We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choise of hotel when visiting Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Ranked #64 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel exceeded expectations for a hotel during our stay in Shanghai. Great service and rooms where everything worked perfectly. All the small details where in place. very good breakfast, nice gym and nice personnel. Location is almost perfect, only two metro stops away from Peoples Park but the hotel is only 50 meters away from the metro. From a frequent traveller I can only recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank 14JohnDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear 14JohnDK,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Your satisfaction is the best encouragement for our work . We look forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy your every stay in our hotel.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had an enjoyable two night stay in a very comfortable modern stylish room with all you require on holiday - comfortable bed and efficient shower. Very clean room and a good city view but with no traffic noise on 7th floor. Wifi and breakfast included. The hotel is a long taxi drive from the French Concession area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladywholunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinnator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Ladywholunches,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Guest comfort and well-being is our priority. We look forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy your every stay in Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here on our honeymoon.. Big mistake.. Awful service!
Ordered food & drinks in restaurant on first night, after 2 cocktails on menu were out of stock and no sparkling water in stock either..ended up with a beer (which took 15 minutes to arrive)
Food worse however..ordered a steak and it had to be defrosted first so we waited 45min.
When it did come but before we could even take a bite ,the forgetful waitress earlier came over with the bill immediately to sign. Totally unacceptable as its wasn't a cheap meal where you can forgive poor service..(80gbp for 2 steaks)

On second night, ordered room service..no menu was left in the room so after calls to get one we ordered. Food came and all was fine, until 15 minutes later a knock came to say we needed to pay there and then for it. My husband asked for it to be charged to the room..but this didn't suffice. He had to get up and head down to reception to increase the deposit they take from you on check in.
To sum up this hotel and china..they are only happy when westerners are been ripped off..if they think they could be out of pocket (despite having your credit card info) they come knocking for payment!!
Very happy to be checking out.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear karen1945,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have to say it's pretty standard of a grand mercure, The level of comfort is very high and i have to say everything is as it should be. The train station entrance is also very close to the hotel making it very accessible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ickcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Ickcee,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Your satisfaction is the best encouragement for our work . We look forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy your every stay in our hotel.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Mercure Shanghai is a very nice hotel. The room was large and very comfortable. The metro station is literally 100 feet from the front door, which can take you to People's square in less than 10 minutes. All of the things make for a great hotel in Shanghai. Service was just ok. Lots of employees standing near the door doing nothing. One last thing, as everyone seems to mention, BEWARE of scam artists or anyone trying to befriend you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StandingByZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinatpr at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear StandingByZed,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. We will continue to work hard toward a better service. Looking forward to your next stay.

Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very nice property, actually I was surprised with how nice this hotel turned out to be. (actually I can not fault the hotel in way)

Nice comfortable bed (not hard). Stylish spacious rooms. Staff understand english and quest requests.

Not the best area, but there is a metro directly under the hotel, eg: Xintandi just 10 min or 4 stops.

Room Tip: High floor better room will give a view (and not be looking into the courtyard)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear SydneyTraveller001,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendations to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Your satisfaction is the best encouragement for our work . We look forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy your every stay in our hotel.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Mecure Hotel in Shanghai in May 2013. Good value for money and well finished bedroom and bathroom compared to others. Very stylish hotel lobby and drinks bar. The reception staff spoke good English. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a good selection of food.

Great location if you are planning to use the Train system, with the entrance just around the corner of the entry to the hotel. A great home away from home

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Sales Coordinator at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Shane409,

Thank you for your good comments and recommendation to Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. Guest comfort and well-being is our priority. We look forward to your revisit and wish you enjoy your every stay in Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya.

Best regards,
Michelle Tao
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#50 of 5,159 in Shanghai
896 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#115 of 5,159 in Shanghai
944 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Pullman Shanghai South
#25 of 5,159 in Shanghai
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Shanghai Jing An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Shanghai Jing An

Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Jing an District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Central)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#62 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $80 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Shanghai Jing An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Suzhou Creek, with easy access to commercial, shopping, entertainment and sightseeing hubs, the hotel is only a 3 minutes’ walk to the railway station and main metro lines, 25 minutes away from Shanghai Hong Qiao Hub and 40 minutes away from the Shanghai Pu Dong International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pullman Shanghai Jing An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing