We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shanghai's Finest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Shanghai's Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was the first time that my girlfriend and I stayed at at WA. Amazing would be an understatement for our 3-night stay. I'll break up my review into individual sections.

Service: In general, service elsewhere in Shanghai is average at best. However, in WA on the Bund, the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The smile on their faces gave you the impression that they want to help better your experience. We stayed 3 nights at Les Suite Orient (a few blocks down on the Bund) just prior and there was no comparison. The servers at that hotel during breakfast almost looked as if they were angry or depressed looking.

Value: Since I was a Gold HH member, I was able to obtain a room upgrade to a Deluxe River View room. With that in mind, it was a great value for me. Overall, you are paying for a legitimate 5-star hotel (by North American standards). Although pricey, it's worth almost every penny.

Cleanliness: The rooms were well kept. We were worried that perhaps it may stink of cigarettes (as there are still many places in Shanghai were smoking is allowed inside) but it was not a concern. Housekeeping was good.

Location: It's located pretty much right next to the Bund. Ten minute taxi ride from the Pu Dong financial district. Also ten minutes taxi ride from XinTianDi and French Concession district. You're looking at a 15 minute walk to Nanjing Lu (pedestrian street filled with shops and restaurants) One slight problem you may encounter is that new taxi drivers may not know the road that the hotel's main entrance is located. We sometimes just tell them to drop us off near the Bund and just walk 5 minutes back to the hotel.

Rooms: Our room was quite extravagant. River view also means a full view of the Pu Dong skyline. The washroom included a in mirror TV and automatic toilet. Internet is provided free of charge. Free daily fruits and a nice welcoming dessert on the first night.

Breakfast: Nice extensive breakfast menu as well as a self-serving buffet. They serve a full array of western and Chinese breakfast cuisine. Service was the highlight.

For the first time visitors to Shanghai, you may feel overwhelmed by the cultural shock which may or may not include the crowded streets, smoking indoors, the crazy traffic law defying drivers, or the scammers on the streets. WA is a little bit of heaven that will shelter you away from all that. And don't get me wrong, Shanghai is a wonderful place. I wouldn't hesitate to come visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Han W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    152
    39
    17
    10
See reviews for
212
399
85
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Its convenient if you will spend a lot of evening hanging out by the bund. The bar is quite lively as well and the breakfast is probably the best among the hotels I have stayed in china. But the service, the lobby, and the pool are average. I stayed for a week and didn't remember if there is other restaurant other than the breakfast venue.
I may be back for the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dream_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I regularly visit Shanghai and this is my hotel of choice given it's prime location on the bund, luxurious new and spacious rooms, and most importantly top notch service. The staff were all very polite and professional and attended very well to our needs, finding solutions to accomodate our particular requests.

Just had a very wonderful stay last weekend again and having tried a few of the 5-star hotels in Shanghai, I'm confident to say this is one of the best choices you can make.

One thing to note, if you need an iron, the rooms don't actually come with one and I had trouble borrowing one because other guests borrowed them all! That's something they should consider adding.

Room Tip: Our river view room on 18F offered postcard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xoSnowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a hotel that got it right in China.

What a wonderful experience. Caring staff and a wonderful property.

The team should be proud of their service and professionalism.

A great product.

The views from the river view rooms are some of the best in Shanghai, the food is wonderful and the cleanliness of the property is great.

The technology is seemless and just works.

Well done Waldorf.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kking1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, and for your high esteem of our hotel facilities. Indeed we are very proud of our team members’ commitment in delivering the high standards of services and constantly strived to exceed our guests’ expectations. We truly appreciate your compliments and it was our pleasure to serve you.

Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is well located, at least for me it was, and I enjoyed a great view.
The service came with numerous hickups in just 2 days, which became somewhat frustrating.
I also felt the food quality was below par, compared to other restaurants i tried in town.
overall: average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, ma.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund for 5 glorious nights. From checking in to checking out this hotel is top notch! We were upgraded to a River view room. The room was beautiful, with a huge bathroom. We were on the 13th floor facing Pudong. Talk about a million dollar view!!!! The service was excellent, and the staff was always attentive, helpful and polite.
Someday I hope to return to Shanghai. when that time comes I will definitely return to The Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund.

Room Tip: Try to get a River view room. You wont regret it. Pudong during the day is amazing, at night it is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing & Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai, and for taking the time to write your kind review. Thank you, too, for your compliments about our service, as they truly will motivate our staff to excel. We are proud of the beautiful views of the Huangpu river and the Pudong skyline from our river rooms, and we are glad that you were delighted with it. Should your travels ever bring you back to Shanghai, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

For once, I am out of words to describe what a great hotel Waldorf Astoria is. It is no doubt expensive, but is the best hotel in China. The location and look of the hotel is just outstanding. The rooms are very good and done up very tastefully. You get the feel of luxury from the moment you walk in the beautiful lobby. The service was totally up to the mark and the location could not be better. In the bang in the bund, and has great views of the hund and the entire city in general. The room service was very and so was the concierge.

I am super pleased with my stay here and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a hassle-free stay with great service and location in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Try for the new tower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#176 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing