We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Came twice now to the Waldorf in Shanghai. Location is excellent, rooms are spacious, decorated with a lot of taste and have all the latest gadgets that you need

Was upgraded into a suite on my second stay and the view was very nice

Breakfast is what you would expect in such a nice hotel with lots of choices of excellent quality

Only small comment is Long Bar was a bit quiet the time I went in (a Tuesday) but service was great

Highly recommended hotel


Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank caribu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for staying at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai for the second time. We are delighted with your compliments of our hotel location, room decoration, breakfast and our bar service and we truly appreciate your recommendation. Should your travel bring you back, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip. I have been to Shanghai many times and have stayed in many different hotels. Many of them are good, but Walford stood out for its decor and service. I feel myself in the "old Shanghai" style of luxury, not a contemporary hotel that you can find anywhere in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Ching-Yang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund. We are glad that you enjoyed our inspirational environment and had a singular experience with us. Thank you for your business, and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Probably one of the best hotels in the world. The location, service, food, history of the building, all so great. Everything is clean- especially for China, where finding a decent bathroom is like winning the lottery. The breakfast is excellent, loved the selection of juices and yogurts, etc. definitely my top ten fave hotels, and i've been traveling quite a bit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoulfulSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We are really happy to note you had such a superb time at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai and we are especially pleased to be regarded as one of the best hotels in the world. We do take pride in our property, our products as well as our teams and we look forward to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon when your travels take you back to Shanghai.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I've been to Shanghai many times and no doubt this is the best hotel in town. I think many reviewers have already spoken about he pros so I'm going to add some additional pointers.
- Complaints were taken seriously. It was a warm winter day and the air conditioning thermostat could not lowered to below 26C. It was a very warm room and the engineers did fix the problem immediately by switching something in the main control room. Be aware your room might get very warm, just speak to reception as they can do something about it.
- We had some issues with a meal we had ordered and compliant was dealt with professionalism
- Badly behaved chinese who had 7 smoking family members staying in a non smoking double room on a non smoking floor was spoken at by management after compliant.
- The Chinese restaurant at the hotel was probably the best chinese food during our stay. Must try.
- Concierge has good maps/ info and well trained
- There is a supermarket nearby for supplies
- Walking distance to many sites

This hotel is world class and management must continue to keep badly behaving mainalnders in check.

Room Tip: Non Smoking Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcjchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

We are so proud to be ranked as the Best Hotel in Shanghai and thank you for your wonderful review. We will share your comments with our team to keep the good work and we look forward to welcoming you back again.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Pros
- Spacious Room
- Location on the BUnd
- Email communication prior to arrival and after departure
- Complimentary in-room amenities are great: Nespresso maker and coffee pods, Saratoga sparkling and still water, Feraggamo bath amenities, welcome fruit and cookie platter
- Large, comfortable bed
- Friendly staff from arrival to departure -- doorman asked for my name when I arrived to alert the front desk that I had arrived, the young man who escorted me to my room explained all room facilities clearly to me, etc etc

Cons:
- Wireless internet connection not stable and slow at times
- Despite that I requested a Smoking Room when I booked online, and received a confirmation email for a Smoking Room, I was assigned a Non-Smoking room when I checked in. When I reminded the receptionist that I needed a Smoking room, he said that it would be no problem bc they would send an ashtray up to my room (Does that mean that Waldorf doesn't have assigned Smoking/Non-Smoking rooms??) After about 45 mins waiting in my room, no ashtray was sent up, and I had to call to ask for it again. Waited another 20-30 mins after that for delivery.
- Ordered room service for dinner, the trolley got stuck between the bed and the cabinet -- apparantly someone ordered the trolley without measurements for the space to roll it through, or my room was an abnormal size, but even the Server seemed surprised and spent quite a while trying to maneuver the trolley through the space - but to no avail. Ended up leaving the cart by the door, and bringing the plates and silverware over one by one to the desk to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HooverHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, and for your compliment on our hotel location, room facilities and amenities as well as our services. We also appreciate your comments about our wireless internet service, ashtray delivery and room service, and we will pass them along to our management in order to improve them in the future. We have special dedicated smoking floor in our hotel which are in total 5 floors. However, ashtrays will only delivered when requested. Please accept our apologies for these shortfalls you have experienced during this visit and we hope you will consider staying with us again and allowing us to provide the singular Waldorf luxury experience you deserve.


Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the waldorf astoria for a 2 nights on a business trip. Absolutely amazing hotel - with a historical building. Rooms are spacious with a view on the bund. Clean. And the restaurants are also great. I would recommand the italian restaurant. And the bar is great too.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank ralph6429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund. We appreciate your compliment of our heritage building as well as guest rooms, and we are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurants and the Bar. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again on your next visit to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We've stayed in Waldorf Astoria for two nights over Chinese New Year. It started well - swift check in, lovely rooms. All as expected for the price you pay.
On the second night of our stay we realized that our son's favorite cuddly toy disappeared from the room. It is not just any toy, it went to bed with him every night for several years and was integral part of his life and the travel routine. The only way for it to 'escape' from the room is during the change of bedding. It's a large toy and easy to spot, so it is clear that it went through several pairs of hands before being thrown away.
We had similar experiences in other hotels (e.g. Four Seasons HK) and our things were always returned to us with apologies. Not in Waldorf. Clearly inadequate attention was paid at all levels.
However most infuriating is how hotel dealt with what was clearly their mistake.
Initial response was to send somebody to help search for the toy or to replace at same cost. Clearly not responses that you expect from the hotel of this stature and crucial time was missed to locate the toy.
Belated attempts at finding the toy were of course fruitless and pointless. All later communications were aimed at 'closing' the matter with no thought at offering consolation to one of the guests. We had to suggest apology letter to our son ourselves and it was in the end delivered, but it stopped well short of accepting the blame for the loss!
Careless attitude to the guests' property should not happen in any hotel, let alone in the hotel of this level, and the fact that this is a cuddly toy shouldn't matter. The whole situation caused our son weeks of tearful bedtimes, formed bad memories for many years to come and spoiled what could be otherwise a really nice experience.
I can't imagine us staying in any of Waldorf Astoria establishments again.

Room Tip: The best river view would be from the rooms of Astoria club building, which is right on the Bund, bu...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank worldtrottersvasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Family Vasily,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we truly regret learning that your son is missing his favorite toy. We can imagine this must be very disappointing for him and you. And we are very sorry for this.

It is important for us to reassure you that we have taken this matter very seriously and also assure we have undertaken an extensive search for this item, as we fully understand the emotional attachment this item would have for your Son. Despite our extensive search, unfortunately we have not been able to locate this item. We are very sorry if our seriousness to locate this item was not shared with you however, we can assure you it was a priority. It is not something we take lightly.

We will continue to search and will communicate directly with you.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#9 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#12 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,220 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#180 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $277 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing