We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we'll go no more ! - Nous n'irons plus !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Ranked #64 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Troisième séjour en chambre exécutive avec accès à l’exécutive club lounge et certainement le dernier dans cet hôtel. Le Check in et out très compliqués et longs, le personnel est très mal formé et pas à l’écoute des clients. Pour le reste de l’hôtel, le personnel ne parle même pas l’anglais, ne comprends rien ( exemple : après avoir demandé de la « sparkling water » et l’ensemble du personnel du bar ne comprenant pas, nous montrons sur la carte la Perrier » mais le personnel ne comprends pas !!!Pour le l’exécutive club lounge, nous arrivons 4 minutes après l’heure ( 19H34 au lieu de 19H30 ) et il n’est plus possible de se faire servir !!Conclusions : nous favorisons un hôtel français à l’étranger, et non seulement personne ne parle français, presque personne ne parle anglais, aucun sens commercial, et du personnel très mal formé. Nous réservons environ 3 à 4 chambres en exécutive 3 à 4 fois par an et nous avons décidé cette fois ci de ne plus y retourner.

Third stay in an executive room with access to the executive club lounge and certainly the last in this hotel. The check in and out very complicated and time consuming, the staff is poorly trained and not listening to the customers. For the rest of the hotel staff did not even speak English, do not understand (eg after asking the "sparkling water" and all the bar staff did not understand, we show on the map the Perrier "but the staff do not understand! for the executive club lounge, we arrive 4 minutes after the hour (instead of 7:34 p.m. 7:30 p.m.) and it is no longer possible to be served! Conclusions: we favor a French hotel abroad, and not only nobody speaks French, almost nobody speaks English, no commercial sense, and very poorly trained staff. we reserve about 3 to 4 executive rooms 3 to 4 times a year and we decided this time not to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear chav53
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Staff who handled check in was far below average. Room Card was not handled over but just 'thrown' onto the check in desk. When asked for another card, he cautioned that if I dont return, I shall be penalised. Breakfast area was dimly lit and cramp with too many tables and pillars. staff was cutting raw meat and the handled cooked food without gloves or washing hands
Lousy feeling.Wont return even though the location is near train station and subway.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeatherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear
Thanks for staying with us during your last trip in Shanghai, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation, we are already provid complimentary WIFI from the 17th to 28th floor as well as in executive floors and lunge, all public areas and restaurant of the hotels.

At the same we are already asked the relevant departments (Front Office & Food and beverage department) to strengthen the training and management of its staff, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Better service than last time I stayed. Great location, subway station next by.
Lobby has free wifi, you do need to pay the internet fee in the room. If you ask the hotel to call the taxi for you, taxi driver will charge you extra fee for the calling service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaomimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya.
We look forward welcoming you back soon.




regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been to the Hotel already a few times. So we decided to spend a week during chinese new year in Shanghai and booked a Suite on the Executive Floor (which gives you the benefit of some snacks and cocktails in the evening on the executive floor).

The Hotel was rather empty the first day, so the executive floor was not opened for breakfast. From the second day on the service in the breakfast area was struggeling a bit as the hotel started to refill with guest (no enough seats available during main breakfast time, slow refill of cereals, etc.)

Luckily the Hotel opened the executive floor for breakfast from the third day on (after we asked :-)).

All in all a nice Hotel if you want to use the benefits from an executive floor for a reasonable price. The location near the railway station allows you to reach all major sights either by METRO or Taxi easily.

For us always a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Dr D


Thank you very much for your great comment and recommendations, we look forward welcoming you back in the nearest future.



regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The stay was generally good, we stayed in the Club room. Service was so-so, staff were not too friendly and helpful.

We had a hard time locating the hotel at first. but once you are there, its fine. lots of shopping, convenient shop and food around. Pretty near to the MRT station, but its a little confusing there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleenlsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Colleenlsw

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to let us know about your stay.I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.



sincerely yours

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

despite some deficits with their promotions and "supply chain": Two of my choices from their special wine promotion were not available. I can recall that the same wine wasn't available already in October. Anyway: It is a nice hotel with good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear
Thank you for your choose the GRAND MERCURE Shanghai Zhongya hotel. During stay the inconvenience to you and we apologize.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location by the railway/bus station. Stayed in an executive suite on 25th floor and the room was above expectations. Concierge lounge access is well worth the extra money as it is very well equipped with computers, free drinks, and light snacks. Good wifi in the room and lounge, very fast. Only had the breakfast in the restaurant which had a big selection and was good quality. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDM966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureShanghai, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear JDM966
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. We look forward welcoming you back soon.




regards

Jenny Yang
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#50 of 5,159 in Shanghai
896 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#114 of 5,159 in Shanghai
943 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Pullman Shanghai South
#25 of 5,159 in Shanghai
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Shanghai Jing An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Shanghai Jing An

Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Jing an District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Central)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#62 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $80 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Shanghai Jing An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Suzhou Creek, with easy access to commercial, shopping, entertainment and sightseeing hubs, the hotel is only a 3 minutes’ walk to the railway station and main metro lines, 25 minutes away from Shanghai Hong Qiao Hub and 40 minutes away from the Shanghai Pu Dong International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pullman Shanghai Jing An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing