We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smiling service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Ranked #29 of 4,997 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Smiling service”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed a number of times for business at this hotel. It offers good value compared to its pars in Shanghai. It is relatively new, with a central location in Puxi and a stop of the subway line 1 just a block apart. Rooms are very spacious, provided with all the necessaries amenities, including umbrella, They do not have bathtub, but a very spacious shower cabinet. Rooms are well insulated, so quality of sleep is good. It has a small pool and a good gym. Breakfast offers a rich buffet, ( I like its a good choice of pastries). Wifi internet in the room is free only for guest registered with the Mariott program. What makes the difference of this hotel with many others in China is the friendly and smiling service of all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    290
    50
    16
    4
See reviews for
105
149
71
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Courtyard - Puxi may is a great value for downtown Shanghai. (And it is downtown, despite what some of the reviewers say.) The Hanzhong Road Line 1 metro is a block and a half away. Don't be afraid to use the subway. It's safe, easy, and the wall boards are in English. Better than taking a cab if your destination is near one of the (13 going on 20) train lines.

Courtyard - Puxi is rated as a 4-star hotel, and it is more of a business hotel. But you can relax here, too. The rooms are spacious and clean, the wi-fi consistently available, the food is good, there is a nice indoor pool, and the workout room has all you need. The staff speaks good English and they bend over backwards to help you in a professional manner, without smothering. The management listens to feedback. I can personally attest to that because I've stayed at this hotel over 50 nights per year since it opened in 2010. It's a great home away from home. Danno says, "Book it!"

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Danno251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!
With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent Hotel and appropriate amenities like being in Home. There are several myths about China and what you will find there. One of the most heard history is that in China many people speak English..... False!!! But, in this hotel they do, they help and you will find all the resources to make your trip to China useful... Need a cab or a translator.... No a problem... They have a terrific service accompanied by the high level of quality you find in any average Marriott.

Room Tip: Help you on anything you need when go China....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel Ciro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!
With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were very impressed with this Courtyard property during our three-night stay. The service is excellent. The front desk and concierge people spoke English and were very helpful with cabs, subway directions, flights, etc.

The rooms are moderately sized. Loved the shower--with a nice bench so you can sit while you bathe. There is also a good size desk in the room.

Breakfast buffet is outstanding with a good selection of both Asian and western foods. We upgraded to the executive level lounge, which got us both breakfast and happy hours (which were substantial enough to be dinner). Had no problems with wife.

Hotel is a five-minute walk to subway station and a quick (two stops) ride to People's Park and other centrally located attractions. We found it to be very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klem4708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A good hotel but slightly away from the city! The Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi is excellent by all standards. The hotel is relatively new and near the largest park in the city. The facilities are superb including super speed internet. The two airports are about half an hour and an hour away. The executive lounge on the 30th floor is great with views of the skyline. The places to visit which are accessible easily are Jing An Temple, Nanjing Road West and People’s Square. The Shanghai railway station and the Metro are also close by. The two restaurants MoMo 2 Go and MoMo Café serve excellent cuisine throughout the day. The indoor pool is a boon for me as I am allergic to the sun. for some strange reason, I liked the fitness room as usually I abhor them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Standard new courtyard room, the lobby is nice but small. Staffs are friendly and try their best to assist me for directions, restaurants, etc. My wife and I wanted to see the old side of Shanghai but staffs were not able to provide me the information (may be language barrier). Nice city view on high floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlinsko
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I spent four nights in the hotel and was very satisfied. I was using the cafe in the lobby as an "office" for several business talks and all the staff there was very polite and helpful. It disturbs a bit that smoking is allowed there in the cafe but ventilation works very well and it wasn't a big problem. Breakfasts have great choice, western as well as Asian food. For dinners very good buffet available at reasonable prices. Mainly the seafood buffet on Friday was excellent. There are nearby within a walking distance at least 3 right Chinese restaurants for them who don't want to eat the hotel food adapted to western tastes. The hotel is located close to a railway station and that was important for my guests arriving to see me. Rooms are spacious, with new and good quality equipment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zdenek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#22 of 4,997 in Shanghai
1,236 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 4,997 in Shanghai
1,627 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing