We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel in the South Bund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterhouse At South Bund
Ranked #201 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel in the South Bund”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We loved this hotel. It was clean and stylish and upon arriving early we were given an upgrade that was bigger than our flat in London.

The views were incredible and the open plan bathroom and rain shower were stunning.

The layout and design of this hotel is inspiring.

The service was good and most of the staff speak very good English. The breakfast was also very good and you can order anything you want off the a la cart menu.

So happy we chose The Waterhouse and I thought the location was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DomSansalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    30
    17
    15
    6
See reviews for
5
51
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Maybe not the most central location but the astonishing architecture was worth every step untill there. The bar on the rooftop is one of the best spots in town, with a magnificient view on the river and Pudong. Rooms were great with integrated bathtub in the floor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed one night at the Waterhouse. My husband and I had business obligations the next morning but wanted to stay in a design-oriented, original hotel in the city.

The design itself is very stylish, but not so functional. A lot of concrete makes for noisy halls in the night when people in high heels run by - not the best if you're looking for some serious rest. It was getting chilly and our room had a huge draft coming in from the bacony glass doors.

What really surprised us was the level of service. In the restaurant at breakfast, it was great. However at the front desk, we felt like we were bothering the staff more than anything whenever we had a request, which was really disappointing.

The café near the lobby, however, is a nice place to settle down for a drink at the end of the day.

If you're into design solely, go for it, however if you're looking to feel welcomed, not the best place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciEunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Fundamentally, this hotel is very cool. A former Japanese army barrack, the building has been creatively re-imagined by Shanghai "starchitects" Neri & Hu. The hotel balances some of the building's remaining grit with terrific modern finishes and design. The rooms vary in style and size. I stayed in 18B, a decent sized room that faced the courtyard. The room was quiet and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms are appointed with top design furniture and excellent towels and linens. The shower and bath are behind dark, see-through glass. This was fine and cool. However, the decision to put the toilet also behind see the through glass was a poor one. Sometimes, privacy is desired. See-through shower glass: sexy. See-through toilet class: awkward (if not solo).

SERVICE: The service at the hotel wasn't great. For such a high-end, thoughtful design effort, the hotel staff's service didn't match. They seemed more interested in doing work non-associated with helping guests. They weren't horrible, just not great. The hotel could do with a concierge to lift the service level to match the design.

LOCATION: Located on the south part of the Bund as its name suggests, there's not much nearby of interest. I stayed in three different neighborhoods during two weeks in Shanghai and this was my least favorite location. There's a Starbucks and a few restaurants across the street but not much after that. Pretty much all other interesting spots in Shanghai will require a LONG walk or a taxi ride, Luckily, walking is easy and taxis are cheap in Shanghai.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amirrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Waterhouse has some amazing assets: One of the top foreign fusion restaurants in town (Table No1, with Jason Atherton), a really cool trash-chic design, one of the best roof-top terraces overlooking the bund and its location - while atypical - can be convenient depending on where one needs to be and is just next to the lively restaurant area of the cool docks. First visitors will no doubt enjoy the experience. On the other hand, there are some flagrant design flaws in the rooms (I don't want to spoil the surprise but one hint: 'hanging clothes'). Another I'll just say outright: While having glass doors for the toilet with a certain area opaque probably looks great in a hotel design mag, somewhere someone didn't really think this through...Plus other parts of the room feel cramped. Fine if solo but double should be better for the price. Finally, most importantly, the service was awful and the place felt utterly mismanaged. I wouldn't raise this in other places where service has been far, far worse but at this level, which you pay for hence expect, the lack of professionalism is not acceptable. I no longer recommend it unless travelers have an arty slant; and even then...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My partner and I booked a room here for a short break, he lives in Beijing and I in shanghai. Both being resident we knew we had to boring documentation and had called ahead to check what was needed. We took along copies as told to. On arrival the person serving insisted this wasn't enough and we couldn't check in. We asked to see the manager but was told there was no manager or duty staff on this day as it was their rest day. We stood to lose the entire 1600 booking because of their lack of communication. I then had to take a taxi over to the over side of shanghai to collect documents needed only for them to copy them! Mean while my partner decided to wait for a drink, no barman! Room was amazing but if they can't even master the simple things people will not even enter the door. Had we already no already prepaid we would have walked out there and then. To top it all at breakfast we were served with mouldy bread, i am sure the world accredited chef Atherton would not approve! If they can train staff to be polite, reliable and to communicate properly with each other as well as customers this place would be great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beijingbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian Y, Manager at The Waterhouse At South Bund, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Beijingbish,

Thank you very much for your treasurable comment to Waterhouse.

We do apologize for your unhappy experience in our hotel. Meanwhile, we have already looked into the encounters that you have had and will make sure that proper training are carried out to improve our standards and services.

For the front desk staff's insistency in your documentation for the check-in, please allow us to explain that it is regulated by the Chinese government for every hotel, so in order to make sure the safety and security of you and other guests we must implement. Hope you could understand.

Again, we really appreciate your feedback that we can improve on our shortfalls, we do hope you could give us an opportunity to welcome you back to a better hotel.

Thank you,

The Waterhouse at South Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

one of the coolest places i've ever been to. absolut unique design. great view to pudong skyline. the restaurant is quite good and the service perfect. this boutique or design hotel is absolutely unique in shanghai and you'd maybe expect something like this in ny, but not shanghai.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasistdertobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
South Bund
Wanda Reign on the Bund
Wanda Reign on the Bund
#109 of 4,998 in Shanghai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#45 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#33 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterhouse At South Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterhouse At South Bund

Property: The Waterhouse At South Bund
Address: No.1-3 Maojiayuan Road, Shanghai 200011, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#171 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#198 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterhouse At South Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterhouse At South Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterhouse At South Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing