We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cambs. UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Colonial Luxury”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Take yourself back to the 1930's , whilst having everything you would wish for in the 21st century. It almost felt like a privilege to be allowed to stay.
If I had to make a criticism , the main bar closes too early. When you are paying that much, you expect to return to the hotel around 1 am and still get a drink.
But don't let that stop you. If you are staying in Shanghai, give it a try.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your compliments and recommendation of Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again on your next visit to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    156
    41
    17
    10
See reviews for
217
413
90
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

When I checked in the room, I found a big pile of dirty laundry on baggage rack. It‘s clearly from previous stay. It's was picked up after I called for assistant, but no apologize in any kind from hotel, it seems this is very normal thing to happen here. But i am sorry, this is disgusting! Hair dryer doesn’t work in the bath room, have to move it to bed room, not a 5 stars hotel standard to me. won't be back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
4 Thank Liang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Ms. Liang,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share with us your comments following your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai.

We regret learning about your disappointing experience with us that is absolutely unacceptable and certainly does not reflect the service standards we pursue.

Our Floor supervisor checked the room prior to your arrival and found that the bed sheets were not properly placed. The request was made to our room attendant to change the sheet. This was done however forgotten was to remove the replaced sheet. We can assure you that the linen left behind was a clean bed sheet and certainly not of the previous guest. Needless to say that the replaced bed sheet should have been removed by our team member. This is definitely not a "normal thing" to happen and we would like to treat this as an isolated case.

Ms. Liang, we do value your response as it is through them that we are able to further improve our service standards and facilities. We hope you will reconsider staying with us so we can show you the True Waldorf Service we practice.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK USA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of hotels worldwide, and this has to be one of the best. From the time you are quickly checked in and escorted to your room, until a very efficient checkout, you are cared for in every way.

Due to my husband's hilton honor status, we were upgraded to a junior suite. A huge bedroom with walkin closet, a private study (which is very handy when one party can't sleep), and a very high tech bath with electronic toilet. Everything controlled by an electronic master controller. Completely quiet.

Breakfast was a lavish buffet of Chinese as well as western. If you can't find something to love there, you are way to picky.

The whole place is spotlessly clean, and if you even look confused for a second, someone is right there to help you.

I will definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Feistyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments of Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. We are so proud to be ranked as one of the best hotels in the world and we truly appreciate your compliments of our hotel facilities, breakfast as well as our services. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stunning. Beautiful. Fills the eyes fully. Truly are no words to properly describe our quick stay.
Used points. Shopped the world, literally, for most beautiful hotel to use our points. This was our pick after 100s of reviews. And it delivered perfectly. Class. Pure class.
Huge picture window overlooking The Bund was icing on the cake.
Here is all you need to know... There is no reason to view photos posted by reviewers. The 'professional photos' are the real deal. Period.
As Hilton Gold, breakfast and wifi included.
Breakfast was indulgent.
Staff all first class.
Hotel is on The Bund. Not near, on. Of course you won't want to leave your room!
Enjoy!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. We appreciate your high esteem of our hotel property, breakfast as well as our services, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Waldorf Astoria on the Bund was a fantastic experience for our conference.. The Herotage wing with Long Bar was wonderful, however, the new wing offered panaromic view of entore bund area, and pudong skyline across the Huangpu river.. the BEST way to experience Shanghai !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for allowing us to host your conference at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. We are delighted that you had a fantastic experience and we look forward to being a part of your future unforgettable moments.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The building is beautiful. There seems to be 1:1 staff to guest ratio. Breakfast buffet is one of the very best (like Intercontinental in Hong Kong), especially on Sunday. Had connecting rooms for kids (teenagers) on high floor. Bathroom - well you just have to see it to believe it. You won't want to go back to your own! The chocolates and pastries and fruit in the rooms every day were top of the line. Having Saratoga water in China was funny (but great). The staff goes above and beyond. They bought tickets for us in advance, handled Hilton advantage issues and were just perfect in every way.

Room Tip: High floor, view of Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDPTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your great comments on our hotel building, room facilities and amenities as well as our services. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was my first time in Shanghai and what a treat to stay at the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund. What a great location. We had a small room and it was wonderful...spacious, beautifully decorated. Drinks in the Long Bar after dinner "Old Shanghai" charm and luxury. Staff were fantastic and the Hotel was happy for us to have a late check out. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: If you could afford a suite....there are 20 in the old part of the hotel I am sure they are fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for staying at Waldorf Astoria on your first visit in Shanghai. We are so pleased to be regarded as the best hotel on the Bund. Thank you again for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon again!


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,902 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,155 reviews
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,059 in Shanghai
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#177 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing