suite on one of the upper floors. First off, the Club Lounge is one of the best we have encountered at any Sheraton property - and the staff were the best. It is a bit of a walk to the Bund, so the location is not ideal like the Le Meridian on Nanjing St. However, it is across the street from the Metro stop, so convenient to get around our favorite city in Asia. We stayed a week, and preferred this location to staying on the other side of the river in Pudong.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear pfefmeister,

Thank you for your wonderful comments!

Please do contact me if you ever plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Relations Manager &
Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com

You just dont only stay here, you belong!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Got an upgrade to the Executive Suite, hence, we had access to the Club Lounge. Staff at the Club Lounge were very friendly and service oriented. The breakfast and cocktail there were acceptable. Unfortunately, the food from Room Service left much to be desired. The food at the Japanese restaurant was average. The room was spacious and clean. The AC was not working very well. Service at the Spa was very poor. Booked a 60-min Spa treatment with the Spa receptionist. Communication between the Spa receptionist and the massage therapist was not very good. The massage therapist upon entering the treatment room asked me again on the type of treatment I requested. Half way through, the therapist asked again if I have booked for a 60-min massage or a 90-min massage Perhaps, the therapist was trying to upsell but that was not the way to go about it. For the price I paid and the quality of treatment I received, it was definitely not worthy. I have utilised the Spa at Four Seasons Shanghai and the service and quality of treatment were much much better. .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YeohJiaYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou. We will pass your message to the concerned department head immediately, we will come back to you soon. Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Zhongshan Park
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
#243 of 5,112 in Shanghai
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#80 of 5,112 in Shanghai
880 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,667 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Address: No.59 Siping Road, Shanghai 200086, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $126 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel.Our local neighborhood has it all. Our hotel is close to the Bund, considered the city’s symbol since the 1920s, and the People’s Square. We are also near the Nanjing Road, Lujiazui, and Huaihai Zhong Road central business districts, as well as the North Sichuan Road shopping area and historic Duolun Road.Enjoy your stay in one of our 471 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring river, city, and Bund skyline views. Relax completely in our famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, with a pillow-top mattress, cozy duvet, and goose down blanket. Our hotel’s unique outdoor garden and riverside setting make it the perfect place to get away from the fast pace of Shanghai.Complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access is now available in all of the hotel’s public areas and guest rooms to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers alike. When you need a retreat from fast-paced city life, we have many options. Indulge yourself with a treatment at the Shine Spa. Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance features state-of-the-art cardio and strength-training equipment, and our 30-meter swimming pool is illuminated by natural light through the ceiling.We offer a variety of event facilities that are ideal for weddings, dinners, product launches, and meetings. Our dedicated professionals are ready to assist you with any requirements or requests.Let the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel be your home base when visiting Shanghai, one of Asia’s most vibrant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing