We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This has to be the best hotel I have ever stayed in! From the word go, being picked up at the airport, taken to the hotel through terrible traffic (as the Bund was closed for the New Year celebrations), being met at the car, taken to our room before any formalities, made to feel welcome... I could go on and on.
Suffice to say, the room in the tower was wonderful, with an amazing view, the staff are the best trained I have come across for a long time, the room facilities are excellent, the pool and gym a good size, breakfast was wonderful, unhurried, and on a grand scale, and the concierge was knowledgeable and helpful.
We had 3 nights here, and were really impressed by both the hotel and Shanghai.
Well worth the trip.

Room Tip: The Tower rooms with river view are excellent, but make sure to get a high floor (we were on 17).
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your high esteem of our hotel facilities, room view, breakfast, as well as services. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Luxurious rooms with super attentive staff. Hotel is on the Bund, easy walk to Nanjing Road, 30-45 minute walk to antique market, Yuan gardens. Breakfast was excellent. Historic Long Bar in hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank dridr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel location, breakfast, services as well as our landmark Long Bar. We really appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

our stay has been very nice except a bad experience while interacting with a waiter in the lobby. The rest of the stay has been great due to very good team member and manager and very nice room and facilities. the food in long bar has nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank loic f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for celebrating the New Year at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. We are delighted you and your family had a wonderful experience here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed three fantastic nights in the wonderful hotel, I can't think of one single thing that was not perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times Our boys were upgraded at no extra expense to a room with a view onto the Bund. The breakfast was superb, we had a perfect New Years Eve dinner in Pelham's, pricey but exquisite. At 11.35 I suddenly decided we needed champagne in our room to toast in the New Year this was delivered in perfect time in spite of them being so busy. We would only want to stay in this Hotel if we are ever in Shanghai again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for celebrating the New Year at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. We are delighted you and your family had a wonderful experience here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Not sure where to start... As background, I'm a diamond member and stayed maybe 80 nights in Hilton hotels last year so I see a lot of hotels. Had a relatively poor experience at a different Waldorf but this hotel certainly restored my faith in the brand.

Hotel is in a great location on the Bund as the name implies (not like some other hotels that are actually far away at the very end of the Bund far away from the nightlife and view). This hotel is on the Bund. Nanjing Pedestrian Street (with good local restaurants in the malls) and the line 2 subway stop is about a 15 minute walk. M on the Bund is just down the street. Lost Heaven restaurant is across the street. Bar Rouge is just a few blocks down the street as is Roosevelt. Definitely won't be starved for restaurant choices nearby.

This was a staycation for me over New Year's and was upgraded to a river view room. Was on 11 floor (anything lower though would be obstructed mostly) and actually had a nice view of the fireworks.

Room was huge and very nicely decorated and maintained. This is certainly one of the nicer hotels I've stayed at recently. Huge bathroom with two sinks, a shower and tub. Room included TV with DVD and movies you could borrow (great for the kids).

Gym included a pool, which mostly empty in the afternoon. Actual gym with weights and treadmills was on the small side but adequate since no one used it much.

Breakfast was awesome. Menu and buffet. Usual Asian selection with Chinese and Western standards. Good bread selection. Only issue I had was ordering an egg-white omelet (this is a worldwide problem though). Kept on sending omelets back. Four times to get it right. It was on the menu so shouldn't be that hard. Had to explain explicitly in Chinese eventually. "Dan Bai."

Hotel was nicely decorated for Christmas with trees and gingerbread houses (more like gingerbread cities!). Pretty awesome and certainly the best I've seen in Shanghai in 8 years.

Would I come back here? Without question. Thinking of making this an annual holiday treat for the family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiangShanBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for choosing Waldorf Astoria Shanghai to celebrate the New Year. We appreciate your high regard of our hotel location, room view as well as our facilities, and thank you for your kind comments of our breakfast. We will improve our training and we look forward to welcoming you and your family in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The staff and service is outstanding...from the ride to the property from the airport, check in up to the final check out. First Class. The property has a tower and an original section which faces the river. Food and concierge services are very good. I stayed in the tower and next trip will stay in the old section. check out the library and long bar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments of our property and services. We look forward to welcoming you back and experiencing our Waldorf Suite at heritage building next time.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Five stars all the way. When I arrived at check in, the staff was warm and welcoming (as I was a bit frustrated from the airline flight). They got us settled in our room, checked us in and helped us figure out what we wanted to do while in town. The personal service was first rate. The room was magnificant with an amazing view. Breakfast was outstanding and the staff was excellent. The driver that took us around was wonderful as well. If there were six stars - this hotel would get it.

Room Tip: River view and high floor are worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communications at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai and thank you for your nice comments on our hotel accommodation, breakfast as well as our services. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,111 in Shanghai
2,007 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#7 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#184 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $297 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing