We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Grand as its name !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Ranked #64 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

You can see the hotel in front of you, but hardly to find the road access to the entrance. Even you are able to find it, you will ask yourself is this really the road lead you to the hotel main entrance since the neighbor is surrounded by low end small food store and metro station. A four star hotel should not look like this!

The hotel used to be a local three stars and was renovated few years ago and Grand Mercure brand are used. However, some hardware are not possible to be corrected, say low ceiling height, small room etc.

But you get what you pay for. The room rate is only about RMB 600 per night and including breakfast, way below the relatively new Courtyard by Marriott at the opposite.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HerbertLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Well priced, professional looking hotel, close to the Bund / Train station, 7 eleven / Macdonalds around the corner. I stay here more often than not when in Shanghai on business, the value for money is difficult to beat when comparing to other Hotels in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Just the standard rooms are great, choose the deluxe rooms with king size bed if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good things first:

The room was great, very fast service, the gym facilities were great. Great help from the concierge, spoke perfect English and helped us get around. Great location too, right next to a supermarket, McDonald's (for those who had difficulty with hotel food, which I'll get to) and a metro station.

On to the negative aspects:

Although the rooms were great, we were placed on a floor with construction going on so the corridor was dirty and the sound was annoying, but it is unfair to judge the hotel based on that, although they should have warned us (They did compensate by letting us check out earlier for free, so we couldn't complain)

Other than the concierge, other hotel staff spoke ZERO English. Honestly, they barely understood, the concierge had to translate for the DESK RECEPTION. I called them and asked where the hair dryer was in the room and it took the lady 5 minutes to explain that it was under the sink.

As for the restaurant, the breakfast one, the food was okay, but considering I do not eat chicken, meat or pork due to diet problems, they had very limited choices; I lived on omelette, bread and hashbrowns. Cleanliness could have been better too.

Overall, if you speak the language there, it's easy. Great rooms, great location, slightly disappointing breakfast, although room service was quite good (I recommend their pasta and pizza)

Room Tip: Just make sure there isn't any construction going on in your corridor when choosing the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was back in Shanghai with a colleague so decided to stay here again as our new partner was located a few metro stops away on Line 3. We were both upgraded to a Suite from the Executive Kings booked - these rooms are large and very luxurious. Overall the location is convenient - near the metro and rail; we got taxis each day we needed one and also used the metro. The reception staff were good and the English standard had improved. The value is outstanding and the room was well furnished and has a good strong shower with pleasant lavender toiletries.

Issues experienced:

- housekeeping was patchy; some days items were not replaced
- hotel info says that Executive Rooms get 4pm checkout; I was told it was 2pm and was grudgingly given 3pm
- the Executive Lounge looks good, but the drinks are limited and the food was not replaced; once an item was finished, that was it for the evening!
- food at the breakfast was not replaced quickly (eg waited 15 minutes for bacon)
- smell of smoke on the non-smoking corridor; I think it is staff in the stairwell...

But I will go back next time I am in Shanghai as it is very well located and a good price. They do need to work on service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The immediate surroundings of this hotel are awful, it makes you want to turn around and go find somewhere else. Pulling up in front of the hotel is chaotic, cars parked everywhere so there is only room for one way traffic. If it's raining, either you sit in your car until it's your turn to get near the front door or you get wet. And the door staff are not particularly friendly. The interior of the hotel is fine and the rooms are good for a mid level business hotel but beware of the restaurants! We ate in both the Chinese and the International restaurants and these were by far the worst meals I have eaten anywhere in a very long time, overcooked tasteless buffet food. I complained to the duty manager and was met with a shrug of the shoulders.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Frequently travel back and forth Shanghai, have been staying at Grand Mercure Shanghai more than 10 times. Consider the price and what you get, you may find this hotel is just value for money. Good location and friendly front desk staff, but the night shift staff was a little bit rough though.

The room is nice and big enough, I would say it really satisfy foreign 4-star hotel standard. I would recommend this hotel to business travellers or if you need to take trains from Shanghai train station, given its superb location just 3 minutes walk to the train station and there is a subway station just nearby the front door.

Room Tip: Actually smoking rooms have better view and non-smoking rooms seem smaller than smoking. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riverlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Booked an executive room which looked OK in photos but in reality was quite small. Apparently the location used to be a 3 star hotel and while it has been upgraded substantially, it does not really feel like 5 stars. The executive lounge was comfortable but the breakfast was limited and warm at best. If I stay again, I'll have breakfast in the main restaurant rather than the lounge. Location is great if you have a need to be near Shanghai Railway Station.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U99A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#106 of 5,205 in Shanghai
965 reviews
Pullman Shanghai South
#27 of 5,205 in Shanghai
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#55 of 5,205 in Shanghai
637 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,020 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Shanghai Jing An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Shanghai Jing An

Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Jing an District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Central)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#62 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $80 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Shanghai Jing An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in a convenient city centre location, the Pullman Shanghai Jing An stands out for its contemporary yet classic design features and provides discerning business travelers with a welcome sanctuary amidst the hustle-bustle of metropolitan Shanghai. Close to the Suzhou Creek, with easy access to commercial, shopping, entertainment and sightseeing hubs, the hotel is only a 3 minutes’ walk to the railway station and main metro lines, 25 minutes away from Shanghai Hong Qiao Hub and 40 minutes away from the Shanghai Pu Dong International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Shanghai Jing An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing