We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Very nice and comfortable room. Feeling like at home and price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viccming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Many thanks for your positive review.

It is wonderful to hear that you feel at home.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 281 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 night in Shanghai.
During the staying period, the front desk staff helped us a lot, especially Tommy. Although he was busy, he spent time to solve our problems. He was very helpful. He always smiles. All of us felt comfortable in staying in your hotel.
It is not located at the centre of Shanghai, but it is near the underground railway station.
Moreover, my daughters like the loft very much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Many thanks for your positive review and I am pleased to know that you and your daughters enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you not only like our room product but also our service levels. Thank you also for your kind words about our service which I have shared with my colleagues.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights(4persons) and all of us enjoyed our stay here.
Pros:
-Room has a modern feel and very spacious (we got a loft so it had 2 floors plus the kitchen and microwave. Good for those who want to save on eating out)
-Hotel is near the MRT station (maybe a 5min walk)
-Free Wifi in the room
-There is a mall beside the hotel where you can do your groceries
-Starbucks beside the hotel
-Most of the reception people know how to speak english
-Value for money
Cons:
-The free buffet breakfast was not very good. (only a few choices available). It isn't worth the RMB 68.
-The hotel is far from the center of the city but if you're willing to take the MRT, you'll be there in no time. (only one interchange)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aids888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Many thanks for calling us "Great place" and I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are much honored to receive your positive feedback and take your concern seriously. We will try our best to improve our breakfast service and live up to your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Modena is a great place to stay, very modern, clean and in a great location, right next to the metro.There is also a shopping centre and supermarket across the road which is very handy.

The cleaners were really friendly and very helpful. Bringing us extra plates, knifes and folks and even a kettle at one point.

The only issue we had was in our delux twin room all the heaters face the upstairs so in the upstairs bedroom it was red hot but the other bedroom/living area was freezing.

The bed was lovely and comfortable.

I would recommend if traveling with another couple to get seperate rooms, as there is no privacy as all due to the open plan and from the upstairs bedroom you can see through the glass into the bathroom.

Do not let the above put you off just use ensure you get a single room if traveling with other couple.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Many thanks for having taken the time to share your positive views about your recent stay with us.

We very much appreciate that you describe “Modena is a great place to stay”. It is rewarding to hear that you not only appreciate the physical aspect of our hotel but also the service we provide.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

These are great apartments, clean and a little bit different being loft style. Bit far to walk to all the main places, but Metro is right next to the apartments so easy from that perspective. Staff at front desk are okay with English, but in restaurant they know very little. Over all recommend this as a good business hotel / apartment

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We very much appreciate your positive review and thanks for having shared it with the tripadisor.com.

We are particularly proud to know that you describe our hotel as "Great place to stay".

We are continuously working on keeping and improving our property up to date.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights (2 adults and 2 children), and longer would have been great. The hotel is ideally located next to a metro station that is within a shopping centre and has a supermarket. (metro is very easy to use, somewhat like Singapore). We enjoyed the very comfortable beds (pillows were a bit high, but mattress was the best we slept on in China). The shower was great, although the bathroom was a bit small and dark. The room includes a spacious fridge, safe and desk, along with some basic cooking equipment. We hadn't booked breakfast when we booked on booking.com but were told by staff that it should have been included - so a bonus luxury for us! Breakfast was quite nice with a range of local and western choices which varied each day. The staff at reception did not speak a lot of English, but plenty to get by. We stayed on the 11th floor and had nice views from the balcony of the local apartment gardens.
Absolutely recommended for a family visit to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank memee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback about your recent stay at Modena Putuo Shanghai. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with the tripadvisor.com community.

We are delighted to hear that you describe our hotel as "Great Hotel".

We hope to welcome you soon again back to Shanghai.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

First of all, this appartment hotel makes a very modern and nice impression.

We were a party of four and booked a Loft Studio Deluxe Twin. Despite having two double beds on two floors, this apartment is not suited for two couples. From the top floor, you can look through the glass walls of the bath room directly into the shower. We also had only two bath towels, two bath robes etc., and housekeeping brought quickly two more sets. But everything else was only available twice: glasses, spoons, forks etc. So even when it can occupy four adults, it wasn't ment to be. Please change your advertisement then, Fraser.

WiFi is unusable. Hassle free connecting, but hardly any bandwith, most sites blocked. Good enough for emails. On a positive note, I could connect via a VPN, which is otherwise quite often blocked in Chinese hotels as well.

Breakfast offered some variaty including Chinese and Western style (even offering cheese).

The room didn't offer any chairs except one for the desk. Otherwise nothing. No chance to sit down and read a book. Nice balcony, but again with no chairs.

Somehow design won over functionality and use in this building.

The area was rather residential, but a Metro station was close by.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Y, Guest Relations Manager at Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Many thanks for your positive feedback about your recent stay at Modena Putuo Shanghai. We appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts with the tripadvisor.com community.

I am disappointed to know of your experience of room structure, amenities, and WiFi during your stay. We have reviewed your constructive comments internally and certainly strive to do better in the future.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Carol Yang
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
#4 of 5,206 in Shanghai
218 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#65 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai

Address: No.1, Lane 58, Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 394 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: $83 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modena Putuo Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing