We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and just loved this hotel. Finally, a comfortable bed in Asia! We were a family of four, with a five and seven year old. The staff was so warm and welcoming to us, and they were great with our kids. We upgraded to the club floor, which was well worth the money in my opinion. Breakfast is included, as are hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon and cocktails from 5:30-9:30. There were enough choices with the hors d'oeuvres that one night it sufficed for dinner for us. There were even lamb chops! Breakfast was great, all four of us were satisfied with the selection. The best part, though, were the ladies that work in the club lounge. The service was outstanding. Every morning, not only did they remember us, they had our coffee and apple juice brought to our table without our even asking, after learning the first morning what our preference was. They went out of their way to make us feel at home.

We arrived at 8 am, and we were able to check in our room right away. The only downside of this hotel is it is about 30 minutes to downtown in a taxi, but taxis are really cheap in Shanghai, like less than $10 USD to get to the tourist attractions. They are also located right on a subway line, and there is a grocery store next door with anything you might need.

Given the fantastic service and the beauty and comfort of the rooms, I would definitely stay here and recommend it to others. The staff makes this hotel one of the best I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the club floors, it is worth the extra money in terms of the value you receive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackacre03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 564 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is my new favorite hotel in Shanghai. The location is a bit off the city center but the hotel price shows a discount to compensate for it. The added taxi price is insignificant enough for me to pick this one over other centrally locate western hotels. The room is new, modern and very clean. The bed is as usual up to Marriott standard comfy. The breakfast is exceptionally good and they offer free internet to Marriott members. The hotel is connected to a shopping mall through its basement which makes it very convenient to walk over to the mall and try various restaurants in the mall. Five star all around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WEBinHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's a good hotel, very new and modern one. rooms are big well decorated with any kind of facilities a traveler needs. Beds were very comfortable and clean sheets. Breakfast was perfect for any sort of taste from any part of the word. The stuffs were quite helpful.
The only problem for me was its location which it was at least thirty minutes far from the main attractions. It's good for families who look for a easy calm hotel with best qualities in busy Shanghai. I stayed three nights there and got no problem at all. There some local restaurants around the hotel even a KFC and big supermarket is right a stone away from the hotel. For getting Taxi it's better to ask the doormen 10 minutes before the time you are gonna depart, cause the hotel located in residential area and there are not too much of Taxi around there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ssarmedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Travelers be aware.
Hotel seems great as is located right on top of a subway line. Hotel is indeed very nice and staff seems very friendly, but location has nothing else around it. So if you have been to China often and dare to walk around trying to find a cheaper alternative for lunch or dinner, there are people right outside the lobby who offer to take you shopping or dining within "5 minutes by taxi". You might first decline the offer, but after noting there is absolutely nothing around the hotel, if you dare to accept such offer, your luck might be as bitter as mine. I was "express-kidnapped" by an organized crime band that operates right outside of the lobby, it cost me a fair amount of money to obtain my freedom back, and seemed to me some of the hotel staff is part of it as they pick you up right at the lobby entrance in front of the staff giving you that false sense of security you're going to a nice restaurant or shopping center, only to find out something else, and then they drop you back right where they picked you up a few hours earlier.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE or do NOT get out of the hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaconBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights prior to a tour of Eastern China, and again for three nights after the tour. Our room number 817 was fabulous. Quite large with a view of nearby apartments and gardens. The bathroom was large and modern with a great shower and plenty of hot water. There was also a spa type stand alone bath. The desk area had power switches to suit all types of plugs so we did not have to use our adaptors for recharging phones or tablets.
The hotel provides free Wifi if you join Marritt Rewards for free. The lobby is gleaming with chandeliers and plenty of seating areas. The breakfast buffet was exceptional, probably one of the best we have ever had. The hotel is connected to the Shanghai Metro and two shopping malls. The surrounding area is quite upmarket and everything looked fairly new.
The staff were very friendly, welcoming, polite and efficient. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We did not see other rooms but the standard is exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrisbaneTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Holy Cow! This was the last hotel we stayed in on a recent group trip to China. All the hotels were wonderful but they saved the best for last. The Renaissance Putuo is exceptional. I can only imagine the environmental impact but I managed to block that out given my lush surroundings.

The room was ultra-modern and sparkling. The bathroom had sliding WALLS so there was no interruption of lines. You could take a bath and watch TV at the same time. It was wonderful. The desk was un-intrusive and adequate with a menu of plug options for charging your electronics. No need for an adapter. Forget to close the curtain on the wall of windows overlooking the city, shut off the light at the door, or turn on the nightlight after your are already snuggled in bed - no problem. There are controls by the nightstand.

I only ate there for breakfast but it was amazing. Expresso bar, bread bar, fresh yogurt, sushi, international options, the list goes on and on. There was something for everyone and everything was wonderful. Pace yourself.

I'm not sure I would stay anywhere else if I were to visit Shanghai again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeerBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms were small and just ok. I liked that the hotel was in a nice location...close to the metro and Louis Vuitton store which was great. Additionally, there were good restaurants across the street from the hotel.

It was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pimptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#10 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $103 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. Where distinctive style flirts with touches of whimsy. And where unparalleled service and uncommon sophistication provide a unique experience. At this exceptional boutique hotel in Shanghai, there's always something wonderfully new to be found. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, meet with colleagues and clients at our state-of-the-art meeting space, dive into our sparkling indoor swimming pool or take in the view from your room or suite. If you'd like to venture beyond our doors, all of the city awaits. Just steps from this boutique hotel's Shanghai location you'll find awe-inspiring museums, chic shops, exciting nightlife and world-renowned businesses. And if you're not sure how to spend the day, our Shanghai boutique hotel's concierge can help you choose the activities that best suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing