We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Ranked #17 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2010

What is a hotel for? In a place like Shanghai, it's for sleeping in, and this hotel was brilliant for that. I really liked the room, which was spacious and light and had a good airconditioning system. The bath was, as another reviewer called it, weird, but it didn't bother me. My wife would have been happy had there been a bathtub, but there was not. The double glazing kept almost all the noise out which was important as there are numerous construction sites right next to the hotel. The breakfast was a bit ho-hum and the service... well, they were trying, but it wasn't all that great. The level of English was pretty low. Some of my group had to wait 5 hours for their rooms, which I thought was shocking, considering the fact that the hotel had had a month to ruminate on our reservation. Like many Chinese hotels, they charge an arm and a leg for internet usage, which I consider to be cheeky and profitiering, in a country where every second cafe has free wi-fi and if you do go to an internet cafe where you have to pay it costs about two cents a year, or at least that's what it feels like. Some of our group never got charged for their internet usage, so you might be lucky. Officially it cost 100 yuan a day. I was there for 10 days and the much reported lack of English TV became really annoying. I was told that this will soon be rectified, but if you like your TV and if that makes a difference to you it might be worth asking beforehand. One curiosity was the pool - nice, but if you want to use it, take a bathing cap or they might not let you. Why? Who knows. That's what China is like. The location is in itself is nothing special but that is actually irrelevant, because there is a subway station about three minutes' walk away, the train station a little more than that, and even People's Square is only about half an hour's walk. The keycard system in the lift was a bit confusing and I spent a good proportion of my lift-time giving short tutorials to confused newbies. In and out and THEN push the button for the floor, for the record. I can't comment on value for money as someone else was footing my bill.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tones67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 874 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

Staff were always busy and not smiling at all. Rooms were small and room did not even have a bath tub! Only shower. Could not have a good footbath after a long walking day at the expo. To be honest with this pricing of the rooms, one can get much, much better deals at boutique hip hotels, this is not your usual Marriott and definite no - go in the future. Completely regret I chose this place to be honest. The staff were especially useless whom doesn't know what to do at most times and were not at all helpful. Especially a certain staff's name starting wth A whom was meant to be a manager.

Utter disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kizzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel for 5 nights with two friends, all in separate rooms. The Hotel is new with beautiful and comfortable rooms. However, many things don't work as expected yet. Two of three rooms had no warm water sometimes, most card readers in the elevators didn't work and there are no English TV channels available at all. Furthermore I was unable to use internet in my room.

The Momo Cafe offers good Asian and Western food in a nicely decorated restaurant.
Unfortunately the whole hotel stuff seems not to be trained very well and some employees felt quite unmotivated. The waitresses in the restaurant and the bar don't even know how to fill beer in a glass. One evening in the restaurant they run out of any Asian food and even French fries were not available anymore either. The bar closes around 11:30, but sometimes refused service already at 11pm.

The reception stuff was even worse. Check-in took more than 20 minutes and check-out wasn't much more efficient either. My friends' rooms were booked on wrong names and the reception stuff was unable to connect my phone call to my friend's room. Furthermore the receptionist told us breakfast was included although it actually wasn't.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pasen255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

This hotel is brand new, less than a month old.

The rooms are very contemporary and spacious. All modern features that you would expect in a 4 star hotel.

Although the Courtyard concept normally doesn't include room service, this one does have 24 hour room service with limited menu, especially useful for a late night snack.

It is located near the Shanghai railway station, right next to Intercontinental Puxi, but you pay 1/3 of the price. It was only 30 mins from Hongqiao airport via the elevated roads. On the surface, it might not appear the location is excellent, but you will start to appreciate it only after you stay in a hotel right in the middle of Shanghai and get stuck in traffic jams all the time. At this location, you can get to everywhere in Shanghai without getting stuck in traffic jams, saving you many precious hours on your holiday. Metro stop is very close to get into centre of town.

I stayed on the executive level and the lounge is fantastic, good selection of drinks, wine, cheese, fruit and food until midnight.

The breakfast selection was excellent, lots of variety that would make some 5 star hotels to shame. Another good thing is that breakfast is available from 6 AM until 11 AM, I usually miss breakfast at other hotels while on holiday because it finishes at 10 or 9:30, but here I can get most out of my money.

I have stayed in many hotels in China and the product here is 1st grade. Normally, with new hotels, while the product is excellent, the service is lacking due to untrained staff, but here it is totally opposite. All the staff are excellent and friendly. Check in and check out was very smooth.

Given the location, new product, great service and very very reasonable price. It will become my number 1 option in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I chose this hotel based on reviews on this site and due to my rewards status with Marriott. As another review states, this is not your typical Courtyard found in the U.S. Much more upscale and with a higher level of service.

For the business traveler or personal traveler looking for a great room at a reasonable cost, this would be the ideal option for the Puxi area. With that said, I found it very convenient to just about every area, except for the western Pudong area. Getting around the city is painless with the Shanghai Railway Station within walking distance. (Note: taking the Metro from Pudong International Airport is much cheaper and about the same time required as taking a taxi, but at dramatically different prices.)

The rooms are stunning. Not a phrase I would normally associate with your typical Courtyard. Great work area near the window with cheap (or free with your room) Internet access (including allowing a second wireless device - e.g. iPad, iPhone, second laptop to connect along with the daily rate.

The bathroom is a bit camped, but the shower area was just plain weird with a window facing the room. There is a motorized screen that one can use for privacy. It makes sense since the window allows light into what would otherwise be a dark space.

Breakfast buffet was very diverse with variety from day-to-day. I found the Asian style food to be a bit tame. The Western food was also fairly bland. The assortment is a big plus for the picky eater.

Laundry service was top notch - often returning items faster than is stated on the form.

I would like to make a special note about the laundry that speaks very highly of this hotel. I had accidentally left a large-ish sum of money in my pants pocket. After being laundered, the money was in an envelop taped to the hanger with a personal note from a staff member. I was stunned, as I am sure this wouldn't have happened in many other major cities. I mentioned this to the day manager (Mr. Eason) and he seemed quite proud of his staff's honesty.

ATTENTION: For those going to this hotel within the next few months. There is some construction going on outside the hotel (on two sides). There was a fair bit of noise coming from the construction. I do not fault the hotel at all for this as the noise was not a regular occurrence, nor was it that bad from a higher floor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RM_BusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel is great and 10 minutes from city center with taxi, $3 one way.
Everything is highest standard but they have still not gotten the TV in place, that would have put them in 5.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nthorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Booked 3 rooms online and stayed from Sept 8 - 11. I was informed that they just opened a week ago. We checked in around 5PM and everything went smoothly except they ran out of a double bed room. My colleagues were made to wait for an hour till they got a room cleaned up. For a newly opened property I was surprised they ran out of double bed rooms. This was answered the next morning when hordes of tourists were lining up for breakfast and or loitering in the lobby waiting for their bus ride to the expo. Don't get me wrong, once you get past the "rush hour" of tourists in the morning and evening sanity comes back.

In terms of functionabilty, the room passed my "marriot standards". Everything from the table to the light switches were in the familiar place and worked. Minor issues which I am sure will be addressed in due time are the english cable channels and room service menu which were both unavailable at that time. In terms of taste, it was a bit tactless for management to install three buddha heads as decor in the room.

Shanghai station is a good 20 minute walk and the closest Metro was Line 1 is a good 10 minute walk from the hotel. This is fine during the cooler months but certainly not during the time that we were there as you break out a sweat just walking to and from these stations. The only good thing is that Heng Feng Lu is known to most taxi drivers and you just have to point out that its a new property.

Most of the staff we encountered were courteous and helpful with recommendations of places to eat. This was a big plus for us considering that there was literally nothing to buy or eat in the peripheral area of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,728 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#12 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $97 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the commercial centre of Shanghai Jingan District, the Jingan District is an ideal destination for business and leisure. The Metro line 1, 3, 4, 12, 13 just 200 meter from hotel, take you to the Shanghai Railway Station, Yu Garden, Tian Zi Fang, Shanghai Museum of Natural History, Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple, and People's Square. In addition, hotel is just 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 50 minutes from Pudong International Airport. Guests will enjoy spacious accommodations featuring well-lit desks, high-speed Internet, in-room safes and mini-bars, as well as a 30th-floor Executive Lounge with panoramic skyline views. To satisfy your craving, our MoMo cafe, MoMo 2 Go and lounges offer coffee, cocktails and casual dining throughout the day. Jump-start your day in our 24-hour fitness center, unwind in our indoor heated pool. To meet with clients in our state-of-the-art event facilities will lead you to focus on a successful session. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing