We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good hotel. Away from everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Shanghai Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Shanghai Central
Ranked #27 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good hotel. Away from everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had pre-paid my stay when made reservaition. However when I arrived I was informed that I entitled for special promotion - for only 300 yuan I will get breakfast, internet access and be enjoyed the happy hour at the lounge. Only on check out I found the real cost of this promotion: 300 yuan per night + 45 yuan service charge. This promotion actually doubled my expenditure and I feel very bad about it. Except of this missfortune, it is great hotel. The only shortage is it being away from everything

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    254
    47
    12
    4
See reviews for
89
124
63
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This, I believe, is a new hotel, built maybe two years ago according to the cab driver. Once you enter, you are welcomed by a huge lobby, well decorated. You could tell it's new by the state-of-the-art fitness room. The swimming pool is nice, although they insist you to wear a swimming cap. The location is great, within walking distance to the shopping district (Nanjing Road). Room is spacious with excellent shower and air conditioning worked great. Service is top notch. You can't go wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickT224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Room is gorgeous. The bed is shioks... Very comfortable. The toilet is very clean n nice. Service staffs r great. Close to General amenities. Keep up he service ppl. Wifi is also a very strong plus. The availability of the variety of cafes to relax n chill is also good. I like java + ice cream...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just a word: excellent. Free wifi in the common areas, located near to the metro (very useful), good breakfast, excellent rooms, very friendly staff, the room was big, clean and comfortable (with a very cool see-thru shower.) The breakfast buffet was extensive (Western and Chinese options available). Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvatore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey girl
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After traveling around China for 11 days and staying in hotels with varying levels of comfort, it was such a joy to come to the Courtyard by Marriott. They have real air conditioning! While it was interesting seeing more local hotels, I was finally able to relax here. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were big, clean and comfortable (with a very cool see-thru shower.) The breakfast buffet (included in my package) was extensive (Western and Chinese options available). There is free Wifi availabile in the lobby (or in your room if you are a Marriott rewards member). The lobby is very comfortable with lots of seating. The hotel is only 5 minute walk to the subway. So happy that I got to finish my trip here. My only complaint was that I had to pay to use the internet to print my boarding pass. Usually that service is free. However I give the Courtyard by Marriott a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sillycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room is nice and clean, and if you live in upper floors, the city view is actually very good. It's much better than the Courtyard in US.
However, the location is not really good. It's said it is very close to everywhere in the city center. but it is actually close to nowhere. It's between two subway stations, so no matter which station you choose, you need to walk very long. Within 1 miles, there is no large convenient stores, no fast food, no good restaurants. It's like a very beautiful and awesome oasis in a desert.
It's a nice choice for business trip, if you just want to stay and haul a taxi to somewhere else. It's not ideal for tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

After experiencing a bit of a mixed bag in other 4 and 5 star hotels around China - this was the first to fully meet expectations.

Friendly staff available at all times.

Room was spectacular - Super King, Desk, 42in TV, and a show-piece shower . internal glass walls mean that you could see from the toilet to the outside window (a fair distance in these vary large rooms) - but don't fear, there is an electrical operated blind available if you want to separate the bathroom from the rest of the room. The sheets are luxurious like a 1000 percale and the bed super comfortable

Breakfast offered a good choice of Chinese, Japanese and Western Style and was by far the best we had in China.

Also the best bar by far of all the Hotels I stayed in, in China - quick service and well made drinks. the pricing was a little odd as a double spirit with a mixer would set you back 120 Yuan (£12) but a cocktail like a Long Island Iced Tea (which contains 4 difference spirits), was just 60 Yuan (£6). I had my entire party drinking the the Long Island Ice Tea before long - thoroughly recommend.

And the one very minor down side. Just before midnight they call 'Last Orders' - You can't get a drink in the bar after midnight!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#30 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Grand Mercure Shanghai Central
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#21 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#38 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#24 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Shanghai Central

Property: Courtyard Shanghai Central
Address: NO. 338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing