We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Ranked #62 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great location, hotel is located on top of Shanghai Railway Station (exit #5). Reception were friendly although some of them had a bit of trouble with their English.

We were on the 19th floor, we had a non smoking room although the hallway did smell a bit of cigarettes. Room itself was very nice, quite spacious and very clean.

Hotel offers extra services like massages but I found those to be overpriced. They did recommend a day tour to Suzhou and the water village and that was definitely one of the highlights of our stay.

If you're after a hotel with great location this is definitely a good option. We always traveled by Metro (even coming straight out of the plane) and we never had any trouble.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisVermeersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear ChrisVermeersch


Thank you very much for your great comment and recommendations, we look forward welcoming you back in the nearest future.



regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Immaculate rooms, comfortable beds, fantastic buffet breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. What more do you need?

It is out of the main tourist track, but is only 3 stops on the metro to Peoples Square and Nanjing road, takes approx 6mins.

China still doesn't get the no smoking indoors approach so be prepared for some cigarette odour. Though saying that our room had no odour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Adam G


We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Barbara, California, USA
31
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I arrived at hotel around 9:15PM after a trans-Pacific flight. My check-in was less than smooth, and I didn't get settled into a room until 11:30PM... First room was a smoking room in spite of requesting a non-smoking room. Room was changed to a tiny room, so I asked to move again. The third room had a malfunctioning lock on the door. I wasn't going to move again, so an engineer was sent up to fix it. Generally, I'm not picky, but the front desk could have handled everything much better. I have the highest level of status in the hotel's loyalty program, but they didn't offer to upgrade me and refused when I requested it.
Rooms were quite nice, but hot since weather was unseasonably warm and AC was off for the winter.
Also, the entrance of the hotel is near a public toilet. So, if you walk past that on the way to hotel it's pretty pungent. I don't care, and it's not a big deal, but this isn't a cheap hotel.
Location next to Metro station is really convenient.
Overall, not a bad place. But I will spend my money elsewhere on the next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear guest


Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights, and found the hotel to be very comfortable. The guest hallways were dimly lit and very quiet. In fact there were signs requesting quiet near the guest rooms. This allowed a restful nap or night's sleep at any time of the day or night. The rooms were very nicely appointed with rich fabrics, and a comfortable bed. The bathroom offered only a shower, and no tub. The vanity area were was too dimly lit to see in the mirror for close work or applying make up.

The front desk staff was polite, yet not everyone spoke enough English to be able to deal with requests, such as an extra key. Complimentary WiFi was available in the lobby, however I found the connection to be slow, and difficult to download.

The location near the Metro and the train station was a plus. Al in all this was a nice place to stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nonna-Papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Nonna-Papa

Thank you very much for your great comment and recommendations, we look forward welcoming you back in the nearest future.



regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel was excellent around 18 months ago, we use it as a base for around this time, dodgy characters in the bar area, pimps peddling sex massages outside the front doors, this may have something to do with the the KTV access through the hotel.

This involes lots of shouting from drunk Chinese business men, vomit at the entrance regular, no wonder it is jet washed when you wake up in the morning...you will think it is raing here when you first look through the door.

Even when I write this review up the room service have got a penne pasta with cream sauce wrong twice.

Say no more

We casualy asked for an upgrade on our 10th visit and were told we were upgraded to the executive floor....were'nt and arfter an embarrasing engagement with the executive floor this will be my last

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank witneyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear witneyred

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pros: Good location very close to exit 5 of subway (line 1, Shanghai railway station), sufficient sizes of rooms on the club floors, courteous staff. Kindly been given late check out at 6pm.
Cons: The receptionist could not understand why I ask a free upgrade, although I'm a Le Club gold member and tried to explain her and show the card. Unacceptable for Mercury quality of breakfast and snacks at happy hour in the Club lounge. Meager selection of soft and alcoholic beverages. Unpleasant (sewage) smell in elevators.
Air conditioning was out of duty (+30 C in the room) and although we were transferred to the suite (it was made very quick after our request to invite technical personnel) there was a same problem with the air conditioning.
A printer in the Club lounge is out of oder, a printer in the business center seems never used before me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank snwwnd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear snwwnd s

Thank you for your choose the GRAND MERCURE Shanghai Zhongya . During stay the inconvenience to you and we apologize. The same time, we attach great importance to your comments, and have asked the relevant departments (Front Office,F&B,Engineering,Housekeeping) to strengthen the training and management of its staff, and have the opportunity to offer a better service for you in the near future. Look forward to your stay again.


regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed two excellent nights at the Grand Mercure. Our room - executive suite - was huge and very comfortable. The breakfast and the happy hour, both included in the price, were fantastic. The happy hour itself was equivalent to a good dinner. The location is handful, very close to the subway. All the staff was very gentle and helpful.
We heartily recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you can, choose executive suite or executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duduvida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Duduvida

Thank you very much for your great comment and recommendations, we look forward welcoming you back in the nearest future.



regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#48 of 5,147 in Shanghai
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#9 of 5,147 in Shanghai
1,622 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,147 in Shanghai
1,327 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#64 of 5,147 in Shanghai
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Shanghai Jing An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Shanghai Jing An

Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Jing an District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Central)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#61 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $87 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Shanghai Jing An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Suzhou Creek, with easy access to commercial, shopping, entertainment and sightseeing hubs, the hotel is only a 3 minutes’ walk to the railway station and main metro lines, 25 minutes away from Shanghai Hong Qiao Hub and 40 minutes away from the Shanghai Pu Dong International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Shanghai Jing An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing