We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Ranked #29 of 4,457 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights in August & found the staff very friendly & had good English.I hadn't used all of the facilities, but for the ones I did use they were fine. It's not far from the city centre (approx 2.5km), so no need to get a taxi. I found this to be a pleasant stay & am returning next week for another 2 week stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We appreciate your feedback on this website pertaining to your positive feedback on facilities during your stay with us. At Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectation on some parts and for this we extend our apology. Please feel free to contact with me if you have anything would like to share to hotel managment. We valued your comments and hotel are committed to providing you with the highest level of servcie.
Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    266
    47
    12
    4
See reviews for
92
129
64
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed 6 nights in this modern Courtyard, late October 2012. Had time to use the gym, pool, and the lounge area on the 30th floor. Pool requires a "hat" to be worn but i never did (7am), but they never said anything. Theres a sign a hat must be worn but oh well. Gym/workout area is small but modern, clean, tv's, towels. Massage is available on the same floor as the gym.
Its a business hotel, not a place for families with kids maybe, not much around the hotel. Its way cheaper than staying near the Bund/Peoples Square, and way less traffic/people.

Nearest subway station is a easy 5 minute walk, "HuangZhong Road" station. Look both ways when crossing the road, ANYWHERE!!!
Excuse me if i spelled the station wrong, its near Shanghai Railway Station. Please check.

Rooms are comfy, showers nice, mine didnt have a tub. Its a good spot to stay for business travelers, wifi, free food for Marriott elite members, quite. Read the other reviews, but this place is worth the $, and its cheaper than the other Marriotts in town. Tipping in China is not common but tip the bellman, etc., and they'll help you if you're in a jam. Ahhhhh... I miss Shanghai!! Safe travels!

Room Tip: The surrounding area is not much of a view so a upper level room isn't necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAguy714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in this courtyard for over 30 nights in total in 2012. A 3 times in a row they have put me in the same room. I liked this facility. It's new and the location is descent. The executive lounge has a lot of snacks during the night. You don't have to go out for dinner even. The service at the lounge is pretty good.

However, I do notice their dessert quality for afternoon tea is decreasing. And the pool requires you to buy a hat from the service desk to be able to swim inside while other hotels in shanghai don't ask for. The gym staffs know nothing about service, cold and rude.

Overall, it's a good business hotel with slightly cheaper cost in shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We appreciate your feedback on this website pertaining to your positive feedback on club lounge and facilities during your stay with us. At Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectation on some parts and for this we extend our apology. and according to the public swimming pool regulartion in shanghai, wearing hat when people swimming is sanitary and safe, thank you for your understanding. Please feel free to contact with me if you have anything would like to share to hotel managment. We valued your comments and hotel are committed to providing you with the highest level of servcie.

SilviaXu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
277 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is the nicest Courtyard I've ever seen! It's got to be at least 4 stars if not 5 and much nicer than I was expecting. Great location. Excellent staff - all speak good English. Breakfast was very nice and the room was big, clean and comfortable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaXu, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay.We look forward to your return!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We checked into this Courtyard by Marriott after a bad experience at another hotel. It is located on a busy street near the Shanghai train station and within good proximity of some of the major shopping districts. From the start, the staff was gracious, efficient, and accommodating. The lobby is inviting and well staffed. English was spoken by enough of them to enable them to be especially helpful. Getting a room on an upper, non-smoking room at a reasonable rate was not problematic. The king room was clean, bright, and nicely furnished, though I would have preferred a comfortable recliner to the modern-looking seat. Sufficient storage was provided for someone staying four nights. Climate control was easy to regulate. A large selection of television stations included a good sample of English language stations. The shower stall was extra large with great water flow, though the bathroom could have used one or two hooks for towels. The only real negative features were very slow wifi during much of the day and a refrigerator that did not keep items very cold. Overall, the stay was pleasant and I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neponset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyJiangSan, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi. I hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our property and that this message finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding what you enjoyed during your stay. I do appreciate for your compliment comments on our room、 location and restaurent as well as staff service. In fact, our location is also good,only minutes walking to Shanghai Railway Station and metro line 1, 3 &4. A number of city attractions are with easy access, only 10 minutes to Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple and People Square. 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 60 minutes to Pudong International Airport.

We look forward to your return! Until then, please feel free to contact us with any further questions, comments or concerns!

With kind regards,

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communications manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
332 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is an excellent hotel near the railway station and a number of shopping malls and restaurants, and not far by taxi to the Bund and Downtown. The staff are friendly and speak good English. The rooms are large and modern with firm, comfortable beds, good double glazing, air conditioning and pleasant bathrooms with good products, a make up mirror and an effective hairdryer. Breakfast is really good with lots of fresh juices, freshly baked bread and pastries, Western and Chinese style hot food and reasonable coffee. They also have a decent sized though shallow swimming pool, a bonus after a day's sightseeing, you'll need a swimming hat though the hotel do provide them. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyJiangSan, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We appreciate your feedback on this website pertaining to your positive feedback on staff and facilities during your stay with us. At Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectation on some parts and for this we extend our apology. Please feel free to contact with me if you have anything would like to share to hotel managment. We valued your comments and hotel are committed to providing you with the highest level of servcie.


Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This location was easy to find via subway from the airport, and is within walking distance of the train station which will take you to other parts of China. The subway system is easy to understand and clean, and an efficient way to get to tourist sites, such as the Bund, Yu Gardens, Nanjing Road, French Connection, etc. Hotel staff are pleasant and helpful, we were immediately upgraded as gold members and the concierge services were good. Pleasant stay, comfortable, quiet room. While we had problems with internet connection, the front desk sent someone up with a rooter to give us easy access from our room. I would select this location again. Not many dining options nearby, we went a few stops on the subway and found lots of options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyJiangSan, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Greetings from the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

Thank you for your feedback on your visits to the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Puxi!

We are delighted to read of your positive comments on our facilities、food and location and we are so happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future!

Kind regards

Silvia Xu
Marketing Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#21 of 4,457 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#26 of 4,457 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#32 of 4,457 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Grand Mercure Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Address: NO. 338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing