We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place alternative travel”

Zhujiajiao Ancient Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Zhujiajiao Ancient Town and Night Luxury Cruise Tour with Dinner in Shanghai
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Zhujiajiao Water Village Half Day Tour from Shanghai
More Info
$99.00*
and up
All-Inclusive Private Day Trip: Zhujiajiao Ancient Water Town and Shanghai...
Ranked #22 of 1,320 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Zhujiajiao is an ancient water town also known as the "pearl stream." Best known for its bridges, built during Ming and Qing Dynasties, the various spans are built of wood, marble and stone.
California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
1,157 reviews
389 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Nice place alternative travel”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The tour bus charges HK$200 for a half a day trip.
We checked the postings and took the underground number 2 to the end of the line past honggiad airport station. name: east xuing this is away from pudong international airport. Exit number 4 and taxi stand to the left around 130HK$ one way including toll road charge to the center of the attraction. We walked around the river banks and had a nice lunch at one of the many restaurants located on the water.
There is also a supermarket next to kfc the boats charge a flat rate 65 or 125 depends on the length of the trip up to 6 people. Lots of shopping most stuff is overpriced. Return we took a bicycle ride for HK$10 for 2 people to the bus station and the bus ride was 2 hours back to people's square for 9 yen per person. Nice strawberries where for sale at the station too. It was a nice trip if you stay at least 3 nights . MeuterMedia

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    531
    171
    37
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Worth the trip but a little commercialized”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

An alternative way to get there instead of the bus is to take metro line 2 , to the end 3 stops passed the airport, then take a cab ride . These are cheaper than in Shanghai. Although more expensive than a bus this is a quicker way if you have not got much time ( an hour each way). Remember to get your destination written in Chinese for the taxi driver ( as always !!) Personally there is not that much in Shanghai to visit as a tourist but this is a good trip to take and if you have the time go to the torist office for a guided tour. If not (or both) hop on a boat and drift along the ancient waterways. Admittedley nearly all the buildings are tourist shops but it has charm. You can still see some local flavour in the food shops and the restaurants over the water are nice.
So if you are in Shanghai on business and have an afternoon to spare this will give you a real flavour of China. If you like pearls or want a present they are cheap hear , a natuarl pearl necklace is just 120 RMB and yes they can prove they are real ! Just look for the shop with the oysters in water tanks outside.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KWokB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting but expensive”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We came to the village with a guide in the afternoon, in the evening. There was no crowds of tourists and we were able to calmly walk over bridges and streets, ride on a boat. In the evening we sat in the empty cafe on the canal and drinking green tea. Villagers continue a normal life without the tourists. The old ladies were talking in front of the house, residents preparing food in balconies
The place is fun, but expensive tour. High prices in the cafe. Simple green tea from 80 to 100 yuan for a small kettle

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rika59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Venice of Shanghai ???”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have been told in the past that Saint Petersburg is the Venice of the North. I've found it to be an overstatement (I have worked and lived in Saint Petersburg). I have also worked and lived in Italy & have been to Venice many, many times. This time I have been told that Zhujiajiao is the Venice of Shanghai and the confrontation was also not in favor of that sleepy suburban little town on the water. You would need to invest 4 hours in visiting Zhujiajiao (2.5 hours for a round trip from Shanghai and 1.5 hour for a visit; without a lunch). Is it worth it ?. I do not think so !!!. The little town is not really all that bad, but if you are a tourist visiting Shanghai for a 3 - 4 day stop; than it is not worth the trip and the time. Look at couple of pictures taken by me and judge for yourself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JanuszRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thousand years old water village mixing with some hip tea house”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Since it's just less than 1 hr bus ride from SH, so my boyfriend and I just went there for an afternoon. The bus was easy to find, 12rmb per ride. I'd say the water village is a giant tour spot with tons of souvenir shop. Not very much to visit in fact. Maybe because I have been to Wuzhen before, so same place to me. But the special part is the nice hip tea house along the river. It's quite pricey but the quiet river plus the nice balcony view on the river was a really great experience. A little bit bad memory at the end was the messy return bus to SH. The bus was supposed to come every 10-20 mins. At the end, however, we had to stand for 1 hr before we can get on the bus. Overall, it was still a nice getaway place if you are living in SH. P.S. A lot of stinky tofu around.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carysik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zhujiajiao Ancient Town also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Zhujiajiao Ancient Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing