We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hardware, poor software”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
Ranked #1,242 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed there for 1 night just few days ago... While he received excellent service, the same could not be said about my experience.

It started right upon arrival... I was getting out of the cab carrying a laptop bag, a camera bag and paper carrier while my husband was paying the cabbie. I was surprised why there wasn't any doorman when I noticed that they were all behind the door inside the hotel. I thought to myself it made sense as it was cold outside and that they would come out in no time to help me. One of them did come out but it was only AT the moment my husband was getting out of the cab. The doorman then came fussing over my husband and helped him with our luggage...he even shook hands with my husband and greeted him warmly while totally ignoring me! After being told of by my husband and I that there were two of us to be acknowledged instead of him alone, he just gave me a feeble "ni hao". I speak Chinese but needless to say, I couldn't even be bothered with him anymore.

Next, the check-in was disorganised in the sense that there were guests standing around but you could never tell where the queue starts or ends. There should have been a better system. Check-in queue didn't move as fast as we'd like it to but that wasn't my main complaint. The problem was that the check-in lady again acknowledged only my husband! I was effectively invisible! Everything was "sir, sir, sir" even though I was right beside him and presented her with both our passports. In return, we got only 1 key card instead of 2...

Now back to the same doorman/bellboy. He brought our suitcases up to our room taking a separate lift. In the meantime I was rather pissed off with the service and confirmed with my husband that I wasn't being too sensitive and overreacting. We decided that the doorman just blew his tips. When he unloaded our stuff in the room, he still got the nerve to linger and pretend showing my husband the bathroom in hope of tips! I mean, didn't he get the message after being told of earlier?

This was basically my experience, marred right at the doorstep. However, like I mentioned, hardware wise, it was perfect.

And oh, in case my point isn't obvious enough, my husband is a Caucasian and I am an Asian.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kopi-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine_Bao, Manager at Hotel Nikko Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2011

Dear kopi-o, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated as this helps us improve our overall service.

We were also pleased to read of your feedback regarding great hardware, thank you.
We sincerely appologize for the unhappiness you had experienced. The issue has been shared with management and we would try every effort to deliver more professional service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Always trusted, always ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 307 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

The room are great, spacious and modern. Unfortunatelly the service is far from being a 5 stars hotel.
Very few staff speak fluent English, so when you ask them something they look at you with a blank stare.
Also training is an issue: I have called to get breakfast in the morning and they tried to talk me out of it telling me that breakfast is included downstairs and that anyway it will take very long to deliver it.
They have a limited selection of room service, yet when I ordered chicken rice they said they don't have it. I asked if the mozzarella is buffalo as indicated in the menu, and guess what, it wasn't when it arrived. then asked for a salmon bagel and they delivered ham&cheese toast. In short, they have not a clue. The food is really mediocre, Starbucks type of, if you ever had a sandwitch in starbucks.
The hotel seems understaffed and definetly not a 5 stars service, more 3 stars chinese style. I guess they are not really willing to invest in an International crew.
Great Angsana spa though. Only bright point beside the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucadep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine_Bao, Manager at Hotel Nikko Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

Dear Lucadep, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated as this helps us improve our overall service and facilities.

We were also pleased to read of your feedback regarding spacious and modern guest rooms and awesome Angsana spa, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Always trusted, always ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

First time in Shanghai for leisure, stayed in this wonderful hotel. The hotel is brand new and feels luxurious. Beautiful facilities, with a great albeit smallish pool. Rooms are fantastic with soft comfortable beds, large 42 inch sony bravia flat screens (with a host of english and foreign language channels), ipod/phone dock, complimentary mineral water and a large fancy bathroom (tv screen fixed in the wall above the bath, Japanese style toilet and rain shower).

Service was attentive but not intrusive.

The hotel is about 15 minutes away from Hongqiao Airport, in the middel of Puxi, about 10 minutes from Yingan temple. About 7 minutes walk away from nearest metro station. Most nightlife is at most a 15 minute cab ride away.

Recommend a higher floor if you are taking the city view as there is a large express way close to that side, even though I assume the rooms are all soundproofed, the view would not be optimal. Did not notice any noise at all from the 16th floor.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungDutchTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine_Bao, Manager at Hotel Nikko Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2011

Dear YoungDutchTraveler,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at hotel nikko shanghai. We certainly pride ourselves on exceeding our guest’s expectations.

YoungDutchTraveler we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and trusting your faith in hotel nikko shanghai.

Always Trusted, Always Ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The stay at the Nikko was quite nice. Most impressive were the shower and bath facilities, which is many times hard to beat with a Japanese built Washlet in the house! Unforgettable if one is traveling from the USA for the first time. Suggest a high floor due to the road noise if you're staying on the Yan'an Road side of the building; however, the away side is acceptable on just about any floor in terms of noise.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CandelaRomano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineBao, Manager at Hotel Nikko Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is much appreciated as this helps us improve our overall service and facilities.

We were also pleased to read of your feedback regarding the comfort of our large guest rooms and awesome shower and bath facilities, value for money and overall service, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank rebulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank torukyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kur76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 5,205 in Shanghai
949 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#87 of 5,205 in Shanghai
905 reviews
Jing'an
The Kunlun Jing An
The Kunlun Jing An
#61 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#137 of 5,205 in Shanghai
609 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Shanghai

Address: No.488 Yan'an West Road, Shanghai 200050, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,242 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $119 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Nikko Shanghai offers luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilites, extraordinary dining options in a setting where Art blends with business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Nikko Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing