We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to be pampered.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week for 4 nights.It was selected because we had enjoyed our stay at the Waldorf in New York many years before and the brand name is synonymous with luxury and service.We were not disappointed on both levels.The hotel lived up to all our expectations.It was beautifully appointed and the service was excellent.The concierge was particularly helpful in the matter of restaurants,directions and day tours.We booked a room with a river view which I recommend.The river has interesting boat traffic complimented by lights at night on the adjacent buildings.The position of the hotel is great with interesting restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Room Tip: Deluxe river view rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prudence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write your heartfelt review. We are delighted with your wonderful comments of our hotel as well as our service, and thank you for your compliments of our Concierge Team. We hope to see you again in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was very surprised at how friendly the staff were and the effortless check in process. During my stay, the staff were very friendly and attended to all my needs. I would strongly recommend this hotel as a place to stay and totally relax.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Theo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was so attentive to your needs. I truly appreciate your recommendation and I hope that you will stay with us again.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wonderful hotel with a great staff. When we arrived hungry, the gentleman, Michael at the concierge (who spoke English thankfully) recommended a noodle/ dumpling restaurant down the street. We seemed confused as to where it was. He got that right away and walked us to the place and even ordered for us and waited there until our food was ready! Now that's beyond good service! The room was very nice and hotel was in a great location. Only small thing that wasn't great for us was that the buffet breakfast was very expensive for the 4 of us and went elsewhere to eat. They did give us a very nice cup of complimentary coffee though and milk for my kids which was appreciated!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and for your compliments of our hotel as well as our service. We appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast price and we will look for opportunities to competitive pricing for our guests in this important area. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Now this is what I call a hotel. The rooms and very large and well appointed, and many have great views of the Pudong new area. The public spaces are immaculate, and the service never missed a beat. I agree with a previous reviewer that this is more of a "real" Waldorf than the tired flagship in New York. I recommend having a drink in the Long Bar, which is like taking a trip back in time to old Shanghai (for good or ill). If I have one quibble, it's that hooks for robes/towels were too far from the shower, but this is a common problem in hotels. Overall, though, I could not be more pleases with my stay at the Waldorf Shanghai. Well done!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Pudong (preferably on a high floor).
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NycWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel and our service. Our landmark Long Bar is indeed a good place for relax, this venue is rated as The Best Bar in Shanghai. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed 2 nights following a cruise. We had an upgrade to a deluxe river view room which was exceptional in terms of quality, comfort, amenities and size. We both consider the property to be the most spectacular we have stayed in on our travels. Staff in the hotel couldn't be more helpful and everyone you encounter has a ready smile and pride in their work. Breakfast was amazing, lots of things on offer, whatever your taste or preference. Free internet was a welcome bonus. In terms of location, the hotel is central to the downtown area and the Bund for sightseeing and shopping. If you are spending some time in Shanghai you would be hard pressed to better this establishment.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room - at night the view is spectacular
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel location, room amenities, our breakfast as well as our services. The view from our river view rooms and suites are indeed most spectacular. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Shanghai Waldorf, comparing with the old Waldorf of New York, is what a real Waldorf should be. Waldorf Shanghai is one of tge only two five-star hotels located on the historical Bund. In fact, the hotel is composed of two buildings, one the old historical Chamber of Commerce on the Bund, and another newly built tower behind it. The guest rooms are mostly in the new building, spacious and well decorated with marbles and chandelier. The lobby is also well decorated with impressive chandelier, marbles, and china. The services are also good. Check-in and out are a breeze.
I was there to attend a wedding, which was held at the banquet hall located at the old building. The hall has many balconies overlooking the Bund, and is nicely decorated in colonial style. The food, however, could be better.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank VTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel property as well as our services. We also appreciate your constructive comments of the food and we will share it with our culinary team for further improvement. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife & I spent 4 nights in the amazing property and were never disappointed. Had a difficult time deciding between the WA and the Peninsular and went with the Waldorf based on a friends recommendation. So glad we did. Fro the moment we were met at the front door by the staff to the moment we left to go to Hong Kong there wasn't a thing we could have asked for that was not first class. We were lucky enough to have a room with a spectacular view of the Bund & Poudong. The amenities in the room and throughout the hotel were all 5 star. We are used to staying at Ritz-Carlton's, Four Seasons, and Peninsular properties all over the world and this we up there with the best of them. Would stay there again and highly recommend.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the Bund is preferred.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you very much for your great review. We are so pleased that you ranked Waldorf Astoria Shanghai as The Best Hotel throughout the world, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our amenities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,111 in Shanghai
2,008 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#7 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#185 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $297 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing