We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Truly amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this amazing hotel 3 nights on business.
Collect from airport in hotel car was seamless, taken straight to my room which was upgraded to a one bed suite!
Check-in was done in my room, complimentary breakfast waiting for me as I arrived early morning.
Service was amazing, can only match it to QM2 service.
Food in hotel was truly amazing.
What more can I say, it's like the West end of London in Shanghai a home away from home!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your compliment on our room, our services as well as culinary. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    152
    39
    17
    10
See reviews for
212
399
85
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed in a lot of hotels, this one is fabulous. Wonderful location, just cross the street and you are on the famous Bund. We stayed in the new section. Our room had the most amazing view. The bathroom was indescribable, so luxurious. Buffet breakfast plentiful and elegant. The historic Long Bar was a great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. I loved the singer who was singing Classic American standards; sultry smoky voice.
Shanghai was our favorite stop on a whirlwind tour of China. We stayed at the Waldorf 3 nights and felt pampered everyday.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aglang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review of Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room facilities, breakfast as well as the Long Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
204 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very accommodating staff and top quality service. I recommend stretching your budget to get the river view as it overlooks the Pearl which is spectacular when lit up in the evening. Breakfast is great (and of course free with a Hilton Gold Card) with items cooked fresh to order as well as buffet style. The accommodation is now mostly in a new tower behind the old building but you can get a sense of grandeur by walking into the old part of the hotel.

Room Tip: River View, Highest floor you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your compliments of our service, the room view, as well as the breakfast. There are also River View Suites at our heritage tower. As this tower sits right on the Bund, the view is breathtaking. We hope to reserve a Waldorf River View Suite for you on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Jennifer Hong
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hilton is reviving the faded Waldorf Astoria brand with a brace of new properties, including the Shanghai Waldorf Astoria, which opened three years ago. For those unfamiliar with Shanghai, the Waldorf is in prime tourist territory on the Bund waterfront. Unlike other properties that appropriate the "Bund" moniker, the Waldorf really is located right on the river. The location has pros and cons, however. There are relatively few shopping and eating options within a short walk, and most of the neighborhood's offerings are fine dining and luxury brands. In other words, the location might be ideal on your first trip to the city, but if you're already familiar with Shanghai or are visiting for business, you could feel stuck in a (gilded) tourist ghetto.

The Waldorf combines a restored heritage property with a new 23 story tower. We stayed in the new tower, whose riverfront views offer dramatic views of the river and the Pudong skyline. After a seamless check-in, we were led to a sumptuous room. Hilton really tried to sweat the details, and it shows. The room size is easily 30-50% larger than what you'd get at many competitors, and includes a small dressing area, a large marble bathroom with two sinks, a shower and separate bath tub, and a generous living area with plush furniture and a good-sized desk. The traditional Western decor manages to feel both understated and lavish. The bedding is excellent, and the rooms are well sound-proofed.

Housekeeping was efficient, and a problem with the room safe was swiftly resolved. The concierge team offered some worthwhile suggestions when I asked for a restaurant recommendation. Our rate didn't include breakfast, which I found overpriced; the hotel is about a 15-minute walk from a Starbucks and a few other chain cafes/convenience stores. Perhaps because the hotel is still relatively new, service isn't always without glitches - a couple of phone calls to housekeeping went unanswered, and both the concierge and front desk staffs seem to disappear entirely on occasion, only to materialize again en masse. On the plus side, we often asked the lobby staff to hail taxis, and rarely had to wait more than ten minutes - an important consideration in Shanghai, where cabs are sometimes hard to come by.

Over the years, I've stayed at or visited other top hotels in the same area. If you want luxury with a heritage feel and skyline views, the Waldorf is the benchmark.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShiMoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai, and for taking the time to write your kind review. We are proud of the beautiful views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline from our river rooms, and we are glad that you were delighted with it. We also appreciate your comments about our service glitches as it is through them that we are able to further improve our service standard. Should your travels ever bring you back to Shanghai, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great location close to Yu Yuen and the pearl tower in a walking distance! but stupid me was lost on my way back coz the signs was not so clear at the entrance.

Nice and comfy king size bed and user friendly designs.

Very efficient room services that you don't have to wait forever....

Friendly staffs that are able to deliver their service with efficiency and manner.

The waiter at their shanghai cuisine offer very good suggestions when I was dining alone. He was able to recommend the right portion and the most tasty purple sticky
rice walnut dessert! Magazine was offered in case he feels I was too lonely dining alone; the food was great and I enjoyed my "lonely" dinner!

The breakfast was ok with lots of choices, but the strange thing is they were never be able to offer me a cup of Chinese tea in Shanghai!!! That shocks me alot I was wondering am I asking for too much?! Just a cup of Chinese tea is impossible in Shanghai hotel?!

Maybe their target is not local Chinese...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marblethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and nice comments on our hotel accommodation, room service, Chinese restaurant as well as our services. Thank you too, for bringing your breakfast experience to our attention. We will be looking into the details and will take action to ensure no recurrence. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

It is indeed a luxury hotel. Everything is perfect, including the services, the room. There is one little thing: it is a little bit difficult to call a taxi during the rush hours. But it is okay. Big cities like Shanghai and Beijing have this problem. I like it very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Starrengump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel as well as our service. We hope to look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

You could not find a better place anywhere in the world. THE rooms with a view of the Bund are unique and beyond beautiful. THE food is excellent. I recommend without any hesitation. I hope to return often and suggest you give the hotel a try. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank A Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are so proud as well as most appreciative of your great comments and recommendations. We look forward to having you back at the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#175 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing