We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Ranked #16 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is our third stay in Courtyard Puxi. They do treat the Marriott Elite members well, twice we were upgraded to suites and once to club level room.

But really I like this hotel for it's perfect balance of room, available services, location and price.

The rooms are contemporary with enough storage space and mirrors. As a frequent traveller, I really appreciate the full size safe (that fits a laptop or DSLR camera), numerous hangers for coat, jackets, pants for two and ample bench space in the bathroom.

The location is near the Shanghai Railway station and about 5 mins walk from the nearest subway station (Hanzhong Lu station on Line 1). If you prefer taxi, taxis are plenty and it's a short drive onto the elevated roads which fast tracks you to your destination around Shanghai. This is very important as you don't want to be stuck in traffic, which you can easily do if you pick the wrong hotel.

Since our last visit, they have massage/spa service which may appeal to some travellers. The in-room dining menu is 24 hours but choices are limited. I think this is an improvement area as the items we ordered (club sandwich and wonton soup) were either lacked flavor or not at the right temperature.

The breakfast selection was good, with enough western and Japanese choices, however the presentation is very average.

With all the positives and negatives combined, I still think it represents good value as it is consistently one of the cheapest Marriott group hotels in Shanghai. For experienced and mid-range travellers like myself, I have yet to find a better alternative in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 876 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

The rooms were modern, although the glass wall separating the shower from the main room isn't for everyone (however, you can close the shades between the glass for privacy). The options of food for breakfast were vast and quite tasty: waffle station, noodle station, cheeses (yes, in China!), fruit, omelets, buns/dumplings, etc. You cannot leave wanting more! The hotel is a great location from the subway and the train station (eg, to Suzhou, Nanjing, etc.), although getting back to the hotel by taxi is challenging if you do not speak Chinese. We took taxis back to the hotel at night (about Y24 ($4 USD) every time), none of which knew where the hotel was, even with our seemingly clear map and directions that the hotel provide. Ask the concierge to write better directions (eg, 2 blocks south of Shanghai Railway Station) on the directions card in Chinese to show to the driver.

Room Tip: Free wi-fi for Marriott Rewards members: just give the front desk your number (sign-up online for fr...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajklink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Don't compare Courtyard in US, it is more like high class Marriott hotel (better than most Marriott hotel in US). I use Marriott hotel about 150 days a year (most in US) and used the point to stay in this hotel in Shanghai for personal pleasure trip. I was not expecting much since it is Courtyard but it is better than most Marriott hotel in US. Their VIP lounge (30th floor) was exceptional (nice view to the city). They have both Asian style and American style food. Room is big, clean, high-end modern style furniture and my wife and I really liked dual shower head in the shower. Located only 1 block from metro station (Hanzhong station - Line 1) and only 2 stops to People's Square (Nanjing Road) Easy to get taxi as well. From the airport we took taxi and cost us about 250 Yuan to the hotel. You can also take metro to airport and it would only cost you 30 Yuan ($4).

Room Tip: High floors for the view
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuhnsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were assigned to this Courtyard Marriott Hotel Puxi as part of our tour package.....but glad we were. It is a very modern, large, and clean hotel. It is about two blocks from the Shanghai metro (subway) station (Han Zhong - Line 1). From there, it is two stops to the People's Square (and Shanghai Museum)....and another transfer stop (to Line 2- Nanjing Station) to the Bund. Subway cost is less than $1.00US.

The buffet breakfast is a feast. If you enjoy eating, you shouldn't rush through this (plan at least an hour). They offer Asian (congee, sushi, dim sum, noodles, etc.) and Western (omelet station, waffle station, fresh fruits, pastries, etc and much more) foods, and many beverages.

The lobby is spacious, including seating areas and a free internet section (4 computers and printer). Front desk is friendly and helpful with directions....with very good English speaking skills.

The rooms are also spacious, clean and comfortable. There is a good size flat screen television and small safe. The bathroom has an odd design: the shower, sink area, and toilet is completely viewable from the bedroom side through a floor to ceiling window. There IS a motorized curtain that will lower the full length with the push of a button.....(you might want to make sure it works).

Room rates seem reasonable enough that I would consider staying here if not on a tour package.

Room Tip: I thought all Marriott hotels were non-smoking....but apparently, they DO allow smoking in some area...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Optoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed here with friends visiting China and it was ideal for travelers on a budget (they somehow managed to stay here for really cheap, due to a TravelZoo deal.) The morning breakfast was a fully stocked eastern/western buffet, gym was everything you would want, and a very nice pool. It's right around the corner from the subway and train station, and not too far away from most major Shanghai attractions. Nice rooms, great stay. Only complaint is that concierge knew nothing about local tourist options other than pre-packaged tours.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mightyelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Busy area but local transportation is at your fingertips and so is Mcdonald's, Starbucks and KFC. On every other corner I must say. The buffet breakfast was great and the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 18 (!) consecutive nights since I was booked here by my customer which office is near the hotel. The corporate rate they had was really good value for what the hotel had to offer (less than 600 rmb per night).

The hotel is only 1 year old and is the largest Courtyard Marriott in China (and 3rd largest in the world). The entrance hall is very modern and nice. Everything is still new of course. The staff were friendly but I can imagine if you don't speak Mandarin their English is not always adequate.

As a Marriott Gold member I got free access to the executive lounge which was nice, certainly now that I was staying for more than 2 weeks. The rooms are well designed and large. Great and large bathroom with rainshower and nice amenities. The room is well appointed, large king size bed and the iPod player is a nice add-on. Wifi was free for me as a Gold member and is relatively stable, which in China is quite an accomplishment.

There is a gym, small pool and a massage room. The gym is nice and has good equipment. Everything one needs to do a good workout.

The executive lounge is quite large, has a nice sitting area with flatscreen TV and comfortable sofas and then there is an area where you can sit and try out the different snacks. I always had breakfast in the general Momo Cafe, but at nights there were canapes and desserts. Selection was limited but food was fairly OK. Staff is also quite friendly.

Breakfast is nice as well, good spread, certainly for a Courtyard Marriott and quality is decent.

The location of the hotel is in a not so great neighbourhood. It is close to the Shanghai Railway Station and subway stop is a few minutes walk away. People's Square and Nanjing Road are only 5 min taxi drive away (or 3 stops by subway). I must say that the fact that there is nothing to do in the area is probably the biggest disadvantage.

A few minor points:
- It is clear that some of the staff are better trained than others. I had quite a few staff look at me weird when I asked them something and it had nothing to do with the language barrier (I speak Mandarin). It was clear they didn't really know how to react on requests properly or didn't know what to do. This being said, most of the staff were very friendly and professional, so it might even be a few newcomers.

- What I didn't like at all is whenever you come out of the hotel at night in front of the hotel there are a few shady young people immediately jumping up to offer you nice girls and massage... It was quite unpleasant and I was quite surprised that Marriott would allow this right in front of their hotel. They should definitely do something about this I believe.

Despite these minor points, I had a good stay and would definitely recommend this place to both private and business travellers. It is a nice hotel, the value is very good and despite staying in a Courtyard Marriott, it absolutely feels like more than that.

Room Tip: Higher floors have quite nice views. Also make sure to ask for non smoking rooms if you are not a sm...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Limshang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#59 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,732 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#12 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Address: No.338 Hengfeng Road, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Courtyard Shanghai Puxi)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $98 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the commercial centre of Shanghai Jingan District, the Jingan District is an ideal destination for business and leisure. The Metro line 1, 3, 4, 12, 13 just 200 meter from hotel, take you to the Shanghai Railway Station, Yu Garden, Tian Zi Fang, Shanghai Museum of Natural History, Nanjing Road West, Jing An Temple, and People's Square. In addition, hotel is just 30 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport and 50 minutes from Pudong International Airport. Guests will enjoy spacious accommodations featuring well-lit desks, high-speed Internet, in-room safes and mini-bars, as well as a 30th-floor Executive Lounge with panoramic skyline views. To satisfy your craving, our MoMo cafe, MoMo 2 Go and lounges offer coffee, cocktails and casual dining throughout the day. Jump-start your day in our 24-hour fitness center, unwind in our indoor heated pool. To meet with clients in our state-of-the-art event facilities will lead you to focus on a successful session. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Puxi Marriott Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing