We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, a bit remote”
Review of Eiffelton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eiffelton Hotel
Ranked #1,879 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Value for money, a bit remote”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed one week at hotel to take part in an exhibition at Pudong. The hotel is an extensive hotel complex with more than 10 buildings next to a golf driving range by the river. It is not particularly convenient for public transport because nearest subway is TangGiao on Line#4 which is a good 20 minutes walk. If you are prepared to take taxi, then this is a nice and quiet hotel with larger rooms and river view at a very reasonable price below US$100 a night. This hotel is situated in the EXPO2010 area which the authorities are still wondering what to do with after the 6-month long show, so expect a very quiet environment if you go walking.

Our team were pleasantly upgraded to larger rooms with two double beds in each room, and my corner room has a side view of the river. Although I asked for non-smoking room, I had to leave window open for 2 days to clear residual smell of smoke in room. Usual 4 to 5 star room facilities like fridge, kettle, hairdryer and even an umbrella in room, but mini-bar was a bit basic. In room internet is free via wired broadband, which is not fast but sufficient for emails. Wireless internet is available in public area but I did not try it. Breakfast is a good buffet spread but biased towards Chinese food. Staff are generally helpful even when busy, but do not expect lots of smile. Airline lost my luggage and porter was considerate enough not to wake me up at 2am when airport staff delivered my missing suitcase, he let me have a good night sleep and call at 8am. I will be happy to stay in this hotel again and enjoy the breakfast watching big ships sail down the HuangPu river.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to a room with at least partial view of river, full view will cost $
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
1
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

A comfortable room and low price... and that's about it.

This hotel ranks itself as five star but three is nearer the mark. There was an adequate breakfast buffet (though the coffee machine was broken on two out of six days) but a truly dreadful restaurant for evening meals - I was reduced to eating a Snickers bar washed down with a can of local beer one night as so many items were unavailable.

The key problem is that there's nowhere nearly to walk to for any sort of respite - this hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

On checkout my deposit (equivalent roughly to the total bill) was allegedly cancelled, to be refunded, and then my card was charged again for the bill. To date, the refund has not arrived but my bank tell me that this may take up to two weeks (moral - prepay the bill when you arrive and don't give a deposit).

Staff were friendly and helpful but their language skills were very poor.

It just wasn't worth the saving of staying here - it just added to the stresses of a very intense business trip.

Room Tip: If you're here on business don't stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel is a large clean hotel. It is located about a 10 minute cab ride to downtown. (About a $7 charge for a cab). The rooms were large and clean. The breakfast was wonderful, and included many western choices.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinagirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is actually made up from several buildings, At first glance the hotel is impressive, however the problems soon started to appear. The first was that the doorman simply watched gormlessly as we struggled to get our bags out of the taxi. This wasn't a massive issue, but others did follow.

Despite the fact we ordered a Deluxe Double, when we arrived at the room it was a rather shabby looking small twin room, with a stained carpet and bottles left by the previous guests. When we complain the staff were extremely rude and each one gave conflicting information. They offered us a double, but it was tiny, barely bigger than the double bed that they'd somehow stuffed into it. We weren't happy and wanted a double bed so we said we'd take it, so long as they charge us the cheaper rate as this isn't the room we ordered. They were not, under any circumstance prepared to reduce the rate. After dealing with several, very rude staff members a manager eventually agreed to upgrade us, but we had to spend a night in the tiny double room.

Other than the size of the room, the toiletries provided weren't enough for two people to have two showers a day, something I like to do when I'm out all day in 36C heat.

The upgraded room was much better, clean, spacious, had a bigger TV, two toilets, a sofa and a fantastic view of the City. The toiletries provided were also more substantial.

Breakfast is OK, a mixture of Chinese and Continental. Get there quick or it will go cold though.

In summary - The room was good, possibly better than we'd paid for, but I didn't like the fact that they tried so hard to give us a room which was worse than what we'd paid for. The staff are also rude and poorly trained.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatalException
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#87 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#51 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Bund
The Waterhouse At South Bund
The Waterhouse At South Bund
#191 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiffelton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiffelton Hotel

Property: Eiffelton Hotel
Address: No.1888 Puming Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200127, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,879 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiffelton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eiffelton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing