We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sinking Ship”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Ranked #61 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel was excellent around 18 months ago, we use it as a base for around this time, dodgy characters in the bar area, pimps peddling sex massages outside the front doors, this may have something to do with the the KTV access through the hotel.

This involes lots of shouting from drunk Chinese business men, vomit at the entrance regular, no wonder it is jet washed when you wake up in the morning...you will think it is raing here when you first look through the door.

Even when I write this review up the room service have got a penne pasta with cream sauce wrong twice.

Say no more

We casualy asked for an upgrade on our 10th visit and were told we were upgraded to the executive floor....were'nt and arfter an embarrasing engagement with the executive floor this will be my last

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank witneyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear witneyred

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Shanghai Jing An
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pros: Good location very close to exit 5 of subway (line 1, Shanghai railway station), sufficient sizes of rooms on the club floors, courteous staff. Kindly been given late check out at 6pm.
Cons: The receptionist could not understand why I ask a free upgrade, although I'm a Le Club gold member and tried to explain her and show the card. Unacceptable for Mercury quality of breakfast and snacks at happy hour in the Club lounge. Meager selection of soft and alcoholic beverages. Unpleasant (sewage) smell in elevators.
Air conditioning was out of duty (+30 C in the room) and although we were transferred to the suite (it was made very quick after our request to invite technical personnel) there was a same problem with the air conditioning.
A printer in the Club lounge is out of oder, a printer in the business center seems never used before me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank snwwnd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear snwwnd s

Thank you for your choose the GRAND MERCURE Shanghai Zhongya . During stay the inconvenience to you and we apologize. The same time, we attach great importance to your comments, and have asked the relevant departments (Front Office,F&B,Engineering,Housekeeping) to strengthen the training and management of its staff, and have the opportunity to offer a better service for you in the near future. Look forward to your stay again.


regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed two excellent nights at the Grand Mercure. Our room - executive suite - was huge and very comfortable. The breakfast and the happy hour, both included in the price, were fantastic. The happy hour itself was equivalent to a good dinner. The location is handful, very close to the subway. All the staff was very gentle and helpful.
We heartily recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you can, choose executive suite or executive room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duduvida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Duduvida

Thank you very much for your great comment and recommendations, we look forward welcoming you back in the nearest future.



regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in a delux room on the 22nd floor with free Wifi. The modern room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was rich. The staff was helpful and able to comunicate in English. The hotel's location is excellent - 30 seconds from the subway station - line 1, exit 5. Definitely recommended and a great value!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abc846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear abc846 :


We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The room we stayed in was brilliant. It was really large, modern, comfortable and you could tell that no expense had been spared to give you that little bit of luxury. Location was as good as you can expect in a large city, we had no problems getting taxis to get around and see the sights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying_Scotzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Flyingscotsmen :

Thank you for your great comment and recommendations, we look forward welcoming you back soon

regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Troisième séjour en chambre exécutive avec accès à l’exécutive club lounge et certainement le dernier dans cet hôtel. Le Check in et out très compliqués et longs, le personnel est très mal formé et pas à l’écoute des clients. Pour le reste de l’hôtel, le personnel ne parle même pas l’anglais, ne comprends rien ( exemple : après avoir demandé de la « sparkling water » et l’ensemble du personnel du bar ne comprenant pas, nous montrons sur la carte la Perrier » mais le personnel ne comprends pas !!!Pour le l’exécutive club lounge, nous arrivons 4 minutes après l’heure ( 19H34 au lieu de 19H30 ) et il n’est plus possible de se faire servir !!Conclusions : nous favorisons un hôtel français à l’étranger, et non seulement personne ne parle français, presque personne ne parle anglais, aucun sens commercial, et du personnel très mal formé. Nous réservons environ 3 à 4 chambres en exécutive 3 à 4 fois par an et nous avons décidé cette fois ci de ne plus y retourner.

Third stay in an executive room with access to the executive club lounge and certainly the last in this hotel. The check in and out very complicated and time consuming, the staff is poorly trained and not listening to the customers. For the rest of the hotel staff did not even speak English, do not understand (eg after asking the "sparkling water" and all the bar staff did not understand, we show on the map the Perrier "but the staff do not understand! for the executive club lounge, we arrive 4 minutes after the hour (instead of 7:34 p.m. 7:30 p.m.) and it is no longer possible to be served! Conclusions: we favor a French hotel abroad, and not only nobody speaks French, almost nobody speaks English, no commercial sense, and very poorly trained staff. we reserve about 3 to 4 executive rooms 3 to 4 times a year and we decided this time not to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear chav53
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Staff who handled check in was far below average. Room Card was not handled over but just 'thrown' onto the check in desk. When asked for another card, he cautioned that if I dont return, I shall be penalised. Breakfast area was dimly lit and cramp with too many tables and pillars. staff was cutting raw meat and the handled cooked food without gloves or washing hands
Lousy feeling.Wont return even though the location is near train station and subway.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeatherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear
Thanks for staying with us during your last trip in Shanghai, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation, we are already provid complimentary WIFI from the 17th to 28th floor as well as in executive floors and lunge, all public areas and restaurant of the hotels.

At the same we are already asked the relevant departments (Front Office & Food and beverage department) to strengthen the training and management of its staff, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#44 of 5,112 in Shanghai
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 5,112 in Shanghai
604 reviews
Pullman Shanghai South
#35 of 5,112 in Shanghai
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Shanghai Jing An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Shanghai Jing An

Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Jing an District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Central)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#61 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $77 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Shanghai Jing An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Suzhou Creek, with easy access to commercial, shopping, entertainment and sightseeing hubs, the hotel is only a 3 minutes’ walk to the railway station and main metro lines, 25 minutes away from Shanghai Hong Qiao Hub and 40 minutes away from the Shanghai Pu Dong International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Shanghai Jing An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing