We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, far away from airport and city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guoman Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #108 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The rooms are very nice with great views and good bathrooms (the rainwater shower was excellent). Strange lighting and electric curtain opener system that I was never able to fully figure out however. Stayed here because it is near East China Normal University (where I had business), but it is inconvenient for doing regular tourist stuff in the Bund or Pudong areas. It is also very very far from Pudong International Airport. The breakfast buffet was fine, with western and chinese food options like congee and noodles. At dinner time the restaurant buffet was less than acceptable though: the food looked old, like it had been sitting out for hours and hours, and the sushi, NOT sitting on ice, was very scary. The hotel staff were fine and helpful, although they often looked harried and didn't pay close attention to what was being asked of them. The wi-fi worked great in the rooms (for a fee) and in the public areas.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anamlopez56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Guoman Hotel Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We are backpackers. I booked months in advance but got the feeling the reception looked down on us. They were not friendly and kinda laughed when my VISA didn't work (it works anywhere else) and they didn't believe I could pay the deposit cash. The room and bathroom is okay but when sun comes up the glass of the windows expands because of the heat and it makes a loud cracking sound for a couple of hours. The view over the park is nice. Breakfast is pretty good and offers western food. The Bar is overpriced, so is the sushi bar, which has the worst sushi and the worst service in the world. Pool is nice but you have to wear a cap which you can buy for ~10 dollars. Location is quite far away from the center of Shanghai and a taxi ride costs 40-50RMB. Internet connection is expensive and very slow. The hotel was nearly empty in september. So is the Guoman Shopping Mall. Do not recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Roel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in two different nights on a business trip. The rooms were really nice. The shower dropped water from the ceiling and the walls of the shower were glass. The cute was awesome. I had a view of the lake and the two malls there. The breakfast buffet was awesome. There were so many variety of food. You could get fried eggs as well as omelettes, bacon and different types of sausages. There were Chinese breakfast foods like congee and dim sum and the list goes on. The hotel is close to a KFC, Starbucks a Pizza Hut and various eateries.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dekkion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Room was good. Wifi free at lobby only. Bed quite comfy. No matter what number you press on the phone it was directed to Operator who received a call - guess not all staff can communicate in English. On my third morning the room service breakfast came with no ketchup. I called twice and waited in between those calls for almost 20-25 minutes before the restaurant supervisor/manager brought it up to me with a plate of fruit for free. I just learned when checking out that the whole breakfast was free of charge for this delay.
Cleaning lady cannot speak English. Whatever language you speak to her will be answered in Mandarin but with a smile. It's a sort of fun to communicate with gestures instead.
Concierge is good, and checking-in, out is also satisfactory.
Location may be suitable for those who do not go out far or a lot. Office is within walking distance so it is ok for me to mingle with friends just around the corner.
Tesco is only across the street, so convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nooaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I almost forgot about this hotel. i was stayed in July 2011, only for three days (i think) for business purpose. Unfortunately, i was very busy and barely took any pics. What i remember about my room, it is big including the bed and there was a cake from my company placed in the working desk. Very nice.

I also don't remember if there was a WiFi or not, so you've better check it first. Fyi, you can't access FB and Gmail while in here :-(

Since i'm a Muslim, i already know that i should careful of what to eat because it is China so alternate food for me for breakfast in the restaurant is limited.

As i remember, there was a mall besides the hotel, but i don't know it was open or not yet. However, quite far from Shanghai Pudong International Airport (probably around one hour without traffic because i was landed in the evening).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masriati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've stayed here twice now, and it was a big improvement the second time around. The check in was efficient and asking for a quiet room, I was given a corner room at the end of the corridor, so no disturbance during 8 nights. The room was spotlessly clean ( not like my first visit) and a very good size. I traded off a clear view of the park for a view of my companies office(!), but the corner rooms are really recommended for light and calm. Breakfast was superb on all but one day, and the evening options are not so bad for a hotel. The Japanese restaurant is good value for lunch, but the GB Bar food was distinctly average. However just across the road are numerous great and cheaper places including Ajisan Noodle and The Southern Beauty. Gym is well equipped and clean. Many of my colleagues use the Marriot across the way, but I find it too busy and not in the same class. Totally recommended.

Room Tip: Lake view is great, but corner rooms are very quiet
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Guoman chain are more famous for their UK based hotels, this being one of their first moves in Asia. The hotel is very clean, rooms are big, light, airy and very good value for money. Its close to Hongqiao airport (15mins by taxi) so good if your in China and traveling to other locations from the airport. Its not close to the center of town (12km to the bund), an off peak taxi journey would be 25 mins to the center of Shanghai, longer to Pudong....but you can take a taxi to a subway station and move around more quickly and cheaply underground.
I'm not so familiar with this part of Shanghai, but I assume the Guoman believe it must be an up and coming area, which will become very developed in future. I think you are getting close to 5 star service for a very good price, in a hotel thats close to the airport, but a bit further from the center of town. Business travellers probably a good option, tourists depends on your budget and where in town you want to be.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#90 of 5,111 in Shanghai
752 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#12 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guoman Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guoman Hotel Shanghai

Address: 1 Tower Guosheng Center, No.388 Dadu River Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200062, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changfeng Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $91 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guoman Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guoman Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing