We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously, I'm not sure Accor bosses have ever visited their Ibis in Shanghai...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden
Ranked #1,967 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I won't rehash what all the other negative reviews have said, but they're all true -- smoke everywhere, rude staff, dirty rooms, jade merchants yelling and hocking up their lungs at all hours, prostitute cards under the door every night. It is located in a gritty neighborhood that happens to have a prime tourist spot in it. Unfortunately, that means constant traffic and touts at your doorstep day and night.

It's just a serious let-down, as I've been satisfied with every other experience at every Accor property where I've stayed elsewhere. Ibis is Accor's good budget brand, with clean, modern rooms and amenities, courteous staff and decent locations. See my reviews of Ibis properties in Seoul and Hong Kong to understand what they are like. This property, however, is neither well-located, well-staffed, clean or well-kept. And frankly, the shenanigans with the jade vendors and hooker cards makes it unsecured, to boot.

I'm almost certain that Accor managers have never been by to inspect this property, secret-shopper or undercover-boss style. Heck, I doubt the staff would do much to change things even with fair warning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 389 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mozfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed at the Ibis Yu Garden Shanghai and has a pleasant and comfortable stay. What was odd was the many unsolicited business cards at the doorstep of the room, of some Chinese girls from the massage/sex industry. As you come out of the hotel entrance, immediately turn right into a narrow street and within two minutes you will be in the old city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Good location, lots of shopping and restaurant nearby, walking distance from The Bund. Comfortable rooms. The toilet though was really old and I almost fell when I first took a shower. The floor was super slipery. The hotel is undergoing some renovation, so there was noise during the day. Breakfast was okay-ish. Staff is attentive and is able to speak English. What really annoyed me: the cards offering girls being thrown under the door. Each night I got 8-10 cards under my door!!!! This is either done by the staff or authorized by the staff. Really, really bad. One day there was also some kind of sales going on in several rooms. People were displaying all kinds of things inside empty rooms with open doors and customers were visiting each room... This was happening in the 5th floor of the hotel!!! Again, not really something I would expect from an international brand such as Accor. I would not go back because of things like that.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Garden (not really a garden though) are bigger
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Really hard to find this hotel.. But location is great, one corner away to a majestic food court and one hidden street food. Really a lot of shopping stalls around. 30 mins walk to The Bund.
For the room rate they charge of course don't expect any luxury, but all the basic are provided such as toothbrush w/ toothpaste, daily cleaning w/ fresh towel, soap, shampoo, body gel, request two pillow, hair dryer, disposable slipper, electric kettle, aircon, two outlets, good room size for the price and English speaking receptionist.


The shower drain clogged up every time I used the shower and each time I have to used my foot as a plunger then the water goes down fast.
Towel and bed lining smell of residual cigarette smoke. My window face the corridor. Almost all hotel guest smoke and I was choking on my sleep, sealed the door and window and have to turn on the aircon even outside is 3 degree Celsius, coz it gets stuffy fast.
They used the really cheap materials for finishing, not that I am complaining, but, they should know better coz they will end up spending a lot more in the long run. You can see newly finish material already warping and disintegrating.

Room Tip: Book this hotel only if you are a smoker... They don't have non smoking room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location is not too bad considering it's less than 5 minutes walk away from Chenghuang Temple and the Food Square. There's the famous Nanxiang restaurant that commands a very long queue as always. Yuyuan is also nearby and the metro station is just a little further down (about 10-15 minutes walk away from hotel). WiFi connection is quite horrible in this hotel. But overall, it's still worth a stay for such attractive rates.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#177 of 5,112 in Shanghai
240 reviews
Old Town
Yun's Paradise Hotel
Yun's Paradise Hotel
#2,371 of 5,112 in Shanghai
321 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#403 of 5,112 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Century Park
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
#2,545 of 5,112 in Shanghai
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden

Address: No.85 Zhoujin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200011, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,967 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $63 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing