We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden
Ranked #2,016 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore, Singapore
54
Reviewed February 6, 2013

It's my maiden trip to Shanghai and being cautious, I had the hotel's address in Chinese and showed it to the taxi driver at the airport. I arrived with no problems. (I could have taken the subway/trains but I was rather worried about getting lost)

Hotel's location is very central to just about most attractions in Shanghai. A tip ... one can take the Hop On Hop Off bus at the back / around the corner of the hotel for about 30 yuan and see most of Shanghai with minimum hassle.

Facilities are simple, acceptable and I have seen better facilities at other Ibis hotels in China / other parts of the world. It's acceptable. The WiFi works but can sometimes be erratic.

My only major complaint was there's plenty of dog owners taking their dog on a walk every day around the hotel thus it may be very unpleasant avoid dog's poo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 397 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

- Adjacent to Yuyuan Garden
- Plenty of local food around, and for the less adventurous, McD etc.
- Yuyuan Metro 5-10 minute walk
- 10 minute walk to Bund
- Always felt safe
- Rooftop terrace with great view of Bund
- Room is typical IBIS - clean, minimalist

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footloose_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was my second time at the Ibis Shanghai Yuyuan. I will always stay at this Ibis as the location is perfect for me as Yu Gardens, which is right across, is one of my favourite places in Shanghai. I like the cleanliness, the comfort and the size of the rooms (not too small), and the very efficient staff. From the front desk service to the housekeeping, the Ibis staff are always courteous and professional. This is definitely one of my favourite Ibis hotels.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Mimi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located right across Yu Yuan Garden and a shopping mall (with H'M, Zara, etc) so you just need to cross the street for sight seeig, shopping or eating. Receptionists are helpful and hotel has reliable car service if needed. Unlimited free wifi is available too. Recommended! Only negative is the buffet breakfast which has limited selection and just average.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathleendls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is very well located if you are visiting the tourist hotspots including Shanghai Old Street shopping district, Yu Gardens, etc - all only a short walk away. The rooms are compact but clean, if a little spartan, only negative is that they dont have a refrigerator. Buffet breakfast cheap but range on offer limited. Reception staff are polite and try to be helpful, but lack good English. I had trouble getting directions to the Airport Shuttle Bus terminal, and was sent instead to streetside bus stop to catch an ordinary public bus. nearly missed my flight as a result. Overall, excellent value for money at the price, and ideal if you are on limited budget. I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John00755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Small but clean. Staff very helpful. It is as it says a budget hotel good for the price. Convenient situation. Location map could be better. Buffet breakfast sufficient for the price.Booking procedure easy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barton292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#190 of 5,161 in Shanghai
251 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#578 of 5,161 in Shanghai
300 reviews
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#410 of 5,161 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
#1,252 of 5,161 in Shanghai
61 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#159 of 5,161 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden

Address: No.85 Zhoujin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200011, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,016 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $44 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing