We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #26 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
ny
Level Contributor
210 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Modern Luxury Hotel”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very nice luxury hotel. Rooms are modern, large and clean. Make sure to ask for non-smoking room if this is your preference. The room is open to the bathroom with sliding doors for privacy. Neat. Climate control was good. Breakfast area was nice with many things to eat including Western foods. Everything I tried was good. Service was very good in all departments. Hotel is located in quite area. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking when you book if you prefer this or have health issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    160
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
53
93
29
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Excellent choice of western or Chinese breakfast, wonderful and extensive hot and cold buffet with comfortable seating and attentive service. Huge selection. Rooms quiet, clean, 1st class all the way.

Room Tip: stress non-smoking because I did but was initially given a room with smoke odor. Reception said the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randonneur03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stay at this hotel often because it is near our office in Shanghai. On my most recent visit I stayed for five nights and had no complaints except for the air conditioning in the common areas, such as the breakfast room, and the club lounge was much too warm. I complained several times to the manager but it seems they are trying to save on electricity?

In my room, I had the thermostadt down to 16 C, but it neve got below 20 C. This was much better than the 23 C when I first arrived in my room.
Of course the week was very warm, over 37C many days. My room was comfortable but common areas not.

The service is impeccable everywhere. Almost too attentive for me. The staff goes out of their way to make your every wish come true, with a pleasant helpful attitude.

The hotel is in somewhat of an older residential district, so it is a bit taxi ride to the center of the city or "Bund" area. But its a nice spot to stay at a more reasonable rate than the center city hotels. And if you are familiar with the subway, there is a station not too far from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonnino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We loved staying at this hotel as the staff were extremely efficient, the rooms spacious and it is situated in a fairly quiet area. We could not hear the traffic at night! Although the hotel is away from the main tourism areas it is easy to get around from there and the staff are very willing to assist with any transport issues. We found it very good value for money and will definitely stay there again if we ever go back to Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Roberts, Washington
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Traveling overseas can be stressful so finding a wonderful hotel in the midst of Shanghai is a treat. Nice decor, large tub in the open room, excellent service. Couldnt ask for more ... only caviot is that it is a bit of a distance to the airport, but worth it!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have such a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkDragonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai, india
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Renaissance putuo is a great hotel with exceptionally good entrance lobby and common rooms... The rooms here are spacious and clean. the bathroom arrangement is lovely for honeymooners... considering it opens straight to the bed... The service is great and prompt. Shanghai offers a wide range of hotels.. renaissance putuo being one of the premium most. But be ready to shell out an extra buck for the same. Its expensive as compared to the other cheaper options available. The location goes slightly off track and you have to travel for about 40 mins to reach nanjing street(most happening place in shanghai.) Other than this i did not see any draw back in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raj1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
197 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a very good hotel in Shanghai if you do not mind to be far away from Downtown. We stayed there as a base to visit an Exhibition at the Expo site, since it will take you 11 subway stations (in the same line 7) from the Hotel to the closest subway station near Expo, but you will still take between 40 to 50 minutes to get there, although at a cost of 4 RMB only. In the morning we use a taxi to get to the Expo and it took us the same time (40 to 50 minutes), but 80 RMB.

The rooms aver very well designed and comfortable with a good desk area, good bathroom and comfortable bed. Internet speed that we got complimentary being a Marriot Rewards member was fast enough.

Breakfast was good, but a bit crowded since this hotel accommodate a lot of tour groups. Dinner buffet was just fine, but the best deal (at least during our stay) was the all you can eat dinner buffet at their Japanese restaurant with a very good selection of food and drinks for just 248 RMB.

There is a mall next to the Hotel, but nothing special in it, except you want to have a Pizza (Pizza Hut is there). They supposed to have a supermarket (Lotus) but it was not open yet.

Opposite the Hotel and near the subway entrance (number 3) you have a convenience store (Family Mart).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#17 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Pullman Shanghai South
#27 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. The hotel is ideally located on the Tongchuan Road, directly connected to Metro Line 7 Langao Road Station which can directly access to the Jing’an Temple, Shanghai World Expo Exhibition & Convention Center, Shanghai New International Expo Center, etc. It takes 10 minutes from the hotel to Shanghai Railway Station, 15 minutes to Shanghai International Sourcing Promotion Center, 25 minutes to Hongqiao International airport, 45 minutes to Pudong International Airport. The hotel has 330 guest rooms, have contemporary furnishings and bold decor. The rooms offer an iPod docking station, plush mattresses, fluffy pillows, a minibar and ironing facilities, LCD TV and ample workspace. The modern and private bathrooms have bath and shower facilities. Guests can take a dip in the on-site indoor swimming pool, work out at the fitness centre or indulge in the spa centre where different treatments, body scrubs and massages are provided. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, Cafe BLD serves buffet-style international cuisine with an open kitchen all day. For more Asian flavours, YUZU Japanese Grill serves offering unique temaki, sushi and an array of freshly grilled seafood. While New Dynasty serves Cantonese, Shanghainese dishes for both lunch and dinner. Coffee, tea and cocktails are served at The Lounge.  With 1266 sq.m. of creative space for your meeting and a team of dedicated professionals behind you every step of the way, your event promises to be both memorable and inspiring. With all these accommodations, Renaissance Putuo Hotel is without a doubt the best place to stay when visiting Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing