We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing service, the worst experience I got from a Marriott chain hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Ranked #29 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointing service, the worst experience I got from a Marriott chain hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

this is so far my most disappointing experience.

we were most frustrated by the attitude of the assistant manager, who was arrogant, rude and unprofessional. he did not honour his promise and never care about the guests at all.

staff are not knowledgeable and unhelpful. the requests made at time of bookings are all overlooked if not ignored.

we actually called ahead to confirm everything. but staff are just not knowledgeable and uncaring.

the worst experience i ever got from a Marriott chain hotel.

Room Tip: rooms away the lift are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelholicssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We appreciate your feedback on this website pertaining to your positive feedback on facilities during your stay with us. At Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectation on some parts and for this we extend our apology. Please feel free to contact with me if you have anything would like to share to hotel managment. We valued your comments and hotel are committed to providing you with the highest level of servcie.
Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    290
    50
    16
    4
See reviews for
105
150
71
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Reconfirming everything already written about this hotel. This was my 9th trip to Shanghai and this hotel now is on the top of my list. Probably the best hotel I've stayed at in China that almost all the staff spoke decent broken English at least.
Breakfast buffet probably the best selection of western type items I've seen so far. Upgrade to executive level well worth it.
New construction just breaking ground across the street and on the lot on the backside of the hotel. (Pictures submitted).
Not sure how that's going to be in the future as construction continues and how big of buildings are being constructed.
This hotel is not really near any of the tourist attractions like the Bund but its just a short cab ride away and it's cheap.
Hotel does a great job flagging down a cab for you. I would highly recommend this hotel and rate it a 4.5 star at the least and will be staying here again. I also appreciate the attention hotel management takes to respond to the post submitted.
Continue the great job Marriott

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cousinit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on March 31, 2013. The room was hugh and clean with a spacious toilet. There was no long-bath, just standing shower, which is what we like in hotels. The room had all the amenities which a traveller would require, such as a safe, coffee-making facility, flash-light, shampoo and bathing gel, slippers, security door-lock and many clothes hangers. We had breakfast at the Momo Cafe on the 2nd floor. The buffet had many choices of food including Chinese, Japanese, Korean and Western - all to our satisfaction. We did not attempt to take the metro as taxis were relatively cheap - you could go to many shopping places for 15 to 20 CNY.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SINtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

My tour group spent the first night of the tour and the last night at this Courtyard by Marriott. It was definitely better than a Courtyard in the US. More like a 4-5 star US standards. The room I stayed in was very clean and beds were comfortable. The room service was excellent. When I called down for ice for my swollen ankles it arrived within minutes. We had a full breakfast buffet included in our tour and it was a combination US and Asian breakfast. My only complaint was no one seems to know or understand how to cook an omelet that isn't watery. The fried egg was my preference and if they served hot oatmeal it would have helped. Even after an 11 day tour my stomach could not adapt to Chinese fare for breakfast.

My chief complain was the cigarette smell in the lobby. Even the restaurant had a smoking area which anyone who doesn't smoke will attest is basically useless. Although the room I stayed in seemed smoke free you still have to get to the elevators and through the lobby with a mask on if you are sensitive to smoke. Since I have asthma this is a definite health issue for me and I hope for future tourists No Smoking will be enforced for everyone's health.

Room Tip: Ask for a No Smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!
With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Courtyard by Marriott is a quality hotel offer, at excellent value, in an area devoid of much personality. The hotel nearest metro station is only a hundred metres or so,however, and line 1 takes you to the beautiful French Concession area, and Peoples Square, in only 3 stops. The nearby railway station is of course not the station the fast trains arrive and depart from.

For your money you get a large room, about 40 sqm, nicely renovated, extremely comfortable bed. The staff were adequate if uninspiring. One adverse point, is that the hotel is surrounded by building sites; there’s a large development diagonally opposite which will take a long time to complete, and the sites immediately to the rear of the hotel are cleared and ready to go at some point. Whilst we were there in March 2013, pile driving was taking place in the diagonally opposite development although our facing room was not badly affected.

Property fulfils its high rating on TA and can be recommended, if you’re not too concerned with the area but want a quality property at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briard8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

All the previous reviews are right on. The Courtyards in Asia are unlike the Courtyards in the States. They are more like 5 star hotels. We have stayed at Courtyards in Hong Kong and Beijing and now here in Shanghai. The Shanghai Puxi is a great hotel. The rooms are spacious and very modern. We stayed here on Marriott reward points (40,000 for 5 nights-a deal!). So when we got here we up graded for executive floor privileges for $50 per night more. It is well worth it. The upgrade includes daily breakfast either on the 30th floor Exe lounge with great views or the breakfast Buffett at the Momo Cafe on the second floor. The Momo Cafe breakfast Buffett had a huge selection of options. The upgrade also includes a daily happy hour from 5:30-9:30 pm with nice appetizers from 5:30-7/30 pm which is enough for a light dinner. The beverage choices for happy hour included top end liquors, beer, and wine. There is an afternoon tea that is also served. The upgrade is differently worth it. The service at this Courtyard is impeccable. Most of the staff at the front desk speak very good English. The only slight down side is that the hotel is two blocks from the line 1 subway but it gets you to People's Square in two stops. From there you can virtually get to anywhere in Shanghai. We would definitely stay here again when we return to Shanghai!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emptynest1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
814 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Compared to where I usually stay in Shanghai, this is a much better deal. This hotel is quite high-end but the price is not. The room was great with all the five-star amenities that one would expect. Service was also great and the concierge very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and had a good selection.
The subway is just a block away (two stations from People square and one station from the main train station). The hotel was very good in getting us taxis at any hour of the days. Definitely easier to get a taxi there than in Beijing.
At about $125 including tax and two breakfasts, this is an amazing deal. My new home in Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments on our room、 location and restaurent as well as staff service. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#22 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing