We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Exquisite hotel in the high end Bund area of Shanghai. The hotel is directly across the street from the river walk (Huangpu River) with a great view of Pudong and the Oriental Pearl Tower. The staff was exceptional- very welcoming and helpful. The concierge arranged for us to get front row seats to an acrobatic show and provided assistance navigating the city. Our room was beautiful! Stunning chandelier, mirror tv and automatic toilet in the bath- cool and high tech. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your high regard of our hotel location, facilities as well as service, and thank you for sharing this on Trip Advisor. We look forward to serving you again.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    156
    41
    17
    10
See reviews for
217
413
90
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Location first: get a river view room and your trip to Shanghai will be made. The rooms are lovely, well equipped and well furnished and the view across the river to Pudong is one of the great cityscapes of the world. The staff in the hotel are excellent, willing to help with anything. There are minor misunderstandings over language that are more than made up for by the grace of the staff. You can tell the management of this hotel have a fine eye for detail. The long bar is also a delightful place to drink a martini. Don't hesitate: stay here.

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are extremely delighted with your high esteem of our hotel and our service, and thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are proud of the beautiful views of the Huangpu River and the Pudong skyline from our river rooms, and our Long Bar is indeed an icon of our hotel. Your commendation will be shared with our team members, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crater Lake National Park, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I can make this review simple and brief. This hotel was auspiciously touted as the "finest hotel in China". I would be extremely hard pressed to find a single reason to dispute that claim. Although it is certainly at the higher end of the rate spectrum, I have never found any accommodation to be more worth every cent paid.

Pros:
1) Everything. From the moment of arrival to the point of regretful departure every detail was meticulously addressed in an outstanding fashion.
2) Room: Opulent. Automatic curtains open to a spectaulcar view of one of the most incredible cities night skylines in the world
3) Furnishings: Exquisite
4) Bathroom: Both classic and futuristic. All marble features, walk in glass and marble shower and soaking tub almost eclipsed by television within the bath mirror, alternating opaque and translucent bathroom window and fully automated toilet. :)
5) Ambiance: Straight out of a classic novel or James Bond movie. Elegant in every regard. Who knows what famous world leaders sipped drinks or shared cigars over conversations in the Long Bar?
6) Breakfast buffet: The quality and variety of selections was exceeded only by the demeanor and attentiveness of every single member of the staff in attendance.
7) Service: The finest I have ever experienced in any facility, anywhere. Period.
8) Staff: Exceptional. Catered to every need almost anticipating every request.
9) Wifi. Fast and bug free (except of course that Google and Facebook are blocked by the government - not a fault of the hotel.)

Cons:
1) I've run out of superlative adjectives with which to describe the property.
2) I'm now ruined for staying at any other hotel in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Bund side to experience the incredible night skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CascadesRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your encouraging review which makes us very proud of our hotel and service. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We recently stayed at the Waldorf Astoria on the Bund during a recent trip to China. It was a superb hotel with great service, and outstanding location. Staff went out of their way to assist guests. The decor and furnishings of the hotel are all of excellent quality. We ate several meals at the hotel and quality and service were also excellent. Recommend you request rooms with a view of the river to really get the best appreciation of the hotel. Highly recommends this propertynasmit was the one of the best hotels we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Request a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gore_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our hotel and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted that you ranked us amongst the best hotels which you have stayed. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed for five nights at Waldorf. Everything from the time we got the reservation to the time we left for the airport were excellent (they even followed up with an email after we left). They emailed me beforehand. The room was ready and laid out with our breakfast when we walked in. Any requests we asked for were promptly taken care of. We have a room on the 20th floor facing the Bund. It was so comfortable that we spent a lot of time inside the hotel. The breakfast while not sumptuous like some other high end hotels was more than adequate. We loved the egg dishes.

Room Tip: since the hotel set back from the BUND, choose a room on the high floor in the middle like 2006.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much! Look forward to having you back again soon.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location is very romantic (The Bund). My room had a spectacular view of the waterfront (The Bund). The building is gorgeous outside and also inside.
My room was large and felt luxurious. There were a few sweets in my room (cookies) and 3 pieces of fruit left each day. Separate tub & shower, toilet had a seat cover that was on a sensor so it raised automatically when you went near it, double sink. Bose stereo, large flat screen t.v.
Room service was beautifully presented and pretty quick. Food was good, but expensive for what it was. I had a $40 hamburger that came with lots of bacon on it & it was only okay. The Chinese food I had was excellent, however as well as desert (I had room service 3 nights).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlysonMarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for your high esteem of our hotel location, room facilities as well as amenities. Indeed the vista from our guest rooms is truly magnificent. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The first thing you notice when entering the hotel is how wonderful it smells. I entered on the Bund entrance and the doorman called ahead so that registration would be aware of my arrival. Everyone was very kind and friendly. I was upgraded to a river room with a stunning view of the Bund and Pudong across the river. The rooms are very comfortable, with very high end toiletries, a separate shower, deep bathtub, TV in the mirror in the bathroom and a very wonderful high end heated seat Toto toilet.

The breakfast is wonderful and the staff very good. After my first day they remembered what I liked to drink and what kind of eggs I liked. Linda, the assistant food and beverage manager was particularly kind and remembered me from my visit last year.

So why is this only a four star review? If I had done this review last year five stars would not have been enough but there were some small changes that were troublesome for me. Last year I got a handwritten welcome note in my room and this year it was typed. Small difference but it made a difference. More than that was the flowers in the room. While the flowers in the public area were still extraordinary it was not true in my room. Last year I had orchids in my bedroom, bathroom and hallway. This year the hallway had no flowers and the ones in the bathroom were not in good shape upon my arrival and were never changed. Also last year there was a small plant in the separate room containing the toilet and this year there was not one.

All that said would I stay here again. Of course I would. The staff is fabulous and the location cannot be beat but I was more impressed last year.

Room Tip: Any room facing the river is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara9852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us for the second time. We have noted your comments regarding the difference between those two stays. We appreciate that you have been so specific and please rest assured we will look into these areas. Great to know you will be back with us and we will be more conscious of this in future.
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,902 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,155 reviews
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,059 in Shanghai
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#177 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing