We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome to shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #26 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great welcome to shanghai”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I recently took a tour of shanghai, Wuxi,shangzhou china. The Renaissance was our first stop, very nice start to the tour, warm, stylish rooms, great buffet breakfast, helpful staff. After a few stops at other hotel, I was looking forward to getting back to shanghai for the Renaissance. The location is great, just off downtown to escape the noise, a block away from the subway, all transportation, malls and good to tour the area on your own and discover the neighborhood. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 6 floor and above offers a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filetmignon96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    160
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
53
93
29
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The location is not that far from the center of city. So not very cloud, and easy to fall asleep at nights. The executive lounge is good and provide various good food. Basically, their hotel associates are quite helpful for my stay. I will definitely stay here again when I back to Shanghai. The only not good for business travel is if you have breakfast in the morning on lobby floor, you may have with the tour groups.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our tour.After sleeping in extremely hard beds in Xian and Suzhou, we were grateful to arrive in this great hotel. The staff was friendly, the beds and the rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated. The hotel is situation directly below the subway station which was very convenient. We took the elevator to the underground level and were surprised to find a full city underneath the hotel, filled with shops, restaurants and most importantly the subway. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Shanghai!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ali250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

has always trust the renaissance brand and this time no doubts at all. check in was fast and within minutes, u are up to your room especially a day travelling to reach the hotel. the reception was nicely decorated and gave a relax feeling.

room was spacious, clean and the design of its open concept with the bathroom, a little different with other renassance i had been to. breakfast was great maybe the waitress can be more cordial in service than just asking for room numbers. the only problem encountered here was taxi seemed to be difficult to get in the morning and the bell boys didnt seem to be quite friendly but still try to help thou.

location wise, great. the subway station is just across the road and connected underground via the shopping center next to the hotel. other than the shopping center, opposite the road, you can find a few restaurants.

recommended to travellers both business and families. will definitely be my choice if returning to shanghai.

Room Tip: rooms at the corner seem to be slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gecko_cheeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights on a business trip to Shanghai. Rooms are very comfortable, large and nicely decorated. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Great value with a discounted rate at ~$100 night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise! So conveniently located (subway line 7 is connected underground) and there's a small mall also connected so we were able to walk around and get some food/snacks. The design of the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are nice and modern. We requested a baby crib for our family and walked in to see a welcome amenity of J&J baby products and a rubber duckie - what a nice surprise! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was our second stay in this hotel. Our last visit was two years ago. The hotel was still in good repair. Much has changed since our last visit; there is now a mall across the street and from the lower level, you can access the subway without crossing the street. This hotel is located away from beaten tourist areas, but with the easy access to line 7 of the subway system, it was not an issue. The price of the rooms is reasonable for the quality of this hotel and compared to other Shanghai hotel pricing. Rooms are modern, clean and attractive. The breakfast options contained both Asian and Western options and were well prepared and tasty. We also ate casual dinner in the restaurant. Wait staff was attentive. English language skills in the hotel are adequate, but you must be prepared to slow your rate of speech and simplify speech patterns at times. One member of our party had a discrepancy with her bill upon arrival. We spoke to the manager, who understood customer service and took care of things right away. We were very appreciative of the manager's service orientation. We also arranged for transportation through the concierge to the hotel from the train station. This is a very comfortable hotel and its location does allow you to see the life of Shanghai residents going about their daily routine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 444hiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#17 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Pullman Shanghai South
#27 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. The hotel is ideally located on the Tongchuan Road, directly connected to Metro Line 7 Langao Road Station which can directly access to the Jing’an Temple, Shanghai World Expo Exhibition & Convention Center, Shanghai New International Expo Center, etc. It takes 10 minutes from the hotel to Shanghai Railway Station, 15 minutes to Shanghai International Sourcing Promotion Center, 25 minutes to Hongqiao International airport, 45 minutes to Pudong International Airport. The hotel has 330 guest rooms, have contemporary furnishings and bold decor. The rooms offer an iPod docking station, plush mattresses, fluffy pillows, a minibar and ironing facilities, LCD TV and ample workspace. The modern and private bathrooms have bath and shower facilities. Guests can take a dip in the on-site indoor swimming pool, work out at the fitness centre or indulge in the spa centre where different treatments, body scrubs and massages are provided. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, Cafe BLD serves buffet-style international cuisine with an open kitchen all day. For more Asian flavours, YUZU Japanese Grill serves offering unique temaki, sushi and an array of freshly grilled seafood. While New Dynasty serves Cantonese, Shanghainese dishes for both lunch and dinner. Coffee, tea and cocktails are served at The Lounge.  With 1266 sq.m. of creative space for your meeting and a team of dedicated professionals behind you every step of the way, your event promises to be both memorable and inspiring. With all these accommodations, Renaissance Putuo Hotel is without a doubt the best place to stay when visiting Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing