We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden
Ranked #1,527 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great location and services. Reasonable price. Very close the Yuan Garden. Especially the Australian manager is a great guy helping the customers when they need. I suggest for everyone. Classical Ibis efficiency.

Tolga

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Fuat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    142
    117
    54
    24
See reviews for
51
78
77
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have stayed in many IBIS hotels and this one was a disappointment. The rooms were old and in need of modernising, the breakfast was poor and the rooms were noisy. On the plus side the location was excellent. Fine for a one night stay but no longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel clean and in a great location! would recommend this hotel.The hotel is easy to find with plenty of places to eat near by. The staff are very helpful and speak good english. Where we were staying was very quiet. The hotel room was good value for mony.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank tsmile1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Based on experience in Europe with Ibis, expected basic service family-friendly hotel. While the room and amenities were what was expected, this location clearly has issues with women plying the oldest profession under its roof. Each time we returned to the room, a half dozen cards were left under the door soliciting business. The front desk made a major issue about permitting no one but registered guest to go to room - my daughter was prevented from helping me carry luggage - they were actively concerned with random police checks. While waiting in the lobby one evening witnessed a women being escorted out. Breakfast was so-so. The good location is not worth the other hassles unless you have the stomach for it - not a place for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalMere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ok, this ain't the Sofitel... But they get the important details right at this Ibis!

The price is good, the location is great (right next to Yu Yuan Garden and a subway station within walking distance) and the staff is kind.

When we had some issues with an outside laundry company, the GM helped us out and with a few calls from the receptionist their laundry company collected our laundry right in time. Great service!

Beds were a bit hard to our liking, but this was something we ran into during most of our trip, so I guess this is personal.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JanM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is in the best location of Shanghai. It is next to the YU YUAN Garden. Shopping, restaurants and tourist sights are close by. The breakfast deal at the hotel makes it very convenient too. All rooms are very clean. It is a great value for the money. One annoyance is the accumulation of business cards from a variety of vendors slipped under your room door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank evawong888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Location - The hotel is located about 1km from Yuyuan Metro. Please look for H&M or Zara shopping mall at Yu Garden as the building of this hotel is just opposite them.

Cleanliness - Hotel and room were very clean. Basic toiletries are provided. Mosquito attack at night but mosquito repellant is available from the housekeeper. They allow to smoke in the room but to avoid smoking on the bed.

Staff - Staff was very friendly and able to accommodate to our requests i.e. room facing the Yuyuan Garden despite our room rate was actually for city view. Receptionist able to communicate in English.

Food - We weren't tried their breakfast. However, we observed basic breakfast were provided i.e. bread, spaghetti, egg, fruits and salad.

Parking - Parking is available with minimal charges.

Room Tip: Request room at 6th floor facing Yuyuan Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmi Zarul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#230 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Old Town
Yun's Paradise Hotel
Yun's Paradise Hotel
#2,105 of 4,971 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#166 of 4,971 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#126 of 4,971 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
People’s Square
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#499 of 4,971 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#439 of 4,971 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden

Property: Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden
Address: No.85 Zhoujin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200011, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,527 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing