We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Ranked #83 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We received an upgraded room and were thrilled to get a very nice suite on one of the upper floors. First off, the Club Lounge is one of the best we have encountered at any Sheraton property - and the staff were the best. It is a bit of a walk to the Bund, so the location is not ideal like the Le Meridian on Nanjing St. However, it is across the street from the Metro stop, so convenient to get around our favorite city in Asia. We stayed a week, and preferred this location to staying on the other side of the river in Pudong.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear pfefmeister,

Thank you for your wonderful comments!

Please do contact me if you ever plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Relations Manager &
Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com

You just dont only stay here, you belong!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 864 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Got an upgrade to the Executive Suite, hence, we had access to the Club Lounge. Staff at the Club Lounge were very friendly and service oriented. The breakfast and cocktail there were acceptable. Unfortunately, the food from Room Service left much to be desired. The food at the Japanese restaurant was average. The room was spacious and clean. The AC was not working very well. Service at the Spa was very poor. Booked a 60-min Spa treatment with the Spa receptionist. Communication between the Spa receptionist and the massage therapist was not very good. The massage therapist upon entering the treatment room asked me again on the type of treatment I requested. Half way through, the therapist asked again if I have booked for a 60-min massage or a 90-min massage Perhaps, the therapist was trying to upsell but that was not the way to go about it. For the price I paid and the quality of treatment I received, it was definitely not worthy. I have utilised the Spa at Four Seasons Shanghai and the service and quality of treatment were much much better. .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YeohJiaYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou. We will pass your message to the concerned department head immediately, we will come back to you soon. Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Top quality hotel in a great location near the Bund.
Excellent room, and outstanding bathroom!
Great breakfast, top quality service!
I will definitively stay again at this hotel during my next visit to Shanghai!!

Note: if you are coming from the Pudong airport take the 300 km/hour Maglev train (right at the airport) and leave at the first stop. From there take a taxi to the hotel (a short 15-20 minute ride). Important: do not take the first taxi offer that you will get (and there will be many!!): instead, make sure you go to the official taxi pick up area.

Room Tip: Join, for free, the SPG (Starwood Preferred Guest) "club" when you check in and get an upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isis080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear isis080,

Thank you for sharing your experience at tripadvisor and it is really good to see that you enjoyed your stay!

Please contact me if you ever plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Relations Manager &
Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com

You just dont only stay here, you belong!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Conclusion: Great value. It's a SPG level 3, but it feels (and prices) like a high level 4; it's very high grade. location, although not prime, it's not an issue (see below)

This trip: 2 nights. Upgraded to executive suite. Very nice. Everything works well in room and as it should be. Lighting, air, water, A/V, etc. Facilities all functional (although swimming pool was closed in Jan). club lounge very full and nice. My third time since it's opening, would come back.

Pros: excellent rooms. Many suites, for SPG platinum, chances of upgrade to executive suite is high

Considerations: depending on where you want to go, location can be a bit away. however, with the 10 line subway right next to the property and the hongkou underpass, it's very close to everything. location was not an issue.

About me: East Asian male, based in Hong Kong, travels for business and pleasure 100- 150 nights a year. SPG platinum 75.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeadventurelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear lifeadventurelove,

Thank you so much for the great comments! Hope to welcome you back soon.

Please do contact me personally if you ever plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Relations Manager &
Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com

You just dont only stay here, you belong!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

On arrival, the check in was very polite and efficient.
Upgraded to an Exec room which allowed access to the business lounge, which helped with the value aspect, given the price of the drinks in the lobby area. (£12 for a glass of wine). Food in the business lounge was acceptable but nothing special. Drinks were good with international branded spirits available. Whilst i know smoking is not permitted in public areas, as a smoker, i had to go back to my room for a cigarette when a well positioned smoking area would have been welcome.
Rooms are clean, mine was well appointed with good view.
Breakfast is ok, similar to all other Chinese hotels.
Overal, the hotel is clean and efficient, but as another reviewer pointed out, a bit sterile - its needs a warmer reception/lobby area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshjacksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for choosing our hotel during your trip. It's our pleasure to host you. We were very happy to get your feedback, then we know where and what we need to improve. We will re-train our staff and hopefully you will come to visit us in the near future, then we can show you our efforts in improvement. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us gsm.hongkou@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

During my seven days in Shanghai I stayed in the Pudong Shangri-La and the Hongkou and must say that the Sheraton comes out on top despite being less than half price. If you think it is a bit out of the way and lessen your enjoyment of Shanghai: wrong! It is directly on a Metro station (Shanghai has an awesome metro) whose two lines get you anywhere super cheap, fast and safe. I booked an Executive Club room as it includes breakfast and drinks and food in the evening and ended paying half price of what the Shangri-La was asking for just bed and breakfast. The first room was on the Club level and was huge, the second room wasn't on the club level (I was a bit annoyed that I payed for a club room and got one on the 21st floor because the club level was full) but was still very nice and also pretty big.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_Dina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for shareing with us your experience at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel. We were happy to hear you had nice experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us gsm.hongkou@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of a family vacation in China with 2 small children (aged 2 and 4). This is a elegant hotel, if a bit sterile - very much for the business traveler. I chose it because I have recently joined the SPG program. As a frequent traveler that writes about travel with children (in Australian magazines and a personal blog) a few things disturbed me. During our Chinese travels we were overwhelmed by the warmth of the Chinese people towards our children. The opposite was true in this hotel (and honestly, they were not behaving badly). Our two year old woke on our first morning there (we had arrived the evening before and not had the opportunity to purchase supplies) so I sent my husband downstairs with my child to purchase some. He was charged 55 RMB ($10 Australian) for a cup of milk! So, I think my husband should have refused to pay this amount but he had a distressed child and was in a foreign city and handed over the cash. Just around the corner was a store that charged 2 RMB for a child's milk - the Sheraton staffer, if they couldn't charge a reasonable amount should have instructed my husband to go there instead. I really think this is unacceptable at any hotel particularly the Sheraton brand as it displays not only a lack of consideration for families with young children but a desire to take advantage of them. Other subtleties indicated that families were not favoured - being seated at the furthest corner of the restaurant for breakfast for example (with the one other family with a small child) miles away from the food and all other diners.

If I had been traveling for business I would have been moderately hapyp with the hotel. Immaculate rooms, staff that spoke English well and a great buffet breakfast. Phone though didn't work and missing light globes in room meant very dim even to see for personal grooming. Famllies with small children should definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou hotel. We’ll pass your message to the concerned department head immediately and get back to you soon. Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,828 reviews
World Expo
Four Points by Sheraton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Address: No.59 Siping Road, Shanghai 200086, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $114 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel.Our local neighborhood has it all. Our hotel is close to the Bund, considered the city’s symbol since the 1920s, and the People’s Square. We are also near the Nanjing Road, Lujiazui, and Huaihai Zhong Road central business districts, as well as the North Sichuan Road shopping area and historic Duolun Road.Enjoy your stay in one of our 471 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring river, city, and Bund skyline views. Relax completely in our famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, with a pillow-top mattress, cozy duvet, and goose down blanket. Our hotel’s unique outdoor garden and riverside setting make it the perfect place to get away from the fast pace of Shanghai.Complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access is now available in all of the hotel’s public areas and guest rooms to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers alike. When you need a retreat from fast-paced city life, we have many options. Indulge yourself with a treatment at the Shine Spa. Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance features state-of-the-art cardio and strength-training equipment, and our 30-meter swimming pool is illuminated by natural light through the ceiling.We offer a variety of event facilities that are ideal for weddings, dinners, product launches, and meetings. Our dedicated professionals are ready to assist you with any requirements or requests.Let the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel be your home base when visiting Shanghai, one of Asia’s most vibrant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing