We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Building on the Block”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Bund East Shanghai
Ranked #137 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at the Wyndham for two nights at the start and end of my tour of China last year. This is a fairly new hotel as it was opened this decade. As far as all of the hotels I stayed in China, this visually was the nicest of them all. The rooms are large with high ceilings and the bathroom is massive. You have a choice of using the shower or the bathtub which has a TV screen to the side!

Though on paper this should have been the one that I had the best stay at, it wasn't. There isn't any in-room wi-fi, though there is in the lobby downstairs. The TV channel selection was a bit lacking. A lot of government channels mostly. And I never could find the right temperature for the room which led to restless nights here. Though to be fair, I was coming on the tail end of long journies both times. One from a long flight from the US and one from a long day in China.

I did also try the breakfast buffet which was surprisingly disappointing. As we were with a tour group, lines were long for anything that needed to be ordered. Hence, I stuck to the items you can help yourself to which I found to be average. Given the Wyndham's brand prestige, I would have hoped the buffet would have been better.

As for the title of the review, the Wyndham truly is the nicest building on the block as it is located in a residential area where you can find locals hanging about. The sights and sounds that I encountered by walking a just block away from here gave me a feeling of awe. Saw a few things that I would not typically see living in the US.

Overall, I thought the Wyndham was good, but not great. It is a very nice hotel visually, but I don't think it is up to par with the Wyndham name.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jol20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 417 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Honestly, the hotel it self is not bad, but... may the environment is the worst, the hotel is locating in a slum. I can't understand why they chose this location.Dirty and mass, and I visited the worst road in the world when I took a walk,it is called Zhoujiapai road, I ever seen a road mass like that even I experienced the slum in India.

Choose th one in Pudong in better than this, trust me.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our value for money.Sure the hotel is out of the town but a $4.aud taxi ride to the city centre didn't break the bank.
Our room and facilities were excellent and all the meals that we had at the hotel were more than satisfactory.
The exchange rate for our cash was equal to the best we have enjoyed anywhere in the world,
We would certainly recomend this hotel to anybody requiring a top quality hotel at a very resonable rate.

Room Tip: The higher the better views of Shanghai Town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webbie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nash Q, General Manager at Wyndham Bund East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments. We try our utmost to satisfy our customer's. Yes, you are absolutely right. It is indeed an excellent price and value for money. We are gald to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Good day & best regards,
Nash Qureshi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Although this hotel is not in the center of the city, it is a very good alternative. Our room was very well appointed, the service overall was excellent and the hotel very well kept. Our bathroom had a large shower with a powerful rain shower head. When having wine in the lobby lounge, they were out of stock for two of the options we selected. In the end, the waiter recommended another wine and gave it to us for the price of the house wine which was out of stock. The concierge was very helpful in finding shopping locations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

have stayed here on a few occasions the hotel is nice, good rooms, english speaking staff are helpful, breakfast has a good selection only downside is if you go down to breakfast when the tour groups are present, the staff find it hard to cope.
evening meals are to be avoided poor selection and highly priced, you are better off getting a taxi to the centre and finding a resturant.

Check in/out is quick and efficient.
The only problem is the location it is a good 30 minute taxi ride to the central area of shanghai and on more than one occasion i had to try more than one taxi when returning as the taxi driver didnt know where the hotel was although i always gave him the hotel taxi card for directions.

But overall a nice hotel for business if you can avoid the tour groups which seem to be everywhere in the hotel.

Room Tip: one side is next to a very busy express way which gives continual noise day and night, avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

room was huge, clean n modern. Bathroom was equally spacious with different sections for shower, wc, wash basin n bath. Good bright lightings n motorised curtains.
Location is average n not near the bund, about 25mins ride away.
Breakfast spread looks sumptious n with plenty of varieties but of aversge quality. Dim sum section comprised only buns or local mantau.
Service wad average as most were not able to communicate in english.
Apart from the spacious room, rest of hotel was average.
Lower your expectation n you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merc8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Wyndham Bund East for one night at the start of our China tour and again for one night at the end of the tour with an additional one night after. Since the hotel caters for various tours at the same time, it was really really crowded at that time. Having breakfast was a battle with all of the tour members having breakfast at the same time since we were all leaving the hotel at exactly the same time as well. It would be nice if they provide teaspoon so we could stir our coffee. The staff didn't seem to understand when we asked for the teaspoon. Apart from all the chaos, check in and check out was smooth. The hotel provides free wifi at the lobby but not in the room, though you can pay for a cabled internet connection in the room. The room is spacious and clean. As mentioned in the other reviews of this hotel, there is indeed a television on the wall in front of the bathtub. The pillows seem to be on the soft side. The hotel though is not ideally located. It is far from everything. Need to go by taxi if you want to go to places since walking is a nightmare when you try to cross the roads. But the staff is nice and willing to explain to us when we asked how we could go to the airport from the hotel. It cost around 175 - 200 yuan to go to Pudong International Airport, depending on the traffic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulsut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at Wyndham Bund East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Our Hotel WYNDHAM BUND EAST was OPENED since JUNE 2010 until now. How come the Location question appears NOW ONLY? It is funny because hotel Location can not be changed. Moreover, our hotel location is like any other hotel location which is not very central. It Is a bit out of the main city and can be reached by Taxi or Car with in 15 to 20 minutes at the City centre.

No one can satisfy every customer 100%. May be, some of the hotel guests think our hotel location is a bit odd! Kindly advise if you need any further clarification and we will be pleased to answer you back. You could reach to our e-mail address at: nash.qureshi@wyndhamsh.com. Thanking you for your kind understanding in this matter and best regards,Nash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jinqiao
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai
Qipu Road
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai,Rock Bund
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#74 of 5,161 in Shanghai
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Hongkou
Ocean Hotel Shanghai
Ocean Hotel Shanghai
#98 of 5,161 in Shanghai
306 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#185 of 5,161 in Shanghai
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Bund East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Bund East Shanghai

Address: No.25 Ningguo Road, Yangpu District, Shanghai 200085, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#75 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $93 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Bund East Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 482
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Bund East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Bund East Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing