We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury living”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #6 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you are on vacation with luxury in mind, here is the place to spend your money on! Great location of the city, service and room with a magnificent view! Expensive but then you pay for the quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hallowwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your nice comments of our hotel location, room view as well as our service. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Luxuriously private, conveniently situated. Lovely settings. A tad expensive but well worth the expense. Stunning views of the Bund and easy access to some of the best restaurants in this city. A short skip away from major shopping streets and sight seeing, if you are so inclined. Best stay in Shanghai , by far.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Mabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review that makes us very proud of our hotel. We have the most accessible location that is convenient to places of interest, dining and entertainment. We hope to look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A really superb business / leisure experience in the centre of Shanghai. The staff, environment and location of the Waldorf Astoria on the Bund ticks all the boxes. The Hotel provides an excellent base to explore while offering very good business conference facilities and flexibility. The staff are the stand out in the Hotel with really positive "can do" attitude. Well Done..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are so proud as well as most appreciative of your nice comments of our hotel facilities and services. Your commendation of our meetings and events facilities as well as services are greatly valued, and we take pride in making every of our client’s meetings, dinners and events an outstanding success. We look forward to having you back at the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights on business and was as impressed as I should have been for a place with this name. We had an extraordinary business rate through my company ($200 per night) that I am sure is half or a third of the usual going rate. Great service, amazing huge rooms, and all the best amenities. Great pool as well, though the fitness center is not the greatest (most people who stay here will not exactly need this).

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and for your high esteem of our guest room, amenities as well as services. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The experience starts, on morning arrival after a long-haul flight, with in-room check-in: a hotel staff picks me up when the car arranged by the hotel arrives, takes me to my room and proceeds with check-in. No queuing, no counter.

Of course, room equipments and hotel amenities are perfect. And the view on the bund and across the river is fantastic.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank YannCramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of Waldorf Astoria Shanghai. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience. We hope to see you again soon.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Waldorf Astoria in Shanghai is sensational and you know it the moment you arrive. The old Shanghai Club building in itself is a stunner, then add the famous Long Bar that serves excellent cocktails, the other restaurants, faultless service, superb rooms and fabulous location and you've pretty much covered everything you need. Certainly not one if on a budget but you get what you pay for. I was particularly amused by something in the bathroom but don't want to spoil the surprise! State-of-the-art! Last but not least: Although you are right on the Bund with all it's restaurants and bars, further down the south end of the Zhongshan road you get to the nice Cool Docks area where you can have some nice al-freso dining at very affordable prices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We appreciate your high regard of our hotel buildings, the landmark Long Bar, room facilities as well as our services, and thank you for sharing this on Trip Advisor. We look forward to serving you again.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

great location, excelent service, and luxury ambience. if you want to experience Shanghai and luxury services, this is the place to be! it is walking distance to the Bund which is a landmark of the city. walking distance to are shopping area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are extremely delighted to receive your great review of your overall experience, the hotel location and service. We hope to see you return to us soon to shape your own unique Waldorf Astoria experience.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#10 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,187 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#12 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,237 reviews
South Bund
Wanda Reign on the Bund
Wanda Reign on the Bund
#2 of 5,222 in Shanghai
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#185 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $277 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing