We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Manager” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zapata's

Zapata's
Ranked #245 of 16,842 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Mexican, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Description: This Mexican cantina is the home of Shanghai's original ladies night every Wednesday. Attracting both foreigners and Chinese alike. With a large garden that shouts ice cold margaritas in summer. Enjoy early evening drinks from the Happy Hour menu with half priced appetizers or chill out over looking the garden from the upstairs Hacienda bar. Or if a party is more your style things start getting fun from 10pm with DJs spinning your favorite party tunes till late. With bar top dancing, free tequila shots every hour or enjoy a snack from our late night menu. Everyday is a party at Zapata's.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Manager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Been there a few times on my travels, standard place but they now have a new energy with a new manager I met Adam.
He's getting the place busy again as it was just a little low on service. He explained he is building anew team and it looks like it is working. I first went to this place when the Formula 1 was introduced to China and they had a foam party along with other promotions throughout the whole weekend.
Its gonna be great to see this place back on track and I will most certainly be back - good luck Adam.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IWM-HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    44
    23
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“service? no service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We went there last night, took a table outside, beginning was nice, good music etc.
Than we took a table, we had to ask sb to clean it after other people. Than the staff came back took ashtray and asked if can take the bottles of corona, my friend said no, she asked to times so she repeat no 2 times as well. Than staff took the beer and went away. After 5 mins we asked the girl and told her that the beer was NOT finnished. She broght back a bottle half full.. I dont know if from other table or bin I have no idea. So my friend said that she is not sure if it is hers so the staff replies "but I am sure" - what a rude staff. And od course she didn`t make up her mistake didn`t bring a new beer , no sorry, no nothing. When I was in a very underground cheap bar and a girl took my mojito she brought back a new one in 1 minute - this is service. Food was QUITE fine. Of course they forgot about few more that we ordered and finnally at 11 we were asked to pay bill... Why? Shall we go? - Becasue this time they close Open Bills. Service is ridiculous, value for money as well. Staff just frab your glassess and beers and don`t ask. I will never go there again this is 100% sure , for food and deals Cantina Agave is 100 times better.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marta0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dancing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

It's possible to dance on the dancefloor, good, danceable music, and since it's high under the rood, you don't feel like swimming in an ashtray. We even got a place to sit:)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“From Happy Hour to Morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Zapata's is a nice place from Happy Hour thru end of night.
They have a good menu with several options of snacks and food that can be a good start for a after hours party with friends.
After 22h the club starts to be full of all kind of people, most foreigners and it go thru all night.
And if you are lonely this a place full of escorts that offers their services and it's up to you to accept it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doncobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you like music from the 80th...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Busy in the summer, noisy and crowded. This is a fun place. Maybe starting to get a bit outdated, but still going strong?! I like this place and to hang out for a beer in the garden.

Helpful?
Thank KP-Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zapata's also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Zapata's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing