We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #16 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at this Renaissance for 5 nights several weeks ago. The rooms are very spacious and very comfortable. Location is quite a way from central Shanghai but convenient enough as it is literally at a Metro station.

Breakfast buffet is extremely large and whilst not amazing it certainly is of a good standard.

Only criticism is that the lobby area lacks personality and seems large and empty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 625 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've stayed at the Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel on several occasions. Although its location is a bit off the beaten path, it is very conveniently located over-top Metro Line 7 and has good retail and restaurant choices nearby. The rooms are beautifully finished and maintained with many luxury touches. The breakfast buffet is typical for western-style hotels in urban China; not great, but entirely satisfactory. All this comes at very fair prices. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalAstronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a new development. A high-rise mall is across the street, a Starbucks and convenience stores are only 1 or 2 blocks away. The room rate was 725 RMB ($US120 - including breakfast) But the rate was arranged by the Chinese company we visited. Rates via other means would be at least $US50 higher. The hotel has a nice buffet for all meals and a Japanese restaurant. The mall has several restaurants, but most of them only take cash and only some of them have bi-lingual menus. The hotel has an elevator that goes to an underground mall and food court with McDonalds and several other food stands. This underground area also gives you access to the subway system. The Shanghai subway is fairly easy to use. We took it to the Bund (the riverfront area) without any problems. A taxi ride from the international airport is 250 RMB ($US45) or more. But this hotel was very convenient for our business meetings.

The area around the hotel is very safe with a nice walking area along one road. But this is mainly a Chinese area (very few English signs) where you get to observe the Chinese in their everyday lifestyle. Local markets and food stands are across the street and a few blocks away.

One problem at the hotel is taxi's in the morning. We had to wait 30 to 45 minutes most mornings for a taxi. So we were late for a few meetings.

Room Tip: You can pay a little higher room rate and gain access to the executive floor. It has snacks availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UMRMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really can't say enough about how I enjoyed this hotel. I had done quite a bit of domestic travel within China and really needed a place to relax and unwind. I was leaving on another long drive in a few days, so the location was chosen based on that trip. Therefore, it was way out of the heart of the city. Shanghai can take an hour and a half to transverse, even out of rush hour time, so I needed to be on the outer area. The staff spoke great English and were incredibly helpful. Speedy, speedy service in every way. Everything was top rate. I treated myself to a massage at the wonderful spa and was not disappointed.
Also, I booked this on hotels.com and it included a breakfast. I know that other travelers have run into issues with the reservations coming over with this included, but I had no such trouble. Easy check in and check out. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01LIsa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel is very well-managed, service is friendly without being obsequious.
Fantastic pool, very good fitness area, cloak-rooms state-of-the art, every littly detail has been thought about.
Food might be a small minus, evening buffet and breakfast buffet are a buit disappointing for that class of hotel (with of course respect to food culture differences between China and Europe).
Real weak point for sbdy willing to intensively visit Shanghai downtown is the travel time to the center (min. 30min at rush-hour, as well late-evening). But for those willing to use metro, one station is right next to the hotel.

Overall a very good choice worth being recommended !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcowarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed in July 2013 for five weeks during my work assignment in China. Since I took wife and kdis with me, booked a club suite and it was large enough for the four of us! Besides the minor hiccup at check in, where my the only suite available was on the smoking floor, and i specifically ordered a non-smoking room. Staff went the extra mile and clean the room to eliminate any residual tabacco smell left in the room. It was acceptible to my wife (whose very picky:) and to be fair to the housekeeping staff, they did a great job.

The hotel is relatively new, and the suties seem to be very underutlized as all fixtures are in great shape. Suite room was huge, with large sitting room, and a huge bathroom. Club lounge is on the top floor and appear to be very lightly used. Gym has excellent equipments and the in door pool is great as well.

Staffs are all exceptionally friendly and were egaer to assist. This property is located in a residential area but with line 7 stops right downstairs, you are only about 4-6 stops away from the center of everything. There's also a mall connected to the hotel with a large food court and supermarket, so dinning out is never a problem. Overall a great stay and would definately recommend to frieneds.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a three night stay at the Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel. It is a very comfortable five star hotel. The hotel is clean, the staff were helpful, our room was attractve and included a flat screen TV, nice furnishings, mini bar, in-room safe and a spacious bathroom with a seperate bathtub and shower and an array of high end bath products. The hotel has an indoor swimming pool, gym and a bar and restaurant. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast buffet at the hotel but the dinner was average at best. My only complaint is the hotel is not centrally located but it is close to a subway stop and taxi's are very inexpensive in China. While in Shanghai take a boat ride at night to enjoy the spectacular sky line and enjoy a dinner at the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
#3 of 5,160 in Shanghai
169 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $96 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. Where distinctive style flirts with touches of whimsy. And where unparalleled service and uncommon sophistication provide a unique experience. At this exceptional boutique hotel in Shanghai, there's always something wonderfully new to be found. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, meet with colleagues and clients at our state-of-the-art meeting space, dive into our sparkling indoor swimming pool or take in the view from your room or suite. If you'd like to venture beyond our doors, all of the city awaits. Just steps from this boutique hotel's Shanghai location you'll find awe-inspiring museums, chic shops, exciting nightlife and world-renowned businesses. And if you're not sure how to spend the day, our Shanghai boutique hotel's concierge can help you choose the activities that best suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing