We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Ranked #65 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

68 Yuan (£6.80) for a bottle of water placed by the kettle so when we arrived, thirsty! we used the water with NO WARNING of the price. Why should a hotel like this which is superb stoop so low to increase their revenue On the second day the replacement water had a ticket around the top so they are well aware of this malpractice as others must have been caught out by this and complained. Maybe they felt if we made the same mistake again we would complain too vigourously, too right we would have. What a great shame to spoil what was otherwise an excellently priced stay. I shared the room with a friend so the water cost me a quater of the room rate! BEWARE. Excellent stay if you take your own water. We had one breakfast free and paid for the other 88 Yuan. Average 44 Yuan. OK at this price but worth no more.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Blair226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Blair226:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Our Executive Housekeeper has been instructed to ensure that all price tag are placed accordingly on all minibar items in order to address the problem and prevent future occurrence..

Our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage Manager are reviewing the breakfast offering to ensure that a valuable product is offered every morning

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great hotel, would definitely recommend!

The girls at the Executive Lounge were all very helpful and nice and the food spread was also very good!

We had issues with the internet in the beginning but we called Reception and they resolved it straight away. Concierge was also very helpful and assisted us with booking train tickets and calling taxis.

Room was also very nice. We appreciated the fact that the extra bed I have requested was ready when we arrived.

In sum, had a great stay at this hotel and will not hesitate to book again when we go back to Shanghai!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Michelle L:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brando47
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is our first visit to an Accor Hotel and we were definitely impressed.

We stayed at the Executive Club Room and had the following benefits:
1) Free Breakfast - spread was good, variety was wide
2) Free Internet Connection - in the Club room and
at Executive Lounge
a) Free drinks throughout the day
b) Free pre-dinner snacks from 5.30 - 7pm
c) Free 10 mins Shoulder and back massage
3) Late check out.

Pros
1) Convenient Location - near to subway and Shanghai Railway Station
2) Shopping mall across the road and many small restaurants around
3) Beds were the most comfortable with Feather Topper on top of bed.
4) Variety of pillows to choose from (memory foam, neck pillow, etc)
5) 2 bottles of Complimentary water each day.
6) Staff spoke excellent English and were helpful especially the Concierge.

Cons
1) Room a bit small cos the bathroom takes quite alot of space.

Overall, we had a excellent stay at Grand Mercure Zhongya and would definitely come back again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Stay at the Club Rooms. Benefits outweigh the costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheah L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The bed gave me some of the best sleep I have had in a hotel. The service personell were excellent in all they did and were never too busy to help.
The only downsides i found were no clear place for luggage in the rooms. The Wardrobe was cluttered with the Iron and other items.Could be better arranged to allow luggage to be stored.
I still don't understand why you need to pay for Internet access in your room when even lower budget and rated hotels give for free. At 80 rmb per day, this does increase the price of the room somewhat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winemaker1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Winemaker1963:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Everything in this hotel was pleasant , if I have to quote a few things it will be :

Room a bit to small, buffet with no many options, need more people who speak English, nothing wrong with the service, we all are very please with the people who look after us, they were very professional, specially the people at the door very helpful.

Thank you again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieros07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Pieros07:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#102 of 5,222 in Shanghai
972 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#54 of 5,222 in Shanghai
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,112 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Pullman Shanghai South
#25 of 5,222 in Shanghai
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Shanghai Jing An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Shanghai Jing An

Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Jing an District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Central)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $85 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Shanghai Jing An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in a convenient city centre location, the Pullman Shanghai Jing An stands out for its contemporary yet classic design features and provides discerning business travelers with a welcome sanctuary amidst the hustle-bustle of metropolitan Shanghai. Close to the Suzhou Creek, with easy access to commercial, shopping, entertainment and sightseeing hubs, the hotel is only a 3 minutes’ walk to the railway station and main metro lines, 25 minutes away from Shanghai Hong Qiao Hub and 40 minutes away from the Shanghai Pu Dong International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Shanghai Jing An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing