We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang
Ranked #2,611 of 4,997 Hotels in Shanghai
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Im currently traveling China, its a 01 month trip, first step in Shanghai I have been in a little hostel called LE TOUR in the same street of IBIS, so I told to myself I have one more step in the end of the trip in Shanghai so I can stay in IBIS at least is the same price $38 US and for sure I will have a little better confort because is IBIS but is always a brand.
I did my reservation for 5 nights using ORBITZ.COM where I prepaid the 5 nights using my AMERICAN EXPRESS card.

Once I get in the hotel with my ORBITZ confirmation the hotel did not recognize it like a valid website (?) and continous the recepcionist said that THEY DONT ACEPT AMEX cards and I should give to then a cash deposit or another credit car to garantee my stay otherwise I will be not acepted in the hotel or something like that (no english at all, this was said using the google translate from reception desk).

This was around midnight, I was already super tired so P paid the same amount in cash for the 5 nights as a deposit for the 5 nights, I was thinking that will be easy to explain to a manager next day that I already prepaid it by credit car using the ORBITZ website.

Next morning I went to reception to explain that and I got a NO, always using the google translate, NO WE CANT GIVE YOU THE DEPOSIT CASH BACK ONCE YOUR PAYMENT WAS NOT CONFIRMED, we have not records, nothing that confirmed your payment so we need to keep your deposit to pay your stay.

So I called ORBITZ who confirmed the payment and called the hotel, they spent 40 minutes talking due the language issue, after the call ORBITZ agent said that they understood...NO THEY DONT, manager in a very bad way after talk 40 minutes with ORBITZ agent said that he will not give me my cash deposit back once he did not understand what the man on the phone was saying...

I called my bank who sent an email with the transition confirmation, once I got the email I showed it to the man and nothing, he did understood and did not believe...so now I have 01 more day here in this hotel, trying every day at least 3 hours with different agents and this man called manager explaining and showing then the same emails etc and nothing, they still have my cash deposit.

I tried to call the police...never mind they dont speak English....

I tried to make my friend who does speak Mandarin with then to explain everything again...never mind they dont understand...

I called ACCOR QG to send a communication to the hotel, and believe me the ACCOR CONFIRMED my payment, THE QG of ACCOR confirmed my payment and this man here doesnt believe that I paid ahahah

Well, now is 3.54am and Im waiting the email from ACCOR QG to this hotel copying me confirming the payment, so hopefully I will get my cash deposit back before I leave on the 28th.

This big issue apart, lets talk about the room, things to impress...

The towels everyday with yellow spots on it, not sure if was some product or dirty, so I found towels in the carrefour and never used those from the hotel, looks very dirty.

Room super dirty, HK never cleaned it, just made the bed in 4 nights so far.

02 BOTLES OF WATER EXPIRED since 01 month available in the room.

Mosquitos in the room.

From the 03 TV channels available just 01 works.

Furniture and strutucture of the room very old.

Bathroom has a leak that never stop so you can hear it the whole night

All this issues were reported using google translate to the reception without any feedback.

And to finalize, every night after that Housekeeping made the room the cleaner left 02 cards with huckers numbers, names and photos, CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?

OF COURSE I have photos of all this amazing things and I will be posting as soon I get home, I just cant believe that this hotel can put a flag up saying that is an IBIS from a big company as ACCOR.

WHATA SHAME.

THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE, if perhaps you will be in this zone go straight to a little hostel call LE TOUR, little hostel, but you can get a private room, the reception speaks perfect English and they are so kind, just loved then I want to kill myself to have changed then to this horrible hotel with this horrible manager or wherever he is...no nametag and not uniform...he never gave me his name as well.

Hope this review can help you. DONT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edvaldo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    27
    26
    12
    18
See reviews for
5
10
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

difficult to find this hotel, the towel was not clean too old, we can't sleep well because many mosquito, the breakfast very bad not recommend for this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perfect_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is not located in a 5 star area but it does give you a better idea of what life is like for most Shanghai people. It is located next to a metro station only 1 stop from line 2 which is the metro line that connects the two Shanghai airports. Breakfast is also great value and has a great range of food to suit any taste. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget, it is great for value, location and cultural awareness.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanghaiPhil_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
343 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This fairly new IBIS in Shanghai is difficult to find as it's set on a pedestrian/cycle only street and Taxis have no idea where it is. It's about 100m from the Jinshajiang MRT staion, and about 200m from the Caoyang MRT station, and sits just next to the MRT track between the two stations. It's worth locating because it's a short walk to Jinshajiang station, and then connects by line 4, then 2 to People's Squre, mid Shanghai.

Line 2, comes in from Pudong airport to Zhongsan then line 4 to Jinshajiang (1hr 10min ride) and the same line comes in from Hongqiao Airport and train station. Very convenient.

If you're lost, ask the taxi to drop you at Jinshajiang staion, and walk the 100m plus to the hotel.

Hotel is a 5 storey building with good clean creams (IBIS standard), typical IBIS lobby, with small cafe. A Karaoke lounge is by the side of the hotel with poor singing, so do remember to ask for a room at the back, facing a housing complex. The front rooms also face the MRT track and you can hear the rumble of the train in the background.

Rooms are small, two bed rooms larger than the one bed room, small table, one chair, open closet. I always like the IBIS shower booth as it is usually in white, clean, glass shower enclosure and no musty smell from the drainage system. Small shower gives you just enough room to shower and dry yourself without extravagance. IBIS beds in China are very comfortable, for non China people. They are soft and firm, whereas hotels like 168, 268, Home Inn only have one standard for beds - extra hard.

A reviewer remarked about the wifi. There is free wifi in the lobby for all to use but the internet connection in the room is by wire (they provide the wire). We carry a small netbook, hook it up to the wired LAN, and then use a hotspot software to broadcast wifi within our room. Broadband has a good speed.

We did not try the food at the hotel but their breakfast is 20Yuan, China style, as we prefer eating out and it's a short 30m walk to the right of the hotel where there are street hawkers, a fruit stall, and a restaurant that serves very good rice porridge, noodles and the Shanghai specialty - steamed soup dumplings. Try them for a very low price. The street hawkers sell crepe with egg, charcoal cooked bread (sweet and saltish) and a wheat pancake with chives. All are delicious.

Prices are also low.... I suspect because the place is so difficult to find !! Ha ha.

Happy travel.

Room Tip: 100m to Jinshajiang station, 5-6 stops to People's Square. Restaurants and street food at the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Nice room,affordable price,good location near Shanghai Metro,but there is no wifi like they show in their website. They just provide internet LAN cable so I can't use any of my ipod,ipad,or cellphone. But overall this otel is quite nice!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank putravanse7en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Seems this hotel is owned locally but managed by Ibis... i saw cracks on the walls in my room! Cannot watch BBC / HBO on first night of stay... maintenance level is slighter lower than average Ibis.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
#2,513 of 4,997 in Shanghai
352 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Ibis (Shanghai Waigaoqiao)
Ibis (Shanghai Waigaoqiao)
#2,428 of 4,997 in Shanghai
49 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
#596 of 4,997 in Shanghai
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden
Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden
#1,545 of 4,997 in Shanghai
378 reviews
Changshou Road
Shanghai City Central Youth hostel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang

Property: ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang
Address: No.1111 North Kaixuan Road Putuo, Shanghai 200085, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,611 of 4,997 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing