We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Incredible Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Ranked #53 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Incredible Staff”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Hilton Hongqiao, Shanghai from May 8th – May 12th, 2011..
Since I had requested for a pick-up from the Pudong Airport, there was a car waiting for me. The person who came to receive me was very polite. What I liked about him was that he tried to engage with me in positive conversation till he made me sit it the car. This walk from the Airport pick-up point to Taxi parking area was a quite a pleasurable experience. The ride from the airport to the hotel was quite smooth. The only thing that I realized that the driver could not speak English.

The check-in at the hotel was pretty smooth. I was staying in 16th floor in a deluxe room. The rooms were impeccably kept and there were no reasons to complain. What I liked that it had all that is required by a business as well as a lazy (holiday) traveller.
My experience with the room service was also pretty good. The food was delivered on time. However, I felt the options in the room-service menu was quite limited. I expect a Hilton to offer much greater eating options in the room.
I used their coffee-shop (Essence) a number of days and had quite a good experience. This restaurant has some excellent team members especially in the Coffee Shop . Some of these names are Teddy, Susan etc. What deligted me that some of the staff at this restaurant went out of the way to make sure I had the right food for my lunches / dinner.
The stuff that I did not like about the coffee shop (which is: Essence) was that the menu for the dinner remained almost same. There is some change everyday but clearly every alternate day you get to see the same items on the menu.
I also had the opportunity be at their lobby lounge called PULSE. Here too I had a great experience.
Overall a good hotel wherein I would like to stay again. I think what is good about this hotel is that it has an excellent set of staff members.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebuDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSHHongqiao, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Google Translation
Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to give us your constructive comments.
We have noted your suggestions and we have addressed it with our hotel management team for further improvement.
I would like to thank you again for your constructive comments and please let me know if there is anything I may be of assistance with for any of your future travels.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao!

非常感谢您下榻上海虹桥元一希尔顿酒店,并于百忙之中抽出时间给我们留下宝贵建议。
对于您所提出的诚挚建议,我们已将其汇报至我酒店管理层并将对此作出改进。
在此我代表本酒店再一次感谢您的中肯建议,如果您在您未来的旅行安排中需要协助,请随时联系我们,期待您的下次光临!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    360
    82
    19
    27
See reviews for
51
52
46
652
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL Suburbs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I recently spent three nights (May 2 through 5) at the Hilton Hongqiao and had a very enjoyable stay.

I was in contact with Andrew Tsai, front Office Manager, in advance of my arrival to understand the room options and hotel layout. I was very impressed with the service and responsiveness prior to my visit from Andrew and the team.

I was even more impressed with the service we received at the hotel.

We only had one dinner and we decided to dine in the bar, the food was very good and service was very good as well. The bar area is quiet and enjoyable, if you are looking for entertainment or karaoke this is not the place.

The breakfast buffet was excellent and the service was excellent as well. The variety of choices was inredible.

The hotel was quiet, the rooms were excellent and the exercise facility is one of the best I have run into ever at a hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSHHongqiao, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Google Translation
Thank you very much for staying at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, your constructive comments will motivate us to maintain a high level. We will do our utmost to be consistent in providing good service. Looking forward to welcome you back.
非常感谢您下榻上海虹桥元一希尔顿酒店,您的肯定是我们前进的动力,我们将坚持努力为您提供更好的服务。期待您的下次光临!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We decided to spend a lazy weekend at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao. Location is perfect, convenient to get to downtown and at the same time far enough for a little peace and quiet.
Big airy rooms and good service from the staff. The hotel is still a little quiet as they are newly opened.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zac_Amir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSHHongqiao, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to comment on the Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and I will share your comments with all hotel team members who will be really appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you again at the Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#57 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,404 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#84 of 5,059 in Shanghai
742 reviews
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao

Property: Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Address: No.1116 Hongsong East Road, Shanghai 201103, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#81 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Hongqiao business district, the three-tower Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao is close to metro lines and within walking distance of entertainment venues. Relax in the spacious guest rooms and enjoy the wide range of facilities including the spa. The Grand Ballroom is ideal for private functions and can accommodate over 1,000 people while the two restaurants serve up cuisine from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing