We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star location subway is 20m from the entrance!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Ranked #60 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“5 star location subway is 20m from the entrance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago and have to say the location is second to none. If you are after a beautiful view its probably not the best choice but if you are here on business and nee,d to get to a range of destinations quickly, this place is perfect. After staying in Kangqiao and having to taxi to a subway station, staying here was a considerable saving in travel expenses and (most importantly) time. There is very quick access to Line 1 and only a short walk underground to other lines for Shanghai Railway Station.

The room decor and finishes are excellent and the staff are helpful.

It is handy to a great little hotpot chain in the underground subway if you go outside, take a left, go down Exit 5 (to line 1) and take your first right. Within 150m there are also 3 McDonalds, KFC, Starbucks and a very popular Japanese noodle chain.

Suggest booking online and paying in advance if you are sure you will stay here... saves a considerable amount for a long stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mtsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear mtsaus,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Your satisfaction is the best encouragement for our work . We sincerely hope you would choose our hotel as your permanent hotel in Shanghai. Looking forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy every moment in Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    695
    204
    42
    26
See reviews for
211
476
197
523
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is right next to the train station, metro station and a number of shops and restaurants, including Mcdonalds and KFC, the breakfast in the hotel was very nice with plenty of choice.
The rooms were nice and comfortable and quiet.
It is however a bit too far from the attractions, you will need to either get a taxi or use the subway, we used the subway which is so easy to use, you simply select English, where you want to go and put your money in, very easy to change lines although very busy.
We visited the bund, Nanjing road, financial centre skywalk, the maglev and zhouzuang water village.
The only problem we had was when we were leaving we had 6 hours to wait before our pickup, it was lashing down with rain outside and the hotel wouldn't loan an umbrella without leaving a deposit, now as we were leaving china that night I didn't have any Yuans left so they let us go out and get soaked, also we were not allowed to sit in seats that were too near the bar as they are for consumption only...we had to sit in a seat a bit further away from the bar, although there was no one in the bar! a little basic customer service would help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goafishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear goafishing,

Thank you for your good comments and suggestions to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. We will continue to work hard toward a better service. Looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good standard Mercure hotel with convienience to railway station.
Good value and excellent appointed rooms.
The toilet bench tops need to be creaned properly, otherwise toilets clean with well appointed rooms.
Friendly reception. Concierge needs improvement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank rlsyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear rlsyu,

Thank you for your good comments and suggestions to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. We will continue to work hard toward a better service. Looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel exceeded expectations for a hotel during our stay in Shanghai. Great service and rooms where everything worked perfectly. All the small details where in place. very good breakfast, nice gym and nice personnel. Location is almost perfect, only two metro stops away from Peoples Park but the hotel is only 50 meters away from the metro. From a frequent traveller I can only recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 14JohnDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear 14JohnDK,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Your satisfaction is the best encouragement for our work . We look forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy your every stay in our hotel.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had an enjoyable two night stay in a very comfortable modern stylish room with all you require on holiday - comfortable bed and efficient shower. Very clean room and a good city view but with no traffic noise on 7th floor. Wifi and breakfast included. The hotel is a long taxi drive from the French Concession area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladywholunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinnator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Ladywholunches,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Guest comfort and well-being is our priority. We look forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy your every stay in Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here on our honeymoon.. Big mistake.. Awful service!
Ordered food & drinks in restaurant on first night, after 2 cocktails on menu were out of stock and no sparkling water in stock either..ended up with a beer (which took 15 minutes to arrive)
Food worse however..ordered a steak and it had to be defrosted first so we waited 45min.
When it did come but before we could even take a bite ,the forgetful waitress earlier came over with the bill immediately to sign. Totally unacceptable as its wasn't a cheap meal where you can forgive poor service..(80gbp for 2 steaks)

On second night, ordered room service..no menu was left in the room so after calls to get one we ordered. Food came and all was fine, until 15 minutes later a knock came to say we needed to pay there and then for it. My husband asked for it to be charged to the room..but this didn't suffice. He had to get up and head down to reception to increase the deposit they take from you on check in.
To sum up this hotel and china..they are only happy when westerners are been ripped off..if they think they could be out of pocket (despite having your credit card info) they come knocking for payment!!
Very happy to be checking out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear karen1945,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have to say it's pretty standard of a grand mercure, The level of comfort is very high and i have to say everything is as it should be. The train station entrance is also very close to the hotel making it very accessible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ickcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Ickcee,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Your satisfaction is the best encouragement for our work . We look forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy your every stay in our hotel.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#51 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#44 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#22 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Shanghai Jing An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Shanghai Jing An

Property: Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Jing an District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Central)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Shanghai Jing An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL is a brand new designer hotel ideally situated in a convenient city center location: guests can enjoy quick access to People's Square, Nanjing Road &the Bund. The hotel is only 12minutesaway fromboth Yu Garden or Xintiandi by taxi; 25 minutesaway from Shanghai Hongqiao Airport and 40 minutesaway from the Shanghai Pudong International Airport. With guest comfort and well-being as its priority, each of its well-appointed rooms & suites is a haven of comfort featuring full length glass windows;37-42 inch LCD TV screen with full laptop connectivity; internet and WIFI access; the finest in bathroom accessories with rainforest shower as well as luxury Pacific Coast bedding with 400 thread-count linen.At the GRAND MERCURE SHANGHAI CENTRAL Dining at both the Chinese and all day dining restaurants will be a delightful culinary experience, while relaxing at the chic lifestyle lounge-bar could well be a 24-hour indulgence.For leisure and entertainment, a range of facilities located on Level 6 includes a gymnasium and chess room.Keeping fit with the gymnasium's latest equipment will be a joy, as guests take in the panoramic view of the city and the natural light by day, and city lights by night.The Spa beckons with 11therapy rooms. Well known for its special spa treatment menus,pamper yourself and rejuvenate your mind and body with oils, aromatherapy or other beauty treatments.For events, meetings, conferences and weddings, a full complement of versatile meeting and banquet facilities include an elegant Ballroom that can cater up to 350 guests, four meeting rooms. A professional team of experts are on hand to tailor every occasion to the guest's requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Shanghai Jing An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing