We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Typical of a 5 star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Ranked #28 of 4,571 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Typical of a 5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Room is gorgeous. The bed is shioks... Very comfortable. The toilet is very clean n nice. Service staffs r great. Close to General amenities. Keep up he service ppl. Wifi is also a very strong plus. The availability of the variety of cafes to relax n chill is also good. I like java + ice cream...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    276
    48
    12
    4
See reviews for
97
137
66
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just a word: excellent. Free wifi in the common areas, located near to the metro (very useful), good breakfast, excellent rooms, very friendly staff, the room was big, clean and comfortable (with a very cool see-thru shower.) The breakfast buffet was extensive (Western and Chinese options available). Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvatore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey girl
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

After traveling around China for 11 days and staying in hotels with varying levels of comfort, it was such a joy to come to the Courtyard by Marriott. They have real air conditioning! While it was interesting seeing more local hotels, I was finally able to relax here. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were big, clean and comfortable (with a very cool see-thru shower.) The breakfast buffet (included in my package) was extensive (Western and Chinese options available). There is free Wifi availabile in the lobby (or in your room if you are a Marriott rewards member). The lobby is very comfortable with lots of seating. The hotel is only 5 minute walk to the subway. So happy that I got to finish my trip here. My only complaint was that I had to pay to use the internet to print my boarding pass. Usually that service is free. However I give the Courtyard by Marriott a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sillycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room is nice and clean, and if you live in upper floors, the city view is actually very good. It's much better than the Courtyard in US.
However, the location is not really good. It's said it is very close to everywhere in the city center. but it is actually close to nowhere. It's between two subway stations, so no matter which station you choose, you need to walk very long. Within 1 miles, there is no large convenient stores, no fast food, no good restaurants. It's like a very beautiful and awesome oasis in a desert.
It's a nice choice for business trip, if you just want to stay and haul a taxi to somewhere else. It's not ideal for tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

After experiencing a bit of a mixed bag in other 4 and 5 star hotels around China - this was the first to fully meet expectations.

Friendly staff available at all times.

Room was spectacular - Super King, Desk, 42in TV, and a show-piece shower . internal glass walls mean that you could see from the toilet to the outside window (a fair distance in these vary large rooms) - but don't fear, there is an electrical operated blind available if you want to separate the bathroom from the rest of the room. The sheets are luxurious like a 1000 percale and the bed super comfortable

Breakfast offered a good choice of Chinese, Japanese and Western Style and was by far the best we had in China.

Also the best bar by far of all the Hotels I stayed in, in China - quick service and well made drinks. the pricing was a little odd as a double spirit with a mixer would set you back 120 Yuan (£12) but a cocktail like a Long Island Iced Tea (which contains 4 difference spirits), was just 60 Yuan (£6). I had my entire party drinking the the Long Island Ice Tea before long - thoroughly recommend.

And the one very minor down side. Just before midnight they call 'Last Orders' - You can't get a drink in the bar after midnight!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Place is clean, nice and modern, and it is extremely convenient to get to town. Free wifi in the room if you have Marriott card and if you don't just apply online before you leave , its free to join anyway in order to avail free wifi in your room. Wine is very expensive in the lobby restaurant. Food is just average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megaflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Another stay with excellent value and service. Courtyard Puxi provided just what i was looking for once again: comfortable accommodations, excellent value and added feature of outstanding Executive Lounge. I was familiar with the location, having stayed there before, but metro access if just a quick 5 minute walk from hotel and you have all the access to major parts of Shanghai that you need via Line 1. Rooms are spacious with comfortable Marriott bedding, high-speed internet with good connectivity, and modern bathrooms with excellent facilities. Having Gold Elite status for lounge access only increases the value as breakfast at Momo Cafe or lounge is included, as well as all-day access to lounge with constant F&B presentations, including evening cocktails. Staff at the hotel, especially at Front Desk and Executive Lounge, is exceptional. I left behind a pair of expensive Bose headphones and with the help of PVG airline lounge staff was able to have Courtyard staff expedite to my next destination (though at an very costly price for express shipping - lesson learned!).

Room Tip: Executive Lounge rooms provide great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkb777300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!
With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#24 of 4,571 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#49 of 4,571 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#32 of 4,571 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#20 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing