We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding - This is what a 5 Star Hotel should be (mostly)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Ranked #28 of 4,573 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Outstanding - This is what a 5 Star Hotel should be (mostly)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

After experiencing a bit of a mixed bag in other 4 and 5 star hotels around China - this was the first to fully meet expectations.

Friendly staff available at all times.

Room was spectacular - Super King, Desk, 42in TV, and a show-piece shower . internal glass walls mean that you could see from the toilet to the outside window (a fair distance in these vary large rooms) - but don't fear, there is an electrical operated blind available if you want to separate the bathroom from the rest of the room. The sheets are luxurious like a 1000 percale and the bed super comfortable

Breakfast offered a good choice of Chinese, Japanese and Western Style and was by far the best we had in China.

Also the best bar by far of all the Hotels I stayed in, in China - quick service and well made drinks. the pricing was a little odd as a double spirit with a mixer would set you back 120 Yuan (£12) but a cocktail like a Long Island Iced Tea (which contains 4 difference spirits), was just 60 Yuan (£6). I had my entire party drinking the the Long Island Ice Tea before long - thoroughly recommend.

And the one very minor down side. Just before midnight they call 'Last Orders' - You can't get a drink in the bar after midnight!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    276
    48
    12
    4
See reviews for
97
137
66
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Place is clean, nice and modern, and it is extremely convenient to get to town. Free wifi in the room if you have Marriott card and if you don't just apply online before you leave , its free to join anyway in order to avail free wifi in your room. Wine is very expensive in the lobby restaurant. Food is just average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megaflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Another stay with excellent value and service. Courtyard Puxi provided just what i was looking for once again: comfortable accommodations, excellent value and added feature of outstanding Executive Lounge. I was familiar with the location, having stayed there before, but metro access if just a quick 5 minute walk from hotel and you have all the access to major parts of Shanghai that you need via Line 1. Rooms are spacious with comfortable Marriott bedding, high-speed internet with good connectivity, and modern bathrooms with excellent facilities. Having Gold Elite status for lounge access only increases the value as breakfast at Momo Cafe or lounge is included, as well as all-day access to lounge with constant F&B presentations, including evening cocktails. Staff at the hotel, especially at Front Desk and Executive Lounge, is exceptional. I left behind a pair of expensive Bose headphones and with the help of PVG airline lounge staff was able to have Courtyard staff expedite to my next destination (though at an very costly price for express shipping - lesson learned!).

Room Tip: Executive Lounge rooms provide great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkb777300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!
With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here the first week of September, fantastic room! Comfortable double-bed, lovely showers & toilet with a free bottle of water each day, very friendly and helpful staff from the cleaner to the concierge. The hotel has everything needed, a large lobby and bar area, swimming pool, gym and sauna with easy access by metro, taxi or bus to Shanghai's main areas.

As expected with these hotels, food and drink are not cheap (£5-£5.50 for 500ml of beer) but is of high quality and the breakfast is definitely recommended!

Overall a fantastic stay with no problems at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danjk93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here two nights. As other ,have posted, we opted for the upgrade to a suite with access to exec floor. The room was large with two toilets and a sitting area.. Great bed, I agree it was on the firmer side but fine. AC works well so you can get it comfortable.

We came in via train to Hangqiao and had no problem getting there in a taxi othewr than traffic - was about 80 RMB

The exec floor is great.... on a par with the higher end Marriotts. There is less table service but is is completely adequate. The breakfast buffet at the hotel is 158 RMB so the upgrade is well worth the 400 RMB charge when you consider the "happy hour" in the evening which can easily suffice as dinner. We had a simple lunch at the hotel when we arrived and it was 300 RMB...

Getting around for the hotel is easy - about 15 minutes to the Bund, ditto Yu Garden, no more than an hour to Hongqiao

We found catching taxis much easier here than Hangzhou and Beijing and everyone used the meter - definitely have wriiten down where you want to go and use the hotel card to return

As this was my first stay in an Asian Coutryard I was very impressed with the service level, friendliness and comfort. Would definitley stay there again!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tea_Meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

During the period we stayed, the hotel was running a special on suites that was too good to pass up, so this review specifically relates to the one-bedroom suite product. The special included access to the Executive Lounge on the top (30th) floor, which was a major benefit for us. Breakfast in the lounge was also included. One morning we tried the buffet breakfast in the MoMo Cafe, but much preferred the ambience of the Lounge. For Marriott Reward members, in-room wi-fi is free. Although slow, it was mostly adequate. We were never able to access Facebook, but that may be a regulation of the Chinese government. Wi-fi was also available in the Lounge, plus two nice desktop computers with printers. Other nice services of the lounge were free coffee, tea, and soft drinks,along with small dessert-type items all day. Happy hour runs from 5:30pm to 9:30 pm, with heavy hors d'oeuvres between 5:30 and 7:30. The free happy hour includes a generous selection of beer, wine, and hard liquor.

Our room was extremely quiet, except for some construction noise during the day. We were facing the back (away from Hengfeng Rd.) and being on the 29th floor was helpful in blocking most noise from the outside.

The suite was very nice, but the layout could have been better. For example, the closet was just inside the entry door, not very convenient to the bedroom. My wife and I had different feelings about the bed, as she tends to like an extremely firm mattress. I would say just that this was firmer than the beds typically found in higher end hotels. The duvet spread was very nice, but it's going to keep you extremely warm, so keep that in mind when setting the thermostat at bedtime.

We decided to take the MagLev train from Pudong airport. It was amazingly quiet, fast, very clean, and plenty of room to store your luggage. But keep in mind that it only goes to the Longyong Road Metro Station, which is still a pretty good distance from this hotel. Being a first-time visitor to China, and arriving after dark, I thought we'd be better off taking a taxi from Longyong Rd. The problem was that the taxi driver in the queue outside the station claimed his meter wasn't working and wanted to charge us 300 rmb (about $50). An uncomfortable argument ensued, and we agreed to pay 200 rmb. Remember, it was dark, the driver spoke almost no English and of course we didn't speak Chinese. They told me at the hotel the fare should have been closer to 50 rmb. At any rate, we used taxis several more times, and were always impressed with the reasonable prices compared to other places we've been. But do be prepared with a "taxi card" from the hotel concierge, because the drivers probably will not be able to speak English.

All in all, a very nice stay at the Courtyard Shanghai Puxi. (Pronounced something like pu-SHE, means "west of the river.")

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gpreston24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments on our room、 location and restaurent as well as staff service. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

When I checked out, I left my laptop computer behind in the hotel room.

By the time I realized it and called the hotel, they had already collected it and put it in a safe place. Over the next few days they did everything possible to sent it to my next hotel (a Marriott Renaissance) in Beijing. Needless to say, I am very appreciative of their help and this is one of the reasons I stay at Marriott properties far more than any other brand.

Leaving things behind in the room is easier to do than you think when you travel as much as I do. Something like this seems to occur about once every year or two. The laptop was right there in plain sight on the desk but I saw right past it. Last year I left valuables in the room safe.

I've tried various things like putting fluorescent tape on things like computer power supplies which are usually black and easy to overlook. Since last years debacle of leaving things behind in the room safe, I now include something in the safe that you can't leave without--like a dress shoe. This works for me because I am always wearing a uniform when I check out and its pretty hard to walk out with only one shoe on!

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: View out the back side is a construction site if that matters to you. Shanghai is not that pretty f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G4gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#23 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#50 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#32 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing