We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, Friendly, Neatty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Ranked #54 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfy, Friendly, Neatty”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Overall experience was good. Handy from Hongqia airpoprt and my driver was so honest and he charged only RMB25 for one way trip. Nice & Spacious room, beautiful open bathroom area. But I hope that we could have supermarket around the site but none. Room cleaning lady was friendly even though I couldn't speak Chinese with her.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Eun Sil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

My team and I are delighted to read your feedback about your pleasant stay at our hotel. Indeed, the hotel is in very close proximity to Shanghai’s key transportation hubs, notably Hongqiao Airport and Hongqiao Highspeed Railway Station. As such, it is the ideal venue for those travelers traveling within China.

The hotel opened late 2010 and features among the most spacious guest rooms in Shanghai, with a minimum room size of 46sqm / 495sqft. The vast majority of our team members are Chinese and all of them are working hard to improve their command of English. I therefore hope that you will be able to speak English (or maybe Chinese) during your next visit! Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to make your next reservation on mike.williamson@hilton.com.

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    353
    81
    19
    27
See reviews for
50
51
46
642
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a very nice five-star hotel. The rooms are big, and with all the features you would expect from a five star hotel.
Very fast WiFi (150 RMB per day). I stayed here for a conference in May 2013. It is a bit away from the city centre, so if you are planning a family holiday, maybe better to stay in one of the city centre hotels. However, for a conference or a business hotel, this is an excellent choice. The hotel restaurant serves a wide variety of very good food, and the buffet is a nice way to sample the many different dishes from this region.
Nothing much around the hotel, except big mainly residential skyscrapers.
As this was my first time in Shanghai, I had asked for the hotel to arrange airport pickup. (About 800 RMB, £80). On the return trip to the airport, we got an ordinary taxi (about 250 RMB, £25), available from the hotel gate.
All in all a real five star hotel, very spacious, and ideal for conferences or business meetings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VipinZamvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

Thank you for your posting elaborate review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that the hotel lived up to your expectations during your first trip to Shanghai! I note that you are a seasoned traveler and spend lots of time in various (branded) hotels around the globe. Therefore, it is even more encouraging to read your feedback, which, I will share with all our team members.

As you rightly pointed out, our hotel offers oversized guest rooms of at least 59 sqm / 635 sqft, including spacious bathroom. Indeed, we can be considered a conference hotel given the variety and number of meeting facilities in our hotel. Yet, we also welcome many leisure travelers and families (during the weekends) that enjoy our extensive wellness facilities, including: 25 meter pool, sundeck, fitness and spa. As such, the hotel is often considered a ‘urban resort’ in the crowded city of Shanghai.

I hope we may welcome you back during your next trip to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel while in Shangahi. I stayed here for an overnight, the acomidations were excellent and the staff was quite helpful. My first trip to Shangahi was made easy with assistance from the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank L2TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

I am pleased to read that we were given the opportunity to host you at our hotel during your first (short) trip to Shanghai. It is a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable experience and that you appreciate our service. Rest assured that I will share your encouraging feedback with all our team members.

We hope to may welcome you back to our hotel again soon. If there is anything we can assist you with prior to your next trip, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly on mike.williamson@hilton.com.

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel probably is the best 5 star hotel at Hong Qiao Area in Shanghai based on the rate we paid . We have been really enjoying staying at this hotel in the last two years for our business trip in China . The service is great . The room is very clean and nice . The location is very convenient since it is close to Hongqiao Terminal and has less traffic than in the downtown Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lixin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

It is a pleasure to read your feedback with regards to your recent stay at our hotel. I am particularly pleased that you consider us to be “the best 5-star hotel in Hongqiao area”. As there is many hotels to choose from in Hongqiao, it is very encouraging that you choose our hotel for our service and room. Rest assured that I will share this with all our team members!

As you are a seasoned traveler to Shanghai and our hotel, you are aware that our hotel is among the newest properties in the city. Due to the proximity to the ‘Hongqiao Transportation Hub’ and office areas such as Caoheijing and Hongqiao Development Zone, it is the ideal venue for business travelers and transit passengers. From the beginning of this year, we also include complementary shuttle service to all our guests to the main office areas and downtown Shanghai.

I hope we may welcome you to our hotel again soon. Please don’t hesitate to dontact me directly if you wish to make your next reservation on mike.williamson@hilton.com.

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Hongqiao Hilton is not a bad choice when visiting Shanghai but it certainly isn't life changing.

Pros: spacious and clean rooms, nice lobby, very nice gym and spa, adequate breakfast, friendly/helpful staff, short work to a nice Western restaurant/nightlife area, loud street noise

Cons: location, cost/value, hotel layout (incredibly confusing), HiltonHonors check-in

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfwiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you overall enjoyed your stay, despite your disappointment on the street noise; for which I would like to apologize. Please kindly share me your name If possible, we will update your profile with the preference: "guest prefers quiet room which not facing the street" and it will be well shared with the relevant team. By next time your arrival, trust you will enjoy a relaxing time here with us.

Our hotel is centrally located between Shanghai’s city centre and the “Hongqiao Transportation Hub” (including Hongqiao High Speed Railway Station and Hongqiao Airport). As such, the hotel is the ideal place for business travelers as well as for leisure travelers wanting to explore the city.

At the same time, we also provides free shuttle bus service to the Hongqiao Development Zone and Caohejing High-tech Industrial Development Zone for your convenience. You can get the detail schedules from our concierge team if you need this service. I hope we may welcome you at our hotel again soon. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to make your next reservation on mike.williamson@hilton.com.

Warm Regards

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a truly wonderful hotel. The staff is first-rate and the hotel itself is in terrific shape. It's a Hilton, but has some very nice touches not found in other Hilton hotels. Rooms are beautifully designed, clean and very comfortable. It is best to have a driver, but the metro station is not far away. Great restaurant choices are nearby and it is a short drive to many chic Shanghai neighborhoods. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the executive levels to get access to an excellent lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCarlos2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Mr. John - Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

Thank you for your choosing our hotel as the place to stay during your most recent visit to China. The Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao opened late 2010, I presume you stayed in our Executive Tower (Tower III) which offers oversized guest rooms of at least 59 sqm / 635 sqft, including spacious bathroom. Guests staying at the Executive Tower have private check-in/check-out and may enjoy the complimentary benefits of the Executive Lounge (including breakfast, pre-dinner cocktails and refreshments during the day).
At the same time, we also provides free shuttle bus service to the Hongqiao Development Zone and Caohejing High-tech Industrial Development Zone for your convenience. You can get the detail schedules from our concierge team if you need this service.
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. If you wish to make your next reservation, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly on mike.williamson@hilton.com.

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hilton Hongqiao is located in outskirt of Hongqiao area. I originally selected this hotel due misconception of close proximity to Shanghai Hongqiao airport but taxi ride took 20 mins from airport to hotel.

The service level is excellent and room is clean and comfortable. Bathroom is huge with separate shower area. Executive lounge located on 3rth floor with excellent selection of breakfast menu. Overall an excellent hotel except for the remote location. There is ongoing construction in front to hotel and nothin along the street except for office building. If you are in Hongqiao area for business meeting, this might be the place, otherwise, I prefer other much central location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSHHongqiao, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience on Tripadvisor. Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao is centrally located between Shanghai’s city centre and the “Hongqiao Transportation Hub” (including Hongqiao High Speed Railway Station and Hongqiao Airport). As such, the hotel is the ideal place for business travelers as well as for leisure travelers wanting to explore the city.

At the same time, we also provide free shuttle bus service to the Shanghai’s key attractions, Hongqiao Development Zone and Caohejing High-tech Industrial Development Zone for your convenience. You can get the detail schedules from our concierge team if you need this service.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you at our hotel again soon. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly on mike.williamson@hilton.com if you wish to make your next reservation.

Kind regards,

Mike Williamson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#57 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#83 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao

Property: Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Address: No.1116 Hongsong East Road, Shanghai 201103, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Hongqiao business district, the three-tower Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao is close to metro lines and within walking distance of entertainment venues. Relax in the spacious guest rooms and enjoy the wide range of facilities including the spa. The Grand Ballroom is ideal for private functions and can accommodate over 1,000 people while the two restaurants serve up cuisine from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing