We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best hotel but overpriced”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I went for business last year and was suppose to stay two nights but went home early due to exhaustion. Amazing hotel, rooms, service, food and pool were amazing. I loved the automatic toilets. Unfortunately the hotel over charged me, my coworkers paid less for tow nights than I did forgone but since I was in a rich to get to the airport I did not notice or convert the changes until our audit department caught it. For such a nice hotel I would think this loud to happen.

Room Tip: Check the bill before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmartini1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    159
    42
    19
    10
See reviews for
222
419
90
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

No one can deny that this is a nice hotel, but it's just really stuffy.

This is probably the perfect hotel for 55+ year olds ready to begin social security in that it's really old luxury and for people that feel like they've made it in life.

The rooms are nice - but again, your very classic luxury. My company put me up here as we had business to do near the bund, but it was just sort of an old feeling.

I like the JW Marriott a little more in that it's a little more modern and more hip for 30+ year olds. But then, again, there are probably 50 hotels that I'd prefer to stay in before the Waldorf if i could stay at trendy hotels.

Again, this just happens to not really be the style of any one that's into a more hip hotel - such as Hotel Indigo down the street. Too bad Shanghai doesn't have a W.

Room Tip: A little old for my taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

3 nights at the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai were simply not enough!

Our room had a great view of the Yellow River and Pearl Tower. The rooms are set back from the riverfront, so the view was not spectacular, but was great nonetheless.
The rooms are truly luxurious with a huge bathroom (and amazing toilet - you have to experience it) and giant closet.

The location is perfect - right on the Bund. The old section of the hotel is opulent. The Long Bar was very sexy, but very smoky and incredibly expensive. That didn't stop us from having drinks each evening, however!

Overall, the service was excellent. The only slight problems (that prevent me from giving 5 stars) was uneven service at breakfast (slow, somewhat incompetent, and one snippy hostess).

Shanghai is an amazing city that I would love to visit again. I would absolutely stay at the Waldorf on a future trip.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor to maximize your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We arrived at this most lovely hotel. It was everything I had read on Tripadvisor and more. If you are staying in Shanghai this must be one of the best. On arrival we were upgraded by Elly to a Bund view room which was nothing short of superb, the size, the comfortable bed, the shower and bath built for 2 and the latest in toliet must haves ... the loo was a marvel, not to mention chocs and biscuits to have with your Nespresso coffee or tea. I can't fault this hotel at all, they even gave us an extended check out of 3 hours. We enjoyed The Long Bar even though the manager apologised for the noise as they were auditioning for a new singer, it just added to the atmosphere and people watching!! This hotel in right on the Bund and as taxis are plentiful and cheap there is no better location. We would return to this hotel in a heart beat. We eat at Mr and Mrs Bund and M on the bund, both of which are great restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel.

Room Tip: Bund View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our first visit to Shanghai and we had a weekend as tourists before work began so we wanted to be on the Bund. The Waldorf is right on the river front-although our room was way back in the Tower block but that was no hardship and it was very quiet over looking a courtyard area. The welcome was great and the early check in and late check out were appreciated and done with class-we didnt feel they were doing us a begrudging favour as so often seems to happen. We were greeted by name everytime we approached the front desk. Breakfast is great-lots of choice from Asian and Western food-especially good scrambled eggs . The Long Bar was good-friendly efficient service but spoiled for us by the smokers-You forget how horrible it is to be in a smokey enviroinment these days so we drank up and left quickly. Was also noisy -a group celebrating a birthday maybe but whatever it spoiled for us the ambiance we had expected. The room was especially good with lots of high tech facilities-I loved the Japenese toilet-the curtains operated electronically and the bed was very comfortable. The walk in shower was excellent. The location is great-you can be in the centre of the tourist area straight out of the front door and we walked everywhere even though taxis are cheap-at least a lot cheaper than the UK or USA. We would love to come back!

Room Tip: High floor tower river view are the best but assuming all the rooms are the same then you will be ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Waldorf twice on a recent trip to China and this hotel drips elegance, rooms with a view, service, location and location. This hotel deserves higher than the 5 stars. We had arranged pick-up through the hotel, which was done very professionally and the limo had mint, newspapers, bottled water and sparkling water etc. When we arrived at the hotel, our “personal concierge” met us at the limo and escorted us straight to the room where she very efficiently completed check-in (including scanning the passports on a hand held scanner).
The room was fabulous with post card views of the Bund, the river and Pu Dong. We had made a few restaurant reservations in advance through the concierge and there was a folder in the room with confirmation, map and directions in English and Chinese (for the taxi drivers) for each restaurant. We arrived late and the next day, our personal concierge had an amenity for my daughter – plate of beautiful animals and dolphin shaped cookies and a few animations on blueray for her to watch on the Blueray player in the room. The bathroom was fantastic with two sinks, rain shower, separate bath tub and fully automatic Toto (the only one we had seen before in a hotel was at the Conrad in Tokyo). The room also had Nespresso coffee maker and a water heater for teas. Touch screen automated controls for lights, drapes etc.
The breakfast at the Grand Brasserie was fantastic. They always served freshly brewed Jasmine tea, which was brewed when you ordered and was fragrant (as opposed to the tea bags). We had lunch here once, which was very nice too. We had dinner at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel, very nice.

Tips for your stay at the hotel:
- The hotel has two sections – the heritage building directly on the bund, which is only a few levels (floors) and the modern tower directly behind it. We stayed in the modern tower in a Bund view room which was fantastic.
- Book a room facing the Bund;
- Concierge is good if you know exactly what you want – they will arrange it. Seeking and following their advice was not as useful (we had similar experience with concierge in Beijing). I think they try to be helpful but language seems to be an issue. We booked a private tour to a water village through the concierge. The tour was supposed to be 5.5 hours and cost US$450 in a Buick van for 2 adults. We were back in under 4 hours of which we spent 3 in commute and were very rushed at the water village. Concierge was very apologetic but our time and money had been wasted.
- If your first time in China, you can either book pick-up with hotel. However this costs several x more than taxi. Taxis are absolutely safe in China and a much cheaper option may be to take a taxi from the airport – just ensure you print the name of the hotel in Chinese as taxi drivers do not understand the names of even the most popular hotels.
- The hotel has two entrances – the heritage section on the Bund and modern tower, a block behind on a road parallel to the Bund. Depending on whether you are traveling with kids or elderly, getting dropped off in the wrong section can be slightly inconvenient as it involves going up and down stairs with no elevator access. If you do get dropped off in the wrong wing and need special access, it may be easier to walk around the hotel on the street.
- I would highly recommend getting breakfast package unless that is included as a part of your Gold or Diamond status with Hilton group of hotels.

Shanghai tips:
- There is a great restaurant behind the hotel called The Lost heaven. We loved it. Very popular with expats.
- We enjoyed a dinner at the Chinese restaurant at Park Hyatt on the 91st floor. Alternatively, they have a couple of bars from where one can enjoy the beautiful views of Pu Dong and Pu Xi (the Bund).
- Hotel provides cards to show taxi drivers that has key locations written in English and Chinese. If your destination is not on that list, ensure concierge or someone at the hotel writes in Chinese as the taxi drivers don’t understand English names (spoken either). They did not understand popular hotels like The Peninsula or the Fairmont Peace hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CAWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund. We hope that our inspirational environment and unparalleled service helped to create memories that will last long after your time with us concluded. In regards to the issue about your day tour to the water villa, your comments have been shared with our relevant team for future improvement. We highly appreciate your business, and we hope to see you again soon.

Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund is one of the very top hotels we have stayed in worldwide. Intriguing design blending the historic Shanghai Club facing the Bund, and newer highrise with spectacular river views from most of the rooms, connected by a long corridor, Peacock Alley, modeled on the NY Waldorf. Very polished service. Fruits, water, coffee/tea, cookies, all replenished daily. The restaurants were outstanding, particularly Pelham's, the Chinese restaurant and the breakfast buffet. State of the art tech stuff in the rooms, including robotic "hands-free" Toto toilet; LCD TV in the bathroom mirror; multitude of lighting and curtain settings; excellent free wifi and internet/computer connection gadgets.

Great place to anchor a first trip to Shanghai. Perfect for walks up and down the Bund. Next door to many other very high end restaurants including M on the Bund and Jean Georges. Comfortable walking distance to Peoples Park and the museums, exhibits, performing arts, near there.

Not inexpensive, but a reasonable price for the excellent service, location and accomodation.

Room Tip: River view rooms in the high-rise are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing your stay at the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund and taking the time to write your heartfelt review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel facilities have met your high expectations. You comments were indeed very motivating to us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai.

Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,936 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#7 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,169 reviews
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,069 in Shanghai
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#180 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing