We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my worst hotel experiences anywhere, ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zhangjiang Mercure Hotel
Ranked #2,414 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I arrived at the "hotel" at 20:30 and was lulled into a false sense of security by the room which was spacious and well-appointed. I found the room-service menu which was limited in the extreme and called down for a sandwich. Nothing available. Service stops at 20:00.

An "International" 4-star hotel in Shanghai in the 21st. Century where it is impossible to even get a simple sandwich and a glass of beer after 20:00? Where beer is not actually available?? Where the even the minibar is just an empty hole???

I went to vent my spleen on the duty manager who eventually said there might be some food in the restaurant but when we entered it was to find numerous members of staff sitting around, feet up on the chairs and smoking. Under no circumstances would I have eaten here even if food had been available. Which it wasn't.

Next thing, no wifi in the rooms and then when you think things cannot get any worse, no international television channels either.

Even accepting that this is a hotel out on an industrial park does not forgive these standards. Foreigners travelling to do business in Shanghai should be impressed not depressed.

This is not an "International" hotel, it is not close to being 4-star and it is most certainly not a good advert for the great modern international city of Shanghai or for 21st. century China.

Absolutely terrible.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel and travel to and from the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xmroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 31 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

MARGINAL: This Chinese hotel is located in an industrial technology park midway from the airport to the downtown area. You're not likely to stay here unless you have specific business nearby. Sans a small coffee shop and mini-mart, there is nothing within walking distance. You may find it difficult to get a taxi to this location.

The hotel itself is relatively new and the front desk staff were relatively friendly and spoke moderate English. However, they are not adjusted to western requests and thus lacked some international elements.

The property appeared in good condition and of modest quality (Courtyard level). Rooms were nicely appointed. Free wired Internet and desk area. However, the TV lacked any int'l channels. Bedding was comfortable and lighting adequate. The bathroom was nicely tiled and decent size but lighting was quite dim. There is tea/coffee service in the room, but no ironing facilities (I assume I could have called for press my suit).

The restaurant should be avoided at all costs. It's not expensive but clearly not serving to western or even higher level asian standardsl. It was a "free for all" at breakfast. Basically, too few seats and too many patrons.

Having said that, the staff did indeed try and were polite, they simply don't know what the modern world requires.

Would I stay here again? NO. While the price was inexpensive (~$70/night), I would opt for a downtown hotel and pay more. If, however, I was forced to stay here again would I freak out? Well ni, the room itself was fine and of modern std and for 1 night would be fine, longer though and I'd be searching for other accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a few times - it is very conveniently located for my work. The hotel is modern, well appointed and comfortable - the rooms are very good, big and comfortable, with an excellent shower. The only problem with tis hotel is the breakfast. The breakfast is a mixture of chinese and western, which is fine, but when the hotel is busy, the brakfast room is too small so finding a place to eat can be difficult. Also, the staff are sometimes a little slow at refilling whatever is needed. However, despite the limitations of breakfast, the other aspects of the hotel are good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salthound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: mettez des boules quies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QEVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed August 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed November 19, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,842 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#33 of 5,160 in Shanghai
2,451 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhangjiang Mercure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhangjiang Mercure Hotel

Address: No.1500 Keyuan Road, Zhangjiang Hi-Tech Park District, Shanghai 201204, China (Formerly Guoji Rencaicheng Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhangjiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,414 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $57 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zhangjiang Mercure Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Zhangjiang Mercure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing