We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Ranked #63 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is our first visit to an Accor Hotel and we were definitely impressed.

We stayed at the Executive Club Room and had the following benefits:
1) Free Breakfast - spread was good, variety was wide
2) Free Internet Connection - in the Club room and
at Executive Lounge
a) Free drinks throughout the day
b) Free pre-dinner snacks from 5.30 - 7pm
c) Free 10 mins Shoulder and back massage
3) Late check out.

Pros
1) Convenient Location - near to subway and Shanghai Railway Station
2) Shopping mall across the road and many small restaurants around
3) Beds were the most comfortable with Feather Topper on top of bed.
4) Variety of pillows to choose from (memory foam, neck pillow, etc)
5) 2 bottles of Complimentary water each day.
6) Staff spoke excellent English and were helpful especially the Concierge.

Cons
1) Room a bit small cos the bathroom takes quite alot of space.

Overall, we had a excellent stay at Grand Mercure Zhongya and would definitely come back again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Stay at the Club Rooms. Benefits outweigh the costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheah L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The bed gave me some of the best sleep I have had in a hotel. The service personell were excellent in all they did and were never too busy to help.
The only downsides i found were no clear place for luggage in the rooms. The Wardrobe was cluttered with the Iron and other items.Could be better arranged to allow luggage to be stored.
I still don't understand why you need to pay for Internet access in your room when even lower budget and rated hotels give for free. At 80 rmb per day, this does increase the price of the room somewhat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winemaker1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Winemaker1963:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Everything in this hotel was pleasant , if I have to quote a few things it will be :

Room a bit to small, buffet with no many options, need more people who speak English, nothing wrong with the service, we all are very please with the people who look after us, they were very professional, specially the people at the door very helpful.

Thank you again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieros07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Pieros07:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Well, after many Hiltons, Sheratons, Intercontinental, ….it was the first time I tried an ACCOR member. And actually a good experience.
From the beginning, fast check in, polite staff and fluent in English.
We lost our iPhone in lobby but one of the bell man's found that and we got very happy. A special thanks to him! The concierge man (Horman) was very polite and friendly.
Rooms modern & ideal, Location perfect (very near to subway and train station). great breakfast.
We booked an Executive club room and it really deserve! Breakfast, WiFi, club longe access with happy hours for free.
Try the washrooms in the lobby!! Those have a high technology!!
The only negative aspect may be: No pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALI-IRAN-Mashhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear accorhotels traveller:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Located right around the corner from Shanghai railway station, so very very easy to get around Shanghai from here by metro. Checkin at Accor priority desk, was cold, unfriendly, but this seems to be a trait in China. Room we booked was an executive room on club floor. Room was fantastic, warm and modern decor, floor to ceiling window, with a view of the night skyline of Shanghai. Shower, turn down, everything was perfect, until I smelt smoke. The switch on my bedside lamp started smoking until eventually the bulb blew. A little worrying, returned to reception and was moved room in the same grumpy manner as checkin. Second room was 2 doors down, and we continued our stay happy in a room that was exactly the same as before. Breakfast was a small selection in the Club lounge, and would recommend going to the main restaurant for the selection. Note, get in early, after 9am they go very slow on replenishing the food. Had major issues just getting an orange juice one morning, and forget about a newspaper. 7am seems to be the best time. Concierge was helpful, arranging train tickets etc, however if you arrive by taxi or any car after 8pm, do not expect to get help or even a second glance from the bellboys or concierge on the forecourt. The hotel has a Gentlemens club in the complex, and their full attention only goes to the arrival of the rich men of Shanghai coming for a night out. The lobby bar was comfortable, and the prices ok, and we had a few drinks in the evening here. Checkout, grumpy..

In summary, the room is the key here, it is awesome, we actually had a duvet day during our stay as it was so comfortable, everything else is letting it down, they are just so close to being a good 5 star........

Room Tip: Go with the executive floor, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Kevin M:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed @ the Grand Mercure, Shanhai for a total of 10x nights from end of July- August, this was my first ever trip to China, I had a very pleasant stay thanks to the great staff who were very helpful and always there if I needed any directions, advice or information on what to do and where to go, lead by "Dennis Hu" the front office manager.
The restaurant staff lead by "Kelly Liu" were also very cheerful and always ready to top up your cup of coffee or tea.

The buffet breakfast 6.30am - 10.30am was plentiful.

My room was awesome with a great View and the aircon was just right. There's fresh daily supply of shampo, hair conditioner etc and "TWO" new toothbrushes.
Only thing though there were no English TV channels, and my Tunein radio-app for some reason didn't work at all, I was always re-directed to a local Chinese radio station instead but that's only a minor thing.

The Gym was pretty new, well equipped and probably one of the best I've seen in a hotel, it had everything you needed.

There are lots of Chinese restaurants nearby that are very reasonably priced and a there's also Star Bucks at the entrance of the shopping centre which is located across the road from the hotel.
You must have a ride on the Maglev train recommended by "Dennis Hu" The Front office manager, from the Station to the airport with speed of 430-431 KLMS per Hour which took only 7 minutes at a cost of 40 RMB which is about Aust $6.20 at the time as the Aust $ was pretty strong.

I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a "NICE" looking, clean and affordable hotel that is literally a stone's throw from Line 5 Shanghai station which is situated @ the corner of the hotel's driveway.

Room Tip: 0n My Opnion The Whole Hotel Seemed Peaceful & Quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray01e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibaud G, Manager at Pullman Shanghai Jing An, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Ray01e:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya by Accor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thibaud Geffroy
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#112 of 5,161 in Shanghai
950 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Shanghai South
#25 of 5,161 in Shanghai
313 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#50 of 5,161 in Shanghai
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Shanghai Jing An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Shanghai Jing An

Address: No.330 Meiyuan Road, Jing an District, Shanghai 200070, China (Formerly Grand Mercure Shanghai Central)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#61 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $79 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Shanghai Jing An 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Suzhou Creek, with easy access to commercial, shopping, entertainment and sightseeing hubs, the hotel is only a 3 minutes’ walk to the railway station and main metro lines, 25 minutes away from Shanghai Hong Qiao Hub and 40 minutes away from the Shanghai Pu Dong International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Shanghai Jing An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Shanghai Zhongya Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing