We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 nights in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Ranked #60 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“6 nights in Shanghai”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed for both business and leisure - the hotel was a great design and lovely rooms - I was on the exec floor but all seemed a good design. however the location wasn't as good as I had hoped as needed to get cabs to most places (although not pricey) - I did walk quite a bit but found it a bit difficult to get around as areas really differ from street to street and roads often not great. I did enjoy my time in the city but I was really disappointed with the hotel staff as I found them overall unfriendly and unhelpful (with a few exceptions - including the porter, cleaners and few others). I found it difficult to communicate even in basic English when ordering food (salt, pepper and various condiments had to be spelled or written down) or if I needed anything in the hotel which started to feel like a real hassle. As I was trying to work from the hotel it made my stay quite difficult & decided to check out early. I wouldn't recommend or go back which is a shame as it's a beautiful hotel. I am not someone who expects English to be always spoken when I travel but a smile and staff being friendly goes a long way even when there's a language barrier! In addition, this is a well known international brand and should have certain standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    721
    212
    45
    26
See reviews for
221
495
205
550
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ningbo, China
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel himself is nice, even the entrance is not easy to find when travelling by car.
The area is ok, not too far (using a taxi) from main Shanghai attractions.
When arrived hotel was almost sold out and was offered a room lower than my initial booking, situation well handled by reception who upgraded me. From bell man, concierge and reception everything ok. Very nice and huge room, and enormous bathroom at least the size of the room himself. Go for dinner at Triffin (friday 9pm), very poor selection even they close only at 10pm, only few left overs, no too much choice, service also poor. Same feeling with bkfst the next morning.
Rooms are wonderful, experience was biaised by the poor experience at restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyfamilyNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special, but a standard chain-hotel. Nice breakfast, great rainfall shower, nice decor, good concierge. The location is not bad for the city centre and the bund. Taxis out are pretty easy (use the concierge) and dirt cheap. There's a metro station entrance right next to the hotel too. Poor location if you want to walk into town though.
Beware that there are 3 Grand Mercure's in Shanghai and taxi drivers don't know where this one is. Show them your card - with the mandarin address - but still expect there to be occasional get out and get another one moments. We did have one that took us to the wrong hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Musicalhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Pay approximately CNY600 a night for a deluxe room. No breakfast. Hotel was nice. Everything was good. Just that a guy at the front desk probably isn't in the best mood when I checked in.

Overall it is good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank AlexOngSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had an enjoyable stay at this hotel in a superior room with a king size bed. Since I stayed on the 17th floor, I had a nice view of the highway from my window but the other skyscrapers blocked my view and it was noisy from the road traffic at times. The room has a kettle with coffee and tea for your convenience, a bar fridge, the aircon is in good working condition and the toiletries in the bathroom are topped-up every day. In essence, my room provided me with a luxury stay and was very spacious as I'm used to at home. The wifi was excellent in the room.
The hotel is located close to the Shanghai subway station and you can use line 1 to travel to People's Square (3 stops), from where you can get to see the rest of the city.
I had some issues at breakfast. The food is good and a variety of dishes are available. However, the waiters are not providing the best service possible as they are standing around and just wait to clear the table, at their own time.
I recently also stayed at the Mercure Jakarta Simatupang, South Jakarta, Indonesia and I wish the waiters at the Shanghai hotel could learn from the ones in Jakarta. Providing the customer with an enjoyable experience during breakfast.
I also asked one of the chefs on one of the the mornings to prepare me a soft egg, but instead of preparing it sunny side up, he flipped it and when I moaned about it, he shouted at me that the egg is soft and there is nothing wrong with it. I was so disgusted, but he prepared me a new one.
I checked out early, as I had a midnight flight and it had nothing to do with the hotel at all.
In all, this hotel will provide you with a comfortable stay and I would return to stay here in future.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#54 of 5,069 in Shanghai
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Shanghai South
#17 of 5,069 in Shanghai
270 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#63 of 5,069 in Shanghai
580 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Shanghai Jing An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Shanghai Jing An

Property: Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Jing an District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Central)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Shanghai Jing An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL is a brand new designer hotel ideally situated in a convenient city center location: guests can enjoy quick access to People's Square, Nanjing Road &the Bund. The hotel is only 12minutesaway fromboth Yu Garden or Xintiandi by taxi; 25 minutesaway from Shanghai Hongqiao Airport and 40 minutesaway from the Shanghai Pudong International Airport. With guest comfort and well-being as its priority, each of its well-appointed rooms & suites is a haven of comfort featuring full length glass windows;37-42 inch LCD TV screen with full laptop connectivity; internet and WIFI access; the finest in bathroom accessories with rainforest shower as well as luxury Pacific Coast bedding with 400 thread-count linen.At the GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL Dining at both the Chinese and all day dining restaurants will be a delightful culinary experience, while relaxing at the chic lifestyle lounge-bar could well be a 24-hour indulgence.For leisure and entertainment, a range of facilities located on Level 6 includes a gymnasium and chess room.Keeping fit with the gymnasium's latest equipment will be a joy, as guests take in the panoramic view of the city and the natural light by day, and city lights by night.The Spa beckons with 11therapy rooms. Well known for its special spa treatment menus,pamper yourself and rejuvenate your mind and body with oils, aromatherapy or other beauty treatments.For events, meetings, conferences and weddings, a full complement of versatile meeting and banquet facilities include an elegant Ballroom that can cater up to 350 guests, four meeting rooms. A professional team of experts are on hand to tailor every occasion to the guest's requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Shanghai Jing An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing